• COVID-19相關公告: 我們的教練課程全數透過線上授課,未受本次危機影響。

為什麼國際學生獲得美國頂尖大學錄取的難度,是國內學生的2–3倍?

為什麼國際學生獲得美國頂尖大學錄取的難度,是國內學生的2–3倍?

為什麼國際學生獲得美國頂尖大學錄取的難度,是國內學生的2–3倍? 1280 384 Theo Wolf

我們已經討論過,國際學生獲得頂尖美國大學錄取的難度有多高,接下來,我們希望能解釋為什麼會這樣。

正如我們在那篇文章和我們的研究方法所言,我們發現,國際學生獲得頂尖美國大學錄取的難度,約為國內學生的2–3倍。然而,各學校間的難度倍率差異可能會非常大,因為每所學校的品味 、評估項目、學生組成等因素皆不同;因此,部分頂尖學校很有可能甚至比MIT更難成功獲得錄取。

到底為什麼會這樣?

學校和學者提出了一些解釋,可惜,我們無法確知每項因素的影響程度,但將這些因素綜合在一起,亦有助解釋為何國際學生特別難獲得錄取。

1. 財務需求

財務補充可能解釋了相當一部分的差異。大多數大學會考量國際學生的財務能力,這些大學因為學生無法負擔就學相關花費,就拒絕部分學生,獲得錄取自然比較難。另一方面,少數無視國際學生財務需求的學校,則會獲得大量申請,因為對許多學生來說,這些學校是他們獲得美國教育的唯一機會。申請考量財務能力的學校之時,如果你知道自己的家庭可以負擔教育友出,你獲得錄取的機會可能就會提高(反之,如果你認為家庭無力負擔,機會就會下降許多)。然而,單只是有能力負擔,不代表獲得錄取的機會會和國內學生相同。

該如何應對:確保家庭的財務健全,以及你申請的學校符合家庭的收入水準。如果你擔心家庭的財務能力,就將焦點放上無視財務需求,或是會考量財務需求、但提供完整補助的學校;由於大多數這樣的學校特別難以錄取,你也可以考慮以加拿大大學作為安全學校,因為它們的學費比較低。

2. 不信任美國之外的高中

一如許多私人企業的職務分配,招生人員亦有各自負責的區域,例如某人負責美國東北部、某人負責加州、某人則負責西南部等。一般來說,整個東亞會由一位招生人員負責,部分大學甚至是由一位招生人員負責所有的國際申請者!

他們必須了解自己所屬區域有哪些高中。然而,想像一下嘗試了解東亞的每一間高中,會是什麼模樣:中國、台灣、日本、南韓等東亞國家,總人口預估佔全球人口21%。這是一項不可能的任務,因此,許多招生人員的焦點,會完全放在這些區域的主要美國或國際學校,這些學校也曾經將優秀學生送入他們的大學。正因為如此,大學人員參訪通常會集中於這些學校。如果你念的是當地高中,或是較新/較不知名的私立高中,招生人員可能會從來沒有聽過你的高中。

也就是說,就算你的GPA達4.0,招生人員也會質疑你的成績,因為他們無法信任你高中的品質或學習強度。對大學來說,SAT/ACT理當是種了解學生相對總體學術能力的方式(它們稱作標準化測驗,並不是沒有理由),但因為近期傳出的SAT醜聞(8月的測驗出現大型作弊行為,測驗日期和測驗結果亦曾因為類似理由而取消,特別是東亞地區)和ACT醜聞(醜聞並沒有SAT那麼多,但還是曾經因為作弊而取消測驗日期),這些測驗的正確性也受到質疑。因此,就算你的GPA達4.0、SAT達1600,你的申請文件仍舊有可能受到招生人員的強力質疑,如果你是來自東亞的國際學生,就更是如此。

此外,許多惡名昭彰的大學申請顧問公司,會採行非常不正當的手段;曾有報導指出,這類顧問公司會替學生寫論文、偽造推薦信,甚至還會代考標準化測驗。

總合來說,這代表招生人員對國際申請者會抱有極大的不信任。你得克服所有阻礙,讓他們相信你有能力在他們的大學發光發熱,才能獲得錄取。這正是我們與學生合作、一同打造Spike的部分原因。Spike是真實、有形而且非常令人驚艷的事物,招生人員也知道,擁有Spike的學生有能力做出非常了不起的事;這不但能讓學生的申請文件更亮眼,也能使1600分的SAT成績和4.0的GPA更具說服力(擁有Spike的學生,會產生某種光環效應,讓他們的測驗分數和成績更顯可信)。想更深入了解Spike,可以讀一讀這篇文章

