• COVID-19相關公告: 我們的教練課程全數透過線上授課,未受本次危機影響。

申請正確的大學 第二篇:列出你的清單

申請正確的大學 第二篇:列出你的清單

申請正確的大學 第二篇:列出你的清單 800 471 Theo Wolf

在挑選出正確的大學並申請時,最重大的挑戰是簡化這個清單。在美國約有2,300所四年制的大學院校,所以你該做的是從如此龐大的學校數量中作出選擇,並將選出的學校清單縮小到最少:「你將會申請的特定學校」。為了能從一個大清單刪減到一個小清單,你需要過濾器來協助你有系統和自信地消除這些選項。以下是我們在 The Spike Lab 與學生進行這個步驟的簡要的概念。

第一步:完整清單

完整清單包含了所有可能適合你的大學。要建立完整清單,請調查你有興趣學習的主題(如果你已經知道是什麼主題)並查看這些特定的主題在國內的排行。你的完整清單應該包含在你有興趣的領域中,排名前10大的學校。在此也提醒,一定要確保所查到的資訊是大學排名,因為許多排名是研究所課程,並非大學課程的排名。如果你正在閱讀此文章,且正在問自己:「可是我不知道我想要學什麼!」別擔心,你並不孤單。你應該做的則是自我省思,並專注在一些你有興趣的領域上(閱讀我們的部落格文章,了解關於如何找出你的熱忱),或申請課程和課程要求設計較為大體的文科學院。

你的完整清單可能介於30至50所學校之間。如果你的學校數量小於30,你可能已經依照被錄取的機率過濾了一些學校。如果你有超過50所的學校,那你可能設立了太多主題。如果你覺得你卡住了,並想從一個較全面的地方開始的話,你可以 click here 並獲得一個由 The Spike Lab 所列出的完整清單來協助你開始。

第二步:長清單

長清單包含了你需要密切調查的所有學校。我們通常建議我們的學生將此清單刪減到約18所大學。要建立你的長清單,需要思考你的喜好和對於大學的期望 — 特別是那些你最在乎的偏好。教育品質和成本通常是學生最在乎的偏好類型。但其他因素也一樣重要。例如,你喜歡位於大城市的學校嗎?你不喜歡非常寒冷的天氣嗎?你期望進入一個名聲響亮的學校嗎?從長清單中消除所有不足以滿足你偏好與期望的學校。

在所剩的學校當中,思考錄取難度。其中有些學校比其他學校更難被錄取,所以你需要具戰略性的思考,並選擇一些真正難以進入的學校,幾所很容易進入的學校,以及一些介於兩者之間的學校。我們將他們稱為:伸手才可及的(Reach)要被錄取是困難且有風險的、匹配的(Match)與你在同一個水平,但並非太確定的,以及安全的(Safety)較為安全的賭注,一定會被錄取。


但是,我怎麼知道一所學校是否真的適合我呢?這是個非常好的問題!當談到錄取難度,實際上的可變因素有很多,其中包含但不限於:標準化考試成績,GPA,大學錄取率,甚至是國際學生申請的總人數。一般來說,查看最新入學新生的錄取檔案非常重要。當涉及到分數(ACT,GPA,SAT II),則是著重在是否與平均水平相同或是高於平均水平。沒有大學會承認這一點,但是國際學生通常有一些形式上的配額,所以國際學生申請人的總數肯定也是一個因素。

如果你喜歡數字化,你可以將此清單大致分成三部分。

伸手才可及的:錄取機率 < 30%
匹配的:30% < 你的錄取機率 < 70%
安全的:錄取機率 > 30%
想計算你的機會(純粹基於學術表現)你可以透過 Google 搜尋:「(學校名稱)prepscholar 入學要求」以獲得全面且廣泛地概述該學校的所有要求。靠近頁面底部的則是基於ACT / SAT 和 GPA 成績的入學計算器。

