• COVID-19相關公告: 我們的教練課程全數透過線上授課,未受本次危機影響。

疫情期間,給青少年的暑期計畫指南

疫情期間,給青少年的暑期計畫指南

疫情期間,給青少年的暑期計畫指南 1200 500 Theo Wolf

新冠肺炎疫情帶來了不確定性、打開了課程變革的潘朵拉盒子,世界各地的高中生也都急忙開始思考這個夏天究竟該做些什麼。這篇文章的目的 ,正是在這場混亂之中為學生提供一些指引。

疫情影響下,這個夏天會有什麼不同?

趨勢。本次疫情已大大改變了暑期計畫,有些變動比較明顯,有些則比較不易查覺。主要趨勢如下:

  • 離線 => 線上:暑期課程依循學校和大學目前的走向,部分課程取消,其他則改為線上授課。
  • 全球 => 在地:由於旅行限制、健康風險及經濟/政治穩定等因素,大多數青少年就算可以旅行,也會選擇不要旅行或避免前往離家太遠的地方。
  • 學習 => 服務:疫情和它帶來的經濟衝擊,創造了前所未見的需求。我們也注意到,部分學生的直覺反應,就是主動參與並尋找盡一份心力的方法。對學生來說,這個夏天彷如一次人格特質測驗,大學招生人員也必定會觀察你的應對方式。

情境規劃。這個夏天充滿不確定性,規劃上也得多花費一些心思。我們建議思考最佳情境最壞情境,並針對這兩種情境制訂計畫。前者是以樂觀的角度出發,假定防疫措施會在6月中停止,並據此調整你的計畫。後者則是假定防疫措施會持續至夏季。

暑期計畫最佳實務

常見錯誤之一就是立刻著手尋找替代暑期計畫,例如「我的夢幻暑期實習取消了,我需要可以遠端進行的實習!」或是「我們的暑期課程取消了,所以我們得尋找另一個優質的線上暑期課程。」雖然這在某些情況下不成問題,但我們建議你先利用這個機會,反思一下你的目標:如何有效利用這個暑假。檢視清單如下:

  • 那和你的「個人故事」相符嗎?個人陳述應該含括你的「使命」或「熱情」所在,你已經知道自己的個人陳述會是什麼模樣了嗎?再來,你是否已經訂好高中畢業前要完成、可以強化個人故事的目標?你的暑假應該要排滿能夠幫助你朝這些目標邁進的活動!
  • 是否具有挑戰性?頂尖大學會觀察學生在暑期之時,能否有效利用空閒時間,持續學習、探索和發展自我──特別是利用學校做不到或沒有使用的方式。你應該要挑戰自己、尋求足以改變人生的體驗並加速學習。
  • 是否令人驚艷?學生可以選擇的課程極多,就算是這個暑假也不例外,因此,你應該要思考如何與眾不同。辦到這點的關鍵,就是選擇少見又有趣的事物。展現創意、主動性,並取得學習之外的、在真實世界具有影響力的成果,並藉由媒體、獎項、訪談、證言等各種外部認可的形式,來證明你的影響力。
  • 是否能讓你恢復活力?高中已然變成一場令人焦慮又疲倦的馬拉松,抑制了許多青少年的創意,讓他們無法好好享受生活。暑假應該是段暫時放下這一切、讓你能夠恢復活力的時間,因此,你應該要做些有趣的事、多休息、多花時間與家人和朋友相處,以及接觸大自然。還有,儘量讓你的暑期活動也能夠讓你重燃活力,換句話說就是,尋找你會迫不急待參與的學術專案/課程、實習機會等。

暑期計畫分類

接下來,我們會依照分類,一一介紹你在最壞情境下也能從事的暑期活動。

獨立專案和研究

創辦企業或服務;投入某項事物並申請專利;進行獨特的學術或科學研究;出版一本新書;寫一 個新的App。你可能已經想到了,這是我們最推薦學生從事的活動類別,因為我們相信,最值得投入暑期時間的事物,就是打造Spike。Spike是以真正的熱情和深度使命感為基礎、在高中生之間十分少見、而且雄心十足的專案。打造Spike通常是花費暑期時間的最好方式,原因在於 (a) 它非常有彈性,因此,這段期間的不確定性並不成問題,(b) 根據定義,它符合前述的每一個檢視項目。你可以點選這個連結觀賞影片,看幾個學生Spike的範例。這裡還有更多Spike的相關資訊,這篇討論Spike價值的文章,也值得一讀。