我們推斷,這就是國際學生較難獲得美國頂尖大學錄取的最主要成因。就算你念的是東亞的一流美國或國際高中,由於你所屬的地區,這樣的阻礙仍舊存在。如果你念的是當地或公立高中,阻礙就會更大。

該如何應對:打造Spike,就讀擁有良好美國大學入學紀錄的高中,參加頂尖美國大學的暑期學分課程,以展現你確實有能力應付高等教育的強度(如果你念的是當地高中,就更是如此)。

3. 語言

英語並不是大多數國際學生的第一語言,但美國大學是以英語授課(除了語言課程之外)。因此,新生必須要有非常完整的英語理解能力才行,這也正是TOEFL登場的時刻。

TOEFL的目的為測驗學生的英語理解能力,大多數學校要求100分,部分學校要求110分。理想而言,我們建議學生取得110分以上的成績,以掃除任何英語能力方面的質疑。

然而,就和其他標準化測驗一樣,TOEFL亦有缺陷。招生人員每年都會收到教授的報告,表示學生的英語能力不達標準。我在Cornell工作的時候,也曾遇過許多英語能力不佳的大學生,他們的英語能力甚至遠不如與The Spike Lab合作的大部分高中生。我以前常常會想,這些學生到底是怎麼獲得Cornell錄取的?就算擁有100分以上的TOEFL成績,這還是說不過去。因此,招生人員不能完全只看TOEFL成績,得在論文、補充論文、面試等其他申請文件的元素上多花心思,注意英語能力方面的警訊。

國內學生在論文中犯了錯,很可能被視為打錯字或一般錯誤,但如果國際學生犯了同樣的錯,很容易會被招生人員認為,那是因為英語能力不佳。總體而言,這會讓國際學生更難獲得錄取,但影響程度不如前兩項因素,因為有更多方式可以讓招生人員知道,你擁有優秀的英語能力。

該如何應對:TOEFL成績超過100分(理想為超過110分),參加頂尖美國大學的暑期學分課程,參加申請大學的面試,並在面試時表現優異。如果你擔心自己在面試時的英語聽說能力,可以找尋一些英語教練課程,如果能前往美國、完全沉浸於英語環境之中,自然更好。

4. 國際學生配額

大部分學校不會願意承認,它們是否有實施任何形式的國際學生配額。然而,許多公立大學會採行一些措施,來發揮國際學生配額的效果。最明顯的就是UC系統;UC系統在2017年核可了外州學生的18%註冊上限。私立大學都沒有這麼做,但許多人推測,這類措施確實存在。我們觀察的數據,無法直接支持這樣的說法,但從學校的角度來看,追求某種程度的平衡(就算只是下意識地),確實有合理之處。舉例來說,如果UC Berkeley的國際學生錄取率與國內學生相同,校內的國際學生比例就會從14%升至近28%;由於Berkeley是一間公立大學、目的為服務加州,很可能無法接受這樣的比例。

總體而言,部分學校確實對國際學生比較友善。校內的國際學生比例通常是不錯的指標,但也不要太過倚賴這個數字:國際學生比例低,可能不是因為錄取的國際學生較少,而是因為申請的國際學生較少。

.

非正式配額限制,是否會影響國際學生的錄取率,我們真的只能推測。不過,這仍舊是一個可能因素,也值得在進入大學申請季之時銘記在心,特別是對所在州負有責任的公立大學。

該如何應對:將申請目標分散於公立和私立大學,並分散於數個不同的區域。也就是說,不要只申請大城市和熱門州(加州、紐約、波士頓)的頂尖大學,也要申請位於南部和中西部、國際學生比較少申請的大學。

— —

國際學生較難獲得美國頂尖大學錄取,可能還有另外幾項因素,包括註冊率、非學術刻版印象等,但這篇文章討論的因素,是我們認為影響力最大的因素。想更深入了解,可以點選此連結,下載我們的國際學生錄取率指南。

A Guide to Why it is 2–3x Harder for International Students to get into Top US Colleges

A Guide to Why it is 2–3x Harder for International Students to get into Top US Colleges

A Guide to Why it is 2–3x Harder for International Students to get into Top US Colleges 1280 384 Theo Wolf

 

We’ve addressed how hard is it for international students to get into top US universities, but next we’d like to explain where this added difficulty originates.

As outlined in that post and in our methodology, we’ve found that it is between 2–3x more difficult for international students to gain admission to top US colleges when compared with domestic students. However, this number likely varies widely from school to school, since each is different in terms of things like taste, evaluation criteria, student body makeup, etc. It’s very possible there are some top schools that are even harder than MIT to get into.