你亦可查看由College Data提供的 College Chances Calculator(大學入取機率計算機),並作為額外的參考資訊。

第三步:短清單

短清單包含了所有你在高三秋季時會申請的所有學校。要刪減到你的最終清單〜8所學校,你需要「超越典型」的研究工具。你只能透過網路被動地來了解一所學校。你最終將需要「體驗」大學之後,才能更加肯定。就像你絕對不會只靠閱讀一輛車的簡介就決定買下它。你會去試駕,而選擇大學更是如此,最好的情況就是去參觀大學。然而,對大多數的國際學生來說,到每間預期就讀的大學拜訪是非常昂貴且耗時的。如果參觀大學並不在你的考慮範圍內,或是你不能拜訪每一所你有興趣的學校,那麼你就得尋找另一種方式來「體驗」大學。由於大學是以人為基礎的社區,另一個最好了解大學的方式就是與該校的工作人員或畢業校友見面。這些人的身份已經明顯地被所就讀或工作的大學塑造。但要與這些人見面,你得需要啟動你那可能從來沒被使用過的技能:你的交際技能!

交際是指與他人交流溝通,以及給予或獲得協助。身為一個高中生,你可能還沒有一個非常大的交際網絡,但現在就開始拓展人脈絕不嫌早!你可以透過手機、電子郵件、Skype 等和你的新聯絡人所習慣的方式來交流。與在校生、畢業校友,甚至教授對談,你將能夠得到一個比網路數據、部落格文章、資訊、以及其他線上的訊息還更準確和詳細的大學資訊。這是大多數學生希望進一步體驗不同學校感覺的階段,而不僅僅是根據統計數據來理性地思考它。

你的短清單應該維持在八間學校以內。為何是八間?因為你不會希望申請太多間學校:

  1. 每個申請書都會耗費許多時間,而申請太多間學校的學生經常犧牲掉了品質。大學通常能看出你是否使用同樣的申請書來申請其他所大學,這同時也暗示了他們的學校(他們的社區)在你心目中並非首選。即使他們不能分辨你是否重複使用了你的申請書來申請多所大學,該申請書也不會非常的個人化,也因此在傳達為什麼你對於該大學是完美的「契合」時所發揮的效力就不會太高。
  2. 還有一些非常實際的成本考量。例如,常春藤大學的平均申請費是80美元,如果你申請10個大學,光是申請就得花費你800美元!
接下來的步驟

根據你的畢業年份,你如何處理這些策略也將有所不同的。如果你目前是11年級(高三),你會想立即開始。如果你現在是中學生(國中),你可以畫出這些步驟並慢慢進行,特別是在第二以及第三個步驟。即使你目前正在申請大學,使用這個步驟來快速地思考你的大學清單也無傷大雅。

Applying to the Right Colleges Part 2: Making Your List

Applying to the Right Colleges Part 2: Making Your List

Applying to the Right Colleges Part 2: Making Your List 800 471 Larry Liu

The primary challenge you face when picking the right colleges to apply to is reduction. There are approximately 2,300 four-year degree-granting colleges in the US so you’re starting with a huge pool of colleges to choose from and need to narrow that list down to a tiny fraction: the specific colleges you’ll apply to. In order to go from a big list to a small list, you’ll need to have filters so you can systematically and confidently eliminate options. Here’s a quick overview of how we at The Spike Lab approach this process with our students.

Step 1: Full List

The Full List includes every college that could work for you. To create your Full List, do a search of the topics that you’re interested in studying (if you already know them) and see what the national rankings are for those specific topics. Your Full List should probably include many of the top ten colleges in each field that you’re interested in studying. Word of warning, be sure to research only undergraduate rankings since many of the rankings are buoyed by a powerhouse graduate program. If you’re reading this and you’re saying to yourself, “But I have no idea what I want to study!” Don’t worry, you’re not alone. You should either do some soul-searching now to focus in more on a few interest areas (see our blog post about discovering your passions), or apply to Liberal Arts colleges whose curriculum and course requirements are designed for a more general education.

Your Full List will probably vary in size between 30 to 50 schools. If you have less than 30, you’re probably already filtering by likelihood of admittance. If you have more than 50, you might be including too many topics. If you’re stuck and you want a very general place to start, you can download for free The Spike Lab’s College Full by clicking here. This is the same Full List that we use with most of our students.

