fbpx

該如何向大學展現興趣?

該如何向大學展現興趣?

該如何向大學展現興趣? 1280 960 Theo Wolf

「務必透過電子郵件向招生辦公室提問,好在他們的紀錄中獲得『展現興趣』的分數!你得參加大學參訪行程。我也強烈建議你參加大學的暑期營隊。大學招生人員會追蹤你對這所大學是否有興趣,所以你得在大學說明會上發問!」

如果你是高二或高三學生,你很可能已經聽過類似這樣的建議了。在大學申請世界,這稱作「展現興趣」,至於它是否必要,則十分複雜。

現實的情況是,部分大學確實會追蹤「展現興趣」,其他則不會。在你投入時間、向大學展現興趣之前,先搞清楚哪些大學真的在乎此事。

要辦到這點,就得研究哪些大學會追蹤展現興趣(其實用Google就辦得到)。部分大學相當重視此事,但部分大學完全不在乎它,例如,布朗大學就不在乎

你也可以找出大學給予展現興趣的權重。大部分大學都會自行回報CDS(Common Data Set),其中就能找到這項資訊;大學會在表格裡將它標為「非常重要」、「重要」、「會考量」或「不會考量」。舉例而言,這是阿默斯特學院2017年的CDS,你可以在C7的最後一部分(以及下方的圖片)裡看到,它正式表明「不會考量」展現興趣。我們為了幫助你節省時間,將所有頂尖美國大學的相關資訊放進了我們的大學完整列表(裡面還有許多其他非常有用的大學資訊),只要點選這個連結就可以免費下載。

如果你發現大學會考量展現興趣,也決定向大學展現你的興趣,接下來就是我們建議的幾種做法。

  1. 參加大學博覽會。在博覽會中找到你有興趣的大學,與代表聊一聊並提出好問題,展現你已經對這所大學有一定程度的了解,而且又一些只有代表能夠回答的問題。務必確定你有提供你的全名,並填寫他們提供的所有表格。
  2. 電子郵件名單及社群媒體。加入電子郵件名單(使用你在申請時使用的電子郵件地址);記得開啟它們寄出的電子郵件,並點選郵件中的連結。在社群媒體上追蹤它們(但也要確定你用來追蹤它們的帳號,不會太過不正式或不成熟,因為那可能對你不利)。
  3. 造訪校園。造訪它們的校園,參加說明會/校園導覽/面試(如果有的話),讓你的名字出現在它們的紀錄中。過程中要提出好問題──也就是在網站上找不到答案、而且專屬於這所大學的問題。你可以看看另一篇討論校園參訪的文章,進一步了解相關資訊。
  4. 與非招生單位的教職員會面。與非招生單位教職員發展關係。嘗試找出研究領域與你興趣有關的教授(或其他教職員),並與他們談話(最好是在校園參訪之時,但也可以透過電子郵件)。提出與他們有關、以及與學校有關的好問題。如果你能讓他們留下深刻印象,他們說不定會為了你而聯繫招生人員(但無論如何,你都可以在補充論文中提及他們,以及你與他們的談話內容)。
  5. 與區域代表會面。聯繫區域代表。最好不要打擾整個招生辦公室,但如果你有與學校有關、明確又真誠的問題,可以聯繫負責你所屬區域的代表,並詢問他們這類問題。然後,如果他們來到了你居住地附近的博覽會,你就可以參加博覽會,並向親自向他們介紹自己!
  6. 持續聯繫。建立持續聯繫的紀錄。這代表做上述所有的事,並做些其他的小事,例如向教授、招生人員及其他大學的代表寄出感謝信等,建立能夠展現興趣的紀錄。
  7. 提早申請。提早送出你的申請文件。你可以正式提早申請(透過提早決定、限制提早行動或提早行動送出申請文件,可以有效展現你的興趣),但也可以在期限之前早早寄出申請文件。部分大學十分喜歡此事,在許多大學,這也可以讓你在眾多申請文件之中排得更前面,也就是說,與同區/國的其他申請者相較,招生人員會更早讀到你的申請文件。

展現興趣一事如此複雜,部分原因在於大學確實有理由在乎:申請者的興趣水準,可以直接影響一間大學的排名(興趣可以反映某個人選擇該所大學、放棄其他大學的機會,進而影響大學的錄取註冊率,進而影響錄取率,進而影響排名)。然而,大多數大學的官方立場是,不考量申請者是否展現興趣。大多數學校比較重視的是獲得最棒的學生,而不是最有可能註冊的學生(或至少希望能向申請者釋放這樣的訊息)。話雖如此,每間學校重視的事情都不太一樣。

