• COVID-19相關公告: 我們的教練課程全數透過線上授課,未受本次危機影響。

2019 年度頂尖人物 – Greta Thunberg: 氣候大罷課

2019 年度頂尖人物 – Greta Thunberg: 氣候大罷課

2019 年度頂尖人物 – Greta Thunberg: 氣候大罷課 750 1000 Lloyd Nimetz

Greta Thunberg 在上週獲選美國時代雜誌年度風雲人物,以表揚她喚醒全球暖化與氣候變遷等議題的貢獻。也就是說,她被票選為 2019 最具正面影響力的人物,同時以最年輕的姿態獲得這項殊榮。

這是一項了不起的成就,特別是她僅只是一位普通的 16 歲高中生 (且患有亞斯伯格症),在短短 16 個月前,她只是個默默無名的輟學生,帶著自製的標語布條,一個人開始在街頭靜坐抗議,為更環保乾淨的未來發聲。

Greta 的成就值得我們給予「年度頂尖人物」的肯定 (由 Spike Lab 以我們自己的語言來給予她這個特殊又謙遜的識別),因此這篇文章將聚焦在 Grata 頂尖的事蹟。「週五為氣候罷課」的行動,可以簡單闡述 Grata 是如何發揮影響力,並提供其他同樣充滿熱情與行動力的高中生,一個絕佳的個案分析,透過了解 Grata 的個案,你也可以創造屬於自己的頂尖。

個人目標與專長

在 Greta 11 歲時,她第一次在學校理解到全球暖化所造成的嚴重後果,她感到十分難受,且久久不能自已,很多人會說那是因為亞斯伯格症在作祟,然而儘管如此,Grata 的情緒仍然陷入嚴重的低落。她難過到吃不下飯,無法與人交談,甚至住進了病房。身陷絕望的 Grata 父母,決定透過改變生活方式來幫助女兒,他們開始不吃肉食,不搭飛機,且為環保做了更多。Greta 認為全球暖化是攸關人類生死存亡的議題,她的父母認為這是間接造成女兒深陷痛苦的原因。 這是很深度的自我追求議題,Grata 決定用她明確的想法與實際的行動為全球暖化做出改變,並給自己一個更好的未來,透過這樣的方式,她建立了屬於這方面的專業,並成為未來引起關注、發揮巨大影響力所需的必要養分。

初試啼聲

在還有其他工作如課業需要兼顧的狀況下,Greta 開始參與改善全球暖化的行動,並在斯德哥爾摩當地的報紙以此主題發表文章,這對於一個高中生而言,要在報紙上寫專欄並不是簡單的事,不過 Greta 透過關係、增進自身專業並提出獨特的觀點成功達到目標,而這個寶貴的經驗,讓 Greta 有機會得到更多新的想法與腦力激盪,這些都成為她未來產生影響力不可缺少的元素。2018 年 5 月,Greta 注意到了位於佛羅里達州的帕克蘭發起以反對槍枝暴力為主題的學生運動,她聯絡了許多專注氣候變遷的機構,並建議他們為了保護地球環境的志業,應該效法帕克蘭學生的抗爭模式,但沒有任何機構關心 Greta 的提議,因此她只好自己獨立進行。

最小可行性產品

Greta 的最小可行性產品是在自己的家鄉舉辦第一場「氣候變遷」抗爭,並傳達她將持續抗爭,直到瑞典政府達成在巴黎協定簽署的目標。她期待罷課抗爭可以持續到 2018 年的 9 月,也就是瑞典大選前,這段期間大部分都是在暑假進行,但 Greta 背後並沒有任何組織支持,事實上她的第一場罷課運動,除了她自己與自製的布條外,其他什麼都沒有。第一次靜坐抗議期間,有幾位記者前來與她聊天,不過並沒有得到媒體太多的支持,隔天,多了一名戰友加入她的抗爭行列,接著慢慢越來越多人參與支持,沒過多久的時間,已凝聚到數百人的規模。抗議活動開始受到媒體的注目,超過上千人在斯德哥爾摩共襄盛舉。回顧這場抗爭,不難發現透過罷課讓大眾重視全球暖化與氣候變遷,其實是一個淺顯易懂的概念,然而沒有一個人,包含 Greta 的父母、老師甚至其他環保人士支持她用罷課抗爭的手段,但 Greta 的意志堅決,並未理會,她決心想改變這一切。

獲得迴響

在抗爭的前幾個月,Greta 開始意識到什麼才是有效果的方式,特別是她運用語言與手段,Greta 很聰明的宣傳:「我們年輕學生遲早需要解決全球暖化的爛攤子,如果這些不負責任的成年人持續忽視它」;透過羞辱這些不負責任的成年人,來喚醒年輕學生對於全球暖化議題的重視,而她採取罷課的方式,可以讓這群沒有中央組織的年輕人動員起來,Greta 也懂得善加運用像是 TED 等媒體管道發揮影響力。

規模化

Greta 相當擅長將行動規模化, 首先她把「氣候大罷課活動」組織化,讓全世界各地的年輕學生都能參與這個概念簡單的抗議活動,柯林斯詞典更將氣候大罷課(climate strike) 選為年度單字,就是因這個單字獲得大眾廣泛地使用。突然間,全世界的年輕人針對全球暖化的議題能有新的方式表達他們的想法,且得到了更多影響政策的聲量,Greta 更進一步地將抗爭活動進化為「週五為氣候罷課」的例行性抗爭,這樣的方式使得抗爭行動能更扎實也更方便學生加入,藉由將世界各地氣候變遷抗爭凝聚在同一天,可以使抗爭的力量更強、吸引更多媒體的目光也更能喚醒社會大眾的重視,這在社會運動學理有個專有名詞稱為聯合(coalescence),指的是當不同的團體可以同時間宣揚相同的理念與訴求。Greta 謹慎地運用這個概念,將世界各地的團體聯合起來,藉此使力量成長。