Step 2: Long List

The Long List contains all of the schools that you’re going to examine closely. We usually recommend our students to narrow it down to approximately 18 colleges. To create your Long List, think about your preferences and expectations when it comes to college — especially the preferences that matter the most to you. Education quality and cost are often the preference types that matter the most to students. However other factors can also matter a lot. For example, do you prefer a school in a big city? Are you adverse to very cold weather? Do you expect a big name brand school? Eliminate all of the schools on the Full List that don’t sufficiently match your preferences and expectations.

Of the schools that remain, think about selectivity. Some of these schools are more selective than others, so you want to be strategic and pick some schools that are really hard to get into, some that are really easy to get into, and some in between. We call these your Reach (it’ll be hard and risky to get in), Match (you’re around the same level, but it’s not a sure thing), and Safety (it’s a safe bet that you’ll get in).

But how do I know if a school is really a match for me? Great question! There are actually a lot of variables when it comes to selectivity, which include but are not limited to: standardized test scores, GPA, undergrad admittance rate, and even the overall number of international applicants. In general, it’s important to look at the profile of the most recent incoming freshman class. When it comes to scores (ACT, GPA, SAT II) it’s all about being the same or higher than than the average. No colleges will admit this, but there are usually quotas for international students in some way shape or form, so the total number of international applicants will definitely be a factor.

If you prefer to think numerically, you can generally break the list into thirds.

  • Reach: Probability of admittance < 30%
  • Match: 30% < Your probability of admittance < 70%
  • Safety: Probability of admittance > 70%

To calculate your chances (purely based on academics), you can google search “[the name of the school] prepscholar admissions requirements” for a comprehensive but broad overview of all the requirements for that school. Towards the bottom of the page is an admissions calculator based on ACT/SAT and GPA.

As an additional resource, you can also check out the College Chances Calculator provided by College Data as well as our post on identifying your reach, match, and safety schools.

Step 3: Short List

The Short List contains all of the schools that you will actually be applying to in the Fall of your senior year of high school. To narrow it down to your final list of ~8 schools, you’ll have to go beyond the typical research tools. You can only learn so much about a school though passive research on the Internet. You’ll eventually have to “experience” the college to know for sure. You’d never buy a car by just reading a lot about it. You’d go for a test drive; college is no different. The best thing to do is go visit the colleges. However, for most international students, traveling to each prospective college is prohibitively expensive and time consuming. If it’s not an option — or if you can’t visit all the schools you’re interested in — then you’ll need to find another way to “experience” the college. Since colleges are fundamentally communities of people, the next best option is to meet alumni and staff from the college. These are people whose identities have been significantly shaped by the colleges they went to or are working at. To meet these people, you’ll need to work a muscle that you probably never knew you had: your networking muscle!

Networking is all about connecting with people and both giving and getting help from them. As a high school student, you probably don’t yet have a very big network, but it’s never too early to start! You can network by phone, email, Skype, or whatever you and your new contact are comfortable with. By talking to current students, alumni, and even professors, you’ll be able to get a much more accurate and detailed understanding of the college in a way that online statistics, blog posts, information, and other online information can never match. This is the phase when most students want to develop a feel for the different colleges and not just think about it purely rationally — based on the statistics.

Your Short List should be around eight schools. Why eight? You don’t want to apply too many schools because:

  1. Each application takes a lot of time, and students who apply to many schools often sacrifice quality. Colleges can usually tell if you are using the same application for many colleges and it’ll indicate to them that their school (their community) is not one of your top picks. Even if they can’t tell that you’re repurposing your application for multiple colleges, the application won’t be as personalized, and therefore not as effective in communicating why you’re a perfect ‘fit’ for that particular college.
  2. There are some very real financial costs to take into account. For example, the average application fee for Ivy League colleges is $80 so if you apply to 10 colleges, it’ll cost you $800!

Next Steps

Depending on your year of graduation, how you approach these strategies will be different. If you’re currently in 11th grade (高三), you’ll want to start right away. If you’re currently in middle school (國中), you can draw out the steps and really take your time, especially on steps two and three. Even if you’re currently applying for colleges, it couldn’t hurt to quickly think through your college list using this process.