記得,每個人都可以打造Spike,你可以全靠自己,也可以在導師、家長或顧問的指引下進行;打造Spike不一定需要我們的教練服務。如果你不想做那麼大膽的計畫,也有各種短期獨立專案和研究可以選擇,例如,你可以加入虛擬自造者空間,著手打造非常酷的產品,或是在你有熱情的領域中尋找大學教授、協助他們撰寫學術論文。這只是其中兩個例子,如果你需要協助、尋找符合興趣或喜好的點子,你可以和教育專家聊一聊,或是預約我們的免費諮詢

線上暑期課程

撰寫這篇文章之時,大部分學分或非學生先修課程,都已經將校內課程改為完全透過線上授課。這些線上課程應該還是具有優質學術水準且充滿挑戰性,但目前無法確知它們的成本為何(通常相當昂貴),也無法確定在少了學生之間的交流和校園體驗之後,是否仍然值得花費這樣的金錢;你可以在這裡下載我們的精選暑假課程列表。目前,加入部分課程的難度可能會下降,由於線上課程的費用較低、更加模組化,你現在或許可以一邊修習史丹佛的線上AI先修課程,一邊打造 Spike,例如開發AI應用程式、協助民眾診斷新冠肺炎(這是個真實的高中Spike,名為DocBot)。

自主學習

夏季課程移往線上之際,必定會開始融入The Spike Lab非常喜愛的自主學習。今年夏天,你想要學的任何事物,網路上幾乎都找得到,而且只要知道該怎麼找、去哪裡找,大多數都不需要花費金錢。因此,你可以依照自己的學習目標,打造自己的暑期學校!這麼做的好處在於非常有彈性,可以依照屆時的情況快速調整。

第一步就是決定你的學習目標,目標可以含括學術領域(例如數學、科學、程式寫作等)、人生技能(例如公開演說、時間管理等),或是興趣/喜好(例如演奏樂器、舞蹈、藝術、辯論等)。再來就是制訂學習計畫(也就是課表),然後儘可能尋找相關領域的教育者和專家,徵詢他們的看法和意見回饋。你可以在Instructables等網站找到YouTube教學影片、文章、學術論文、免費線上課程和DIY自造者專案,也可以考慮雇用專家幫助你打造學習計畫、定期檢視你的進度,引導你完成這場學習之旅。我們的Spike教練也會幫助學生制訂學習計畫,如果你正在制訂自己的學習計畫,可以預約我們的免費諮詢、取得一些額外協助。

社區服務

如前所述,在這樣的危機時刻,有許多人需要協助,也有許多協助其他人的方式。從更策略性的角度思考,對你來說最有意義的議題和團體是什麼,並找出方法參與其中。青少年虛擬志工目前相當常見,記得注意這方面的機會。你可以協助當地宗教團體、在地方(或全國)非營利組織擔任志工(例如協助無家可歸者、支持醫療人員等)、幫助年長者購買日常生活雜貨,或是在家中扮演照護者的角色等。簡而言之,找出方法親身參與,做些對你來說有意義、又能夠真正發揮影響力的事。如果你需要更多虛擬志工方面的點子,可以前往CatchafireIdealist.orgDoSomething.orgVolunteerMatch