So why is that exactly?

There are several explanations that have been put forth by schools and scholars alike. Sadly, we can’t know how much each factor individually impacts this differential, but altogether these help to explain why admittance is so much harder for international students.

1) Financial need

Financial aid likely explains a large portion of the differential. Because most colleges are need-aware to international students, it’s harder to gain admission since these schools reject some students purely because those students can’t afford the cost of attendance. Meanwhile, the few schools that are need-blind to international students get a disproportionately high number of applications since for many students those schools are their only chance at an American education. When applying to need-aware schools, if you know for a fact that your family can pay for your education, your chances are probably improved (and conversely, if you don’t believe your family can pay, your chances are much worse). However, just because you can pay doesn’t mean that getting in will be as easy as it is for a domestic student.

What you can do to safeguard against this: Make sure your family’s finances are in order and that the schools you’re applying to will be realistic for your family’s income. If you doubt your family’s ability to pay, focus on schools that are need-blind or need-aware but with full aid met, and since most of these are even harder to get into, consider using Canadian schools as safeties with their lower tuition costs.

2) Skepticism about internationally located high schools

Like in many private businesses, admissions officers cover different regions. One will cover the Northeast United States; another, California; another, the Southeast, etc. Typically one admissions officer is assigned to all of East Asia. Some colleges even only have one officer for all international applicants!

It’s their job to be aware of what schools are in their regions. However, imagine trying to know all of the high schools in East Asia: China, Taiwan, Japan, South Korea, and other countries in the region together make up an estimated 21% of the world population. It’s an impossible task. As a result of this, many admissions officers will focus exclusively on the major American or International schools in these regions, which have sent successful students to their colleges in the past. This is why most visits from colleges happen at those schools. As a result, if you’re applying from a local school or a newer/lesser-known private school, you can’t count on the admissions officer ever having heard of it.

What this means is that even if you have a 4.0 GPA, admissions officers will be skeptical of your grades because they can’t trust the rigor or quality of the school. The SAT/ACT are meant to be a way for colleges to have a sense of students’ overall academic proficiency compared to other students (there’s a reason they’re called standardized tests). However, because of recent scandals with the SAT (there was widespread cheating in the August test, specifically in East Asia, and previous test dates have been canceled for similar reasons) as well as with the ACT (which hasn’t had as many scandals, but still has had canceled test dates from cheating), the legitimacy of these tests have been called into question. So even with a 4.0 GPA and a 1600 SAT, your application could inspire serious doubts on the part of the admissions officer, particularly if you’re applying from East Asia.

On top of this, many college application advising companies are infamous for very sketchy practices. There have been reports of companies writing essays on students’ behalves, forging recommendation letters, and even taking standardized tests for students.

Altogether, this means that overall there is a huge amount of skepticism from admissions officers when it comes to international applicants. In order to be accepted, you have to overcome all of these hurdles and show that you’re a student who is capable of succeeding at their college. This is part of why we work with students to build Spikes. A Spike is something that is real, tangible, and highly impressive. Admissions officers know that students with Spikes are capable of incredible things, which not only bolsters their application but grants additional legitimacy to 1600 SAT scores or 4.0 GPAs (since students with Spikes can achieve a kind of halo effect that makes their scores and grades more trustworthy). You can read more about what Spikes are all about here.

We estimate that this reason accounts for the overwhelming majority of why it’s harder for international students to get into top colleges than it is for domestic students. Even if you’re at a top American or International school in East Asia, this obstacle still exists because of the region you’re coming from. If you’re at a local or public school, it will be an even larger barrier.

What you can do to safeguard against this: Build a Spike, attend a school with a track record of sending students to top US colleges, take a for-credit summer course at a top US university in order to show that you can handle the rigor of higher education (particularly if you’re at a local school).

3) Language

English is not the first language of most international students, but it’s the language that US college classes are taught in (aside from language classes). For that reason, it’s critical that incoming freshman have a very clear comprehension of the nuances of the English language. This is where the TOEFL comes in.

The TOEFL was created to test students’ comprehension of the English language. Most schools require a score of 100 and some require 110. Ideally, we recommend students score above 110 just to absolutely prove beyond the shadow of a doubt that they have command over the English language.

However, like other standardized tests, the TOEFL is flawed. Every year, admissions officers get reports from professors of students whose English language ability is not up to snuff. When working at Cornell University, I myself met many undergraduate students whose English was substantially worse than the English of most of the high schoolers we work with at The Spike Lab. I had to wonder how on earth those students got into Cornell in the first place, despite scoring above 100 on their TOEFLs. For this reason, admissions officers have to look past the TOEFL and pay extra mind to essays, supplements, interview, and other components of the application in order to keep an eye out for any language red flags.