從不同面向來看,Greta 都是讓人驚艷的,而她對於任何人,特別是有強烈企圖心與決心想改變世界的高中學生來說更是一個很棒的示範,而我們 Spike Lab 的使命就是專門指導、幫助在 21 世紀中想跟 Greta 一樣改變世界的新一代年輕學子。

Lloyd Nimetz

Serial entrepreneur, educator, investor, milonguero, dog-lover and Coach, Founder & CEO of The Spike Lab

閱讀作者其他文章 - Lloyd Nimetz

2019 Spike of the Year — Greta Thunberg: Fridays for Future Movement

2019 Spike of the Year — Greta Thunberg: Fridays for Future Movement

2019 Spike of the Year — Greta Thunberg: Fridays for Future Movement 750 1000 Lloyd Nimetz

Last week, Greta Thunberg was recognized by Time Magazine as the Person of the Year for her work fighting global warming and climate change. In other words, she was voted the most positively influential person in 2019 and is the youngest person ever to receive this designation! This is an incredible achievement, especially considering that she was just a normal 16 year old high schooler (with Asperger’s Syndrome) just 16 months ago when she skipped school for the first time to sit down all alone on the street with a handmade sign to speak out for a cleaner future.

We also want to recognize Greta’s work with our more humble designation: the Spike of the year! This article focuses on her Spike — the Fridays for Future Movement and provides a simple outline of how she did it. It’s meant as a case study to guide other aspiring high-school movement makers in creating their own spikes.

Personal, Purpose and Expertise.
At age 11, when Greta first learned in school about the horrible effects of global warming, she couldn’t shake it and move on. Many have posited that this is because she has Asperger’s but regardless of the reason, she fell into rather severe depression. She stopped eating and talking. She was hospitalized and her parents, in desperation, changed their lives to save hers. They stopped eating meat, stopped flying and much more. Greta felt this issue at an existential level and her parents felt it indirectly through her suffering. This was a deeply personal issue, and she had a vision for a better future, with concrete ideas and realistic proposals for how to make a difference. Over these initial years, she developed a deep level of expertise that would be needed later when she gained public attention.

Mini-Spike
Among other things, Greta got involved in the climate change movement and wrote an article in a local Stockholm newspaper on the topic. For a high school student, that isn’t an easy accomplishment, but with some connections, expertise and something unique to say, she made it happen. From there she got creative and brainstormed lots of different things that she could do to have an impact. In May 2018, she noticed student activists in Parkland, Florida who had organized a school strike to protest gun violence. She suggested to various climate change activist organizations that they should copy that model for their cause, but nobody took heed so she just did it herself.

MVP (Minimal Viable Product)
Her MVP was to organize the first “Climate Strike” in her hometown. She would go on strike with the intention of pressuring the Swedish government to meet the goals of the Paris Agreement. She intended the school strike to last until the Swedish elections in September 2018 — 4 months, but mostly during the summer holidays. Greta didn’t have an organization behind her and, in fact, the first day of this strike she was there all alone with a handmade sign and nothing more. She got the word out to journalists (a few came by to talk to her that day), but had little support otherwise. The next day one person joined her, then a few more and soon hundreds. It got press and started to take off. Thousands more joined her in Stockholm. In retrospect, it’s easy to think this was a good idea, but everyone around her, including her parents, teachers and follow activists were discouraging her. She was told that she didn’t need to skip school to further this cause, but she didn’t listen. She was determined to make a difference.

Traction
During these first months, she really started to realize what was working — namely her message and her mechanic. Her message was to shame adults: “the kids need to fix this if the adults won’t”. Her mechanic, school strikes, served as a means to mobilize youth in a decentralized, networked way. She found certain key outlets to get the word out like TED and other influencer/press.

Scaling
Greta was very savvy in the architecting of this movement for scale. First, she institutionalized the “Climate Strike”. It was an idea that was simple and easy to understand (and do) for youth everywhere. Collins Dictionary named “Climate Strike” the word of the year because of its huge increase in usage. All of a sudden, youth around the world had a new way to speak their minds and have a political voice in this matter. Furthermore she eventually framed her climate strikes as the Fridays for Future Movement making it more concrete and easier for students to join. By concentrating all the Climate Strikes around the world on the same day, it got more press and public attention. In social movement literature, this is called the point of coalescence. That’s when disparate parties are able to get their same (or similar) message out at the same time. Greta (with others) carefully planned a movement that was structured in a way that could grow. Her personality and willingness to take on the burden of it all was just a part of it.

Greta is remarkable is so many ways, and she is a testament that anyone, especially high schoolers, with a deep sense of purpose, knowledge and determination can change the world. At The Spike Lab, we support a new generation of high schoolers who, like Greta, aspire to be the change-makers of the 21st century.

Lloyd Nimetz

Serial entrepreneur, educator, investor, milonguero, dog-lover and Coach, Founder & CEO of The Spike Lab

Read more by: Lloyd Nimetz