大學申請準備

  • 研究各所大學。以大學申請準備而言,有效利用今年暑期的方法相當多。如果你是高二學生,就應該在今年暑假花一部分時間研究各所大學,準備你的大學清單──找出你今年秋天就要申請的、最適合你的大學。你可以參考這篇討論如何制訂大學清單的文章。由於造訪大學必定十分困難或幾近不可能(校園參訪目前都已經暫停),你應該預先計畫、使用其他方式來決定你最喜愛的大學。我們建議透過網路研究它們,並儘可能尋找這些大學的學生或校友聊一聊,從中感受哪些學校適合你。你可以點選這裡,下載我們的大學研究指南,了解遠端研究大學的最佳實務。大學正在全力嘗試提供虛擬校園參訪,並幫助你聯繫學生和教職員並認識學校,記得好好利用這些機會。
  • 大學申請論文。如果你是高二學生,也應該著手撰寫你的個人陳述。
  • 測驗準備。如果你是國三或高一學生,就該挪出時間準備SAT/ACT和SAT II等標準化測驗。雖然許多大學目前已經將測驗成績列為非必要申請要件,大多數學生還是應該參與測驗。我們的測驗準備合作夥伴之一、A-List的Dory Schultz認為,「準備SAT或ACT,就像是在準備一場馬拉松:持續又全心地練習,自然就有機會擁有好成績。如果能有教練的指引,也必定有幫助。」現在有許多非常棒的、待在家中就能取得的免費線上資源,舉例來說,Kaplan現在提供免費ACT測驗準備服務,透過ACT的網站即可取得,Khan Academy則提供免費SAT測驗準備服務。點選這裡即可取得我們的測驗準備合作夥伴列表,我們已經審視過列表中的機構,以確保它們的品質和倫理標準。

其他

  • 實習。聽起來可能有點奇怪,但目前真的有很多遠端實習可以選擇。如果你選擇實習,我們建議尋找當地的實習機會;只要防疫措施停止,你還是可以選擇進辦公室。CheggIdealist.org都有很不錯的實習機會列表,但如果你很喜歡的公司並沒有公佈實習職缺,你還是可以嘗試連繫它們,我們大部分的學生都是這樣得到實習機會的!
  • 職涯探索。另一項很不錯的活動,就是探索不同的職涯可能性。你知道目前其實有23種不同的醫生、40種不同的工程師和50種不同的科學家嗎?而且每一個領域還有無數的專才。就算你已經訂下職涯方向,還是有很多需要學習的事物。我們建議結合下列幾件事:(1) 先透過專家的網路文章、影片和書籍,研究各個專業領域。(2) 與專業人士進行網路視訊通話,進一步了解這些領域。(3) 組織職業研究之旅;這是種自助旅行,讓你可以一口氣見到許多同領域的人士,就和選項(2)很像,只是將會面安排在一起,再搭配前往某座城市的旅程(例如紐約、舊金山等)。今年夏天可能不太適合長途旅行,但你可以在自己居住的城市這麼做,並將時間安排在暑期中段或末尾。屆時,防疫措施比較有可能停止,就算沒有,你也可以將全部的會面改為視訊通話。
  • 戶外活動。夏季非常適合露營等戶外活動。美國總統川普已經宣佈很快就會重啟國家公園,就算防疫措施沒有完全停止,今年夏天這些地方應該還是會持續開放。此外,也有許多戶外活動和運動不需要太多人參與(露營、健行、泛舟、航海、登山等)。今年夏天就是進行這類活動的良機,因為你已經待在家裡非常久了。
  • 數位足跡。cool-baseball-dude2015@bad-email.com;真的有非常多優秀的青少年,使用類似這樣的、不成熟的電子郵件地址(前面列出的地址並不是真的),而且會在網路上張貼一些只要用Google就能搜尋到的問題內容。即將轉變為成人、開始申請實習並與「真實世界」互動之際,花點時間清理它們通常是個明智之舉。此外,部分大學確實會Google你,你也應該思考一下你希望大學看到什麼。在理想的狀況下,你會引導它們前往你的數位版資歷,了解你是什麼樣的人、你重視哪些事物、你有哪些自豪的成就等。個人網站、部落格、精心整理過的社群媒體個人檔案,都可以幫助你辦到此事。我也寫了另一篇文章,專門討論如何掌握你自己的數位足跡。
  • 家庭責任。最後,千萬不要忘記在危機之時,最重要的就是你的家人和摯友。無論是罹患新冠病毒、需要愛與照顧的祖父母,亦或是父母失去工作,想和兒子或女兒一起暫時躲進大自然的懷抱,或是需要你找份工作幫忙支付家庭開銷。將親愛之人的需求放在第一位,絕對是值得又非常棒的時間使用方式。大學十分重視這點,而且會將家庭照護責任和家務視為課外活動!