If a domestic student makes a mistake on their essay, it will likely be attributed to being a typo or common mistake. If an international student makes that same mistake, it’s very easy for admission officers to assume that it’s the result of a poor grasp of the English language. This is a piece of what makes it harder for international students overall, but it’s smaller than the previous two since there are more ways to signal to an admissions officer that you are a strong English language speaker.

What you can do to safeguard against this: Score well above a 100 on the TOEFL (over 110 is ideal), take a for-credit summer course at a top American university, interview at the colleges you apply to and ace that interview. If you have any doubts about your ability to speak and listen in an interview, get some English language coaching, preferably through 100% immersive English language experiences in the US.

4) Quotas on international students

Few schools will admit if they enforce any sort of quota on international students. However, many public universities are taking measures to officially do something like this. The most notable is the UC system, which in 2017 approved an 18% enrollment cap on out of state students. No private institutions do this, but many people speculate that this sort of thing exists. None of the numbers we looked at immediately supported this theory, but it would make sense from a school’s perspective if some sort of balancing occurred, even if subconscious. For instance, if UC Berkeley accepted the same percentage of international students as domestic, the school would grow from 14% to nearly 28% international, an amount that would likely be considered unacceptable given that Berkeley is a public institution meant to serve California.

In general, it’s good to acknowledge that some schools are friendlier to international students than others. The percent of international students is often a good indicator of this, but don’t rely on it too heavily: a low percentage of international students may not be because the schools accepts fewer but rather because the school receives fewer applicants.

We can only speculate whether informal quotas have an impact on what percentage of international students are accepted, but they’re still a possible factor and something to keep in mind as you enter college application season. This is particularly true for public universities which have a responsibility to their states.

What you can do to safeguard against this: Apply to a diverse mix of private and public schools and in a diverse range of regions. What this means is not only applying to the top schools in the biggest cities and most popular states (California, New York, Boston), but also applying to schools in the south and midwest, where international students are less likely to go.

5) Recommendation letters

In the recent legal trial over Harvard’s admissions practices, legendary Dean of Admissions William Fitzsimmons was asked why Asian-American applicants received lower scores in the “Personal” rating category. His answer? White applicants receive better letters of recommendation than their Asian-American counterparts. If this is the case for Asian-Americans, then it’s even more true for international Asians (and international students more broadly as well). Many of our students attend local public schools and have teachers who speak little to no English. Those teachers’ English writing is often poor and their Chinese writing gets lost in translation. Even top international schools frequently have teachers who are teaching in English as a second language. Like a personal essay, a good recommendation letter is difficult to write and requires a certain level of mastery over the English language. It’s hard enough to do well even for teachers who are fluent in English.

A poorly written recommendation letter reflects poorly on you as an applicant. A student recently showed me a recommendation letter a teacher wrote which was abysmal. I had to explain to him that this letter would not only not help him: it would actually hurt his chances.

In addition, the typical style of recommendation letters is totally different in Asian education systems, which leads to a letter that might feel very foreign to US admissions officers. It’s not uncommon to talk about a student’s parents in an Asian recommendation letter, commending them and praising their reputation. American colleges, meanwhile, don’t care about students’ parents. It’s actually, in a way, preferable if a student’s parents are poor and uneducated because it makes the student’s ambitions more impressive. Additionally, Asian international teacher’s recommendation letters tend to be matter-of-fact and understated in their praise. The best college recommendations are effusive, enthusiastic, and definitive: “Annie is one of the brightest students I’ve ever had. Her mere presence in my class lifts up the students around her and elevates the level of discussion.” Nuance has no place in a college recommendation and neither does criticism. Any flaws exposed or mentioned in a recommendation letter are amplified considerably by the fact that if a trusted teacher thinks these things, then they must be true. Just one negative comment can be seen as a massive red flag.

What you can do to safeguard against this: Ask teachers you trust to write your recommendations, and ideally ask teachers who have strong English skills. Share some samples of good letters with them from the internet, so they have a frame of reference. If a letter needs to be translated, hire a skilled translator. Ideally, get a look at the letter before your teacher submits it. There’s a stigma against students reading their teachers’ recommendation letters but in this situation, it’s better to be safe than sorry.

— —

There are likely several other factors that contribute to the difficulty international students have getting into top US colleges, including yield rates and stereotypical non-academic profiles, but the factors in this post are the ones we consider the most impactful. To learn more, download our guide to international student acceptance rates here.