想知道哪些大學在乎展現興趣,可以下載我們的大學完整清單,或是與我們聯繫,讓我們為你的大學清單提供免費建議。

A Guide to Demonstrating Interest to Colleges

A Guide to Demonstrating Interest to Colleges

A Guide to Demonstrating Interest to Colleges 1280 697 Theo Wolf

“Make sure you email a question to the admissions office to so you get ‘demonstrated interest’ points in their records! You have to do a college tour. I strongly encourage you to do the college’s summer camp. College admissions officers track if you’re interested in them, so you need to ask a question at the college’s info session!”

If you’re a high school junior or senior, it’s likely that you’ve received this type of advice already. In the world of college admissions, this is called “demonstrated interest.” And whether it’s a requirement or not is complicated.

The reality of the situation is that some colleges do track ‘demonstrated interest’ and others don’t. Before you dedicate time trying to demonstrate interest in a college, figure out which colleges actually care about it.

To do that, research whether the college tracks demonstrated interest (you can just Google this for each school). Some colleges place importance on it, but others don’t care at all. Brown, for instance, does not.

You can also find the level of weight that they give to Demonstrated Interest. This information can be found in the Common Data Set (CDS) which most colleges self-report; they’ll mark it as either Very Important, Important, Considered, or Not Considered in the form. Here’s an example of Amherst’s CDS for 2017. You’ll see in the last part of section C7 (and in the image below) that they have officially declared it to be “Not Considered”. To save you time, we’ve pulled this data for all top US colleges into our College Full List (along with a lot of other very useful college information). You can download it for free by clicking here.

If you find out that interest is considered and you decide you want to signal it to colleges, there are a few ways we recommend doing so.

  1. Attend college fairs. Find the colleges you’re interested in at fairs, talk to the representatives and ask good questions that show you already know some stuff about the college and have questions that only that rep can answer. Be sure to give your full name and sign any attendance sheet that they have.
  2. Email Lists and Social Media. Sign up for email lists (using the same email that you’ll apply with). Be sure to open emails they send and click on the links in those emails. Follow them on social media as well (but be sure that your account that you follow them with isn’t too informal or immature — that can count against you).
  3. Visit Campus. Visit their campus, sign up for an info session/campus tour/interview (if offered) and get your name in their logs. Ask good questions when you’re there — ones that aren’t answered on the website and are specific to the college you’re visiting. Check out our campus visit post for more information on this.
  4. Meet Non-Admissions Staff. Develop relationships with non-admissions staff. Try to find professors (or other relevant staff members) to talk to (ideally when you visit campus, but it could be by email too) who are doing research relevant to your interests. Ask good questions about them and the college. If you make an impression on them, they may reach out to admissions on your behalf (but regardless, you can include them and what you’ve talked to them about in your supplemental essay).
  5. Meet the Regional Representative. Reach out to the regional rep. It’s better not to bother the admissions office as a whole, but if you have a specific, genuine question about the school, reach out to the rep who oversees your region and ask them. Then, if they come to a fair near you, attend it and introduce yourself to them in-person!
  6. Consistent Communication. Create a record of consistent communication. This means doing all these things above, but in addition doing little things like sending thank you notes to professors, admissions officers, and other representatives of the college and developing a track record that shows you care.
  7. Apply Early. Submit your application earlier. This can mean formally applying early (sending an early application through Early Decision, Restrictive Early Action, or Early Action does a lot to signal your interest) but it can also simply mean submitting before the deadline. This is something that some schools appreciate and for many it can get you higher up on the pile, which means your application could be read before other applicants from your country/region.

Part of what makes the question of interest complicated is that it makes sense for colleges to care: applicants’ level of interest can directly impact a school’s ranking (interest can be seen as representing someone’s chances of choosing to attend that college over another, which determines the college’s yield rate, which impacts their acceptance rate, which in turn affects their ranking). However, the majority of colleges self-report as not considering applicant interest. Most schools prioritize getting the best students over getting the ones who are most likely to attend (or at least want to signal to applicants that they do). That said, every school is different in their priorities.

To see which colleges care about demonstrated interest, download our College Full List or setup a quick call to get free feedback on your college list.