暑期計畫路線圖

總結來說,我們的Spike教練在協助學生制訂今年的暑期計畫之時,會依循下列幾個主要步驟:

  • 定義你的故事。先由內開始,定義你的認同、個人陳述和高中目標。 
  • 決定你的時間表和預算。決定你今年夏天要進行的活動、時間表和預算。
  • 針對最佳和最壞情境,研究你的選項。選出你最喜歡、又能強化個人故事的活動種類,這可以非常簡單,例如檢視這篇文章中提供的清單,然後深入研究你最喜歡的活動。
  • 針對最佳和最壞情境,思考你的選項。最棒的活動常是最讓人意想不到的活動,所以一定要發揮創意。準備好腦力激盪,嘗試儘可能列出你喜歡的選項,然後挑出你幾個你最喜歡的活動進行測試。它們是否符合這篇文章前段列出的條件?它們是否可行?
  • 確定活動。確認你的暑期活動,例如,著手申請高門檻的線上課程、驗證你的Spike點子和實行計畫,或是取得暑期實習的確認文件。

 

祝你擁有一個美好的夏天,也別忘記和我或Larry(The Spike Lab共同創辦人 )預約免費諮詢,討論你的暑期計畫,或是進一步了解Spike教練課程。

• COVID-19 Update: All coaching sessions are conducted remotely and the crisis has not impacted our operations.

A Guide for COVID-19 Summer Planning (For Teens)

A Guide for COVID-19 Summer Planning (For Teens)

A Guide for COVID-19 Summer Planning (For Teens) 1200 468 Lloyd Nimetz

High school students around the world are scrambling to figure out what to do this summer due to the Pandora’s box of programmatic changes and uncertainty from the COVID-19 pandemic . This article is meant to provide some clarity and guidance amidst the chaos.

What’s different this COVID-19 Summer?

Trends. The pandemic has changed the summer planning landscape in many ways, some less obvious than others. Here are the primary trends:

Offline => Online: Programs are either canceling or shifting to online models. Summer programs are following what schools and universities have done.

Global => Local: Due to travel restrictions, health risks and economic/political instability, most teens will be reluctant to travel or go far away from home even if they are allowed.

Learning => Service: The virus and economic collapse has generated unprecedented need, and we’re seeing students instinctively respond by getting involved and finding ways to help. This summer is a test of a student’s character, and college admissions officers will be looking to see how you respond.

Scenario Planning. The uncertainty of this summer necessitates that you do some extra planning. We recommend that you develop a best case scenario and a worst case scenario and plan for both in parallel. The former is an optimistic, yet adjusted version of your current plan that assumes social distancing will be gone by mid June. The latter is the scenario with social distancing still in effect for the summer.

Summer Planning Best Practices

One common mistake is to jump right into searching for alternative summer plans. “My dream internship was cancelled; I need a new one that’s remote!” or “Our summer program was cancelled so we need to find another great one that’s online.” Although this might be fine in some cases, we encourage you to take this opportunity to first reflect on your goal: how to really make the most of the summer break. Here’s a checklist:

  • Is there story-alignment? Do you know what your personal narrative is, which includes what is your primary “purpose” or “passion”?  From there, have you set end of high school goals that reinforce your story? Your summer break should be chock-full of things that help you advance those goals!
  • Is it challenging? Top colleges look to summer breaks as a way to see which students make the most of their free time to keep learning, exploring and developing themselves – especially in ways that school can’t or does not do. You should be challenging yourself to have transformational experiences and accelerated learning.
  • Is it impressive? There are so many programs and courses available to students, even this summer, so think about how to stand out beyond everyone else. The key to this is to pick something uncommon and interesting. Show creativity, initiative and get results that go beyond your own learning but also have real-world impact. Finally have evidence of your impact through different forms of external recognition like press, awards, talks, testimonials, etc.
  • Is it revitalizing? High school has turned into a high-anxiety, exhausting marathon dampening the creativity and joie de vivre (joy of life) from so many teens. Your summer should be a ‘break’ from that; it still needs to be a time to revitalize. So find ways to have fun, get more rest, spend more time with family and friends, and reconnect with nature. Also make as many of your summer activities energizing to you. In other words, find academic projects/courses, internships etc. that you’re pumped to do.

 

Summer Planning by Category

The rest of this article will go category by category, summarizing the wide range of things you can do in this worst case COVID-19 summer scenario. 

Independent Projects and Research

Start a business or service venture. Invent something and patent it. Do unique academic or scientific research. Publish a new book. Code a new app. As you might imagine, this is the category we recommend the most to students because we believe a Spike is the smartest way to spend your summer. Spikes are ambitious projects uncommon among teens, based on genuine passion and a sense of deep purpose. Building a Spike is usually the best way to spend the summer because (a) it’s very flexible and so the uncertainty of these times is not an issue, (b) by definition, it will check all of the above boxes. Here you can watch some videos of example student Spikes. Here you can find more information about the Spike process, and here is an article about the value of a Spike. 

Remember, anyone can do a Spike and you can do it on your own or with a mentor, parent or other advisor. It doesn’t have to be coached by us. If you don’t want to do something so ambitious, then there are many different types of shorter term, independent projects and research that you can do. For example, you can join virtual maker spaces to go about building cool products or you can find professors and help them write academic papers in an area you’re passionate about. These are just two examples; talk to an educator or set up a free consultation with us if you need some help thinking of ideas that fit your interests or hobbies.    

Online Summer programs

At the time of the writing this article, most for-credit and non-credit pre-college programs have moved their residential programs to be online-only. These online courses are still likely to be very challenging and academically educational, but it’s not yet clear how much they will cost (usually very expensive) and whether it’s worth the money without the inter-student social engagement and the campus experience. Click here to download our spreadsheet of selective summer programs. It might be easier to get into some of these courses now, and given that online programs are less expensive and more modular, you can now, for example, take one course at Stanford pre-college online in AI, while doing other things like a Spike to develop an AI app to help people get auto-diagnosed for COVID-19 (this is a real world high school Spike called DocBot!).   

Self-Guided Learning

As summer programs shift online, they’ll start to meld into this self-guided learning category that we’re so fond of at The Spike Lab. This summer, more than ever before, everything you need to learn can be found online and most are free if you know what to look for and where. So build your own online summer school based on your learning goals! Again the advantage to this is that it’s very flexible so it can adjust quickly to what your reality becomes this summer. 

First, determine your learning goals, which can include academic fields (i.e. math, science, coding, etc), life skills (i.e. public speaking, time management, etc) or hobby/interest talents (i.e. musical instrument, dance, art, debate, etc). Then, develop a learning plan (a.k.a. curriculum) with the help of feedback from as many educators and experts in these fields. You can find online courses (long form or short micro-courses), online certifications, YouTube how-to videos, articles, academic papers, free online lessons and DIY maker projects on sites like Instructables. Consider hiring someone to help you create your learning plan and to check in with you regularly to hold you accountable and to help you navigate this whole process. Our Spike coaches also do this with our students so feel free to schedule a free consultation to get some extra support if you’re doing this on your own.    

Community Service

As mentioned above, in this time of crisis, there is so much need out there and so many ways to help others. Think a little more strategically about the types of issues and affinity groups that are the most meaningful to you and find ways to get involved. Right now it’s common for teens to be doing virtual volunteering so look for those opportunities. You can assist at your local place of worship, volunteer with local (or national) nonprofits (i.e. aiding the homeless, supporting healthcare workers), offer to get groceries for senior citizens or look for how you can play a bigger role as a caretaker within your family. In short, find ways to get involved that are truly impactful to others and meaningful to you. If you need more virtual volunteering ideas, you can go to Catchafire, Idealist.org, DoSomething.org, and VolunteerMatch.

College Prep

  • Research colleges. There are a number of ways you can make the most of this summer to prep for college. If you’re a rising senior in high school, then you’ll need to spend some of your time this summer researching colleges so you can select your college list — the best fit colleges that you’ll be applying to in the Fall. See this article on creating your college list. Since it’ll be hard or impossible to visit colleges (no campus tours are being done now), you should plan on other methods to determine your favorite colleges. We recommend researching them online and speaking to as many current students and alumni from your prospective colleges to get a better sense of what’s the right fit for you. Click here to download our College Research Guide for best practices for researching colleges remotely. Take advantage of the fact that right now colleges have gone out of their way to offer virtual campus tours and help you connect more easily with their students and staff to learn more about their school.
  • College Essays. If you’re a rising senior, then you should also start writing your personal statement.
  • Test Prep. If you’re a rising 10th or 11th grader, then you should make time to prepare for standardized tests like the SAT/ACT and SAT IIs. Even though many colleges are now going test optional, it’s still advisable for most to take the test and putting in test prep time always makes a big difference. “Excelling on the SAT or ACT is like preparing for a marathon: sustained, dedicated practice makes the whole thing a lot more approachable, and it helps to have a coach,” says one of our New York-based test prep partners, Dory Schultz from A-List Education. There are now so many many good, free test prep resources online that you can access from home, so take full advantage. For example, Kaplan is currently offering free online ACT test prep that you can access on ACT’s website, and Khan Academy offers free SAT test prep and tests online. Click here to download a list of our test prep partners all of whom we have reviewed to ensure high quality and ethics. 

Other Considerations

  • Internships. Although it might sound strange; there are a lot of remote internships available. If you go this path, our recommendation is to get an internship that’s local so you have the option to go into the office if social distancing restrictions are lifted. Chegg has a good internships portal as does Idealist.org, but also don’t be afraid to reach out to companies that excite you, even if they don’t have any internship listed. This is how most of our students find their internships!
  • Career Exploration. Another useful activity is to explore different career possibilities. Did you know that there are 23 different types of medical doctors, 40 different types of engineers and 50 different types of scientists? And in each of these fields there are countless specialties. Even if you already have a career direction, there is so much more to learn. We recommend a combination of the following: (1) researching professional fields online first, including articles, videos with professionals and books, (2) doing video calls with people in these fields to learn more, and (3) organizing a professional study trip. This is a DIY tour that you create to meet with lots of people in a field of your preference, so it’s like option (2) but grouped together and usually paired with a trip to some city (i.e. NYC, San Francisco, etc). This summer it’s not advised to do a trip, but you can do it in your own city for the end or middle of your summer when the social distancing restrictions are more likely to be lifted, and if they aren’t, you can shift them all to video calls. 
  • Outdoor adventures. Summer is a great time for camping and other outdoor activities. Today President Trump announced that they will start opening US National Parks soon, and it’s likely that they’ll be open this summer even if social distancing restrictions haven’t yet been lifted. Also there are many great outdoor activities and sports (camping, backpacking, rafting, sailing, mountain climbing, etc) that don’t require being with anyone or many people. This is a great time to organize one of these adventures, especially after being cooped up in your home for so long!
  • Digital Footprint. cool-baseball-dude2015@bad-email.com; I can’t tell you how many fabulous teens have infantile email addresses like this one (note: this one isn’t real) and questionable content posted online that’s accessible with a quick google search. Take some time to clean that all up. It’s generally a smart idea as you become an adult and as you start applying for internships and interacting with the ‘real world’. Also some colleges will google you, and you want to be thoughtful about what you want them to see. Ideally you will guide them and others to your digital profile to learn more about who you are, what’s important to you and what you’re proud of. This could be done in the form of a personal website, a blog, curated social media profiles or all of the above. Here’s another article I wrote that’s dedicated to taking ownership of your digital footprint. 
  • Family obligations. Lastly don’t forget that in a crisis your family and close friends come first. Whether it’s a grandparent with COVID-19 who needs care and love, or an unemployed parent who needs an escape into nature with his son or daughter or needs you to get a job to help pay the bills. It is a totally worthwhile and good use of your time to prioritize loved ones in need. Colleges put a lot of weight on this and actually count family caretaking and work as part of extracurriculars!

Summer Planning Roadmap

In summary, here are the primary steps that our Spike coaches are following to help our students plan their summers this year: 

  • Define Your Story. Start inwards defining your identity, personal narrative and high school goals.
  • Determine Your Availability, Schedule & Budget. Determine your current summer commitments, timeline and budget. 
  • Research Your Options (for best and worst case scenarios). Choose the types of activities that you’re most jazzed about and that reinforce your story. This might be as simple as reviewing the list in this article and then going deeper to research your favorites.
  • Brainstorm Options (for best and worst case scenarios). The best activities are the least obvious ones so get creative. Put on your brainstorming hat and try to come up with as many options that get you excited. Then select your favorite ones and test them. Do they pass the criteria described at the top of this article? Are they feasible?
  • Lock it in. Do whatever necessary to confirm your summer activities. For example, apply to a selective online program/class, validate your Spike idea & implementation plan, or get a written confirmation of an internship offer. 

Have a great summer and don’t forget to sign up for a free consultation with me or Larry (co-founder of The Spike Lab) to discuss your summer plans or to learn more about Spike coaching.