有空叩我:招生辦公室版

有空叩我:招生辦公室版

有空叩我:招生辦公室版 1280 960 Theo Wolf

譯註:Call Me Maybe(有空叩我)是 Carly Rae Jepsen 的超級金曲來著。

摘要:在撰寫大學申請文件時卡關,是件十分平常的事,但重點在於儘快突破這個關卡。我們製作了這份指南,協助你快速連繫大學,取得你需要的答案。

目前正值大學申請季的高峰,如果你和大多數學生一樣,你必定會有一大堆問題。有時,不同的大學對學生會抱有極為不同的期望和要求,文字書寫的指示和解釋,也常常不是非常明確。例如,如果你是申請某所大學的特別工程課程,一般招生辦公室也會讀這份申請文件嗎?或是,如果你同意不要閱讀Common App中的推薦信,翻譯推薦信的最佳方式為何?在這些情況下,我們強烈建議學生儘快取得這些問題的答案。這非常非常重要;學生擁有的時間有限,精準的資訊亦是撰寫優質申請文件的關鍵。常常,學生會只是猜測他們該做什麼,或是和朋友聊一聊並倚賴常見的看法。

在The Spike Lab,我們強烈建議學生主動出手,直接連絡招生辦公室,取得所有重要問題的答案。這並不容易,但絕對值得。通常,打電話給大學的最大挑戰,是與陌生人談話的心理障礙。以時間而言,那通常非常快,如果問題不多,一通電話平均只要5分鐘。你不但可以取得你十分需要的申請相關資訊,也可以練習並展現你的主動性和獨立性。

打電話之前該做什麼?

如果你想要答案,就不要成為煩人的人。一般來說,你可以先好好研究每間大學的招生網站、大學論壇/討論板,或是先與其他人談一談,例如學校或其他機構的專業大學顧問等。

除了做足研究之外,你也應該準備好問題清單。你得有效地利用時間,因此,你應該一次取得所有問題的答案。一次只問一個問題,不但得花費更多時間,也有可能讓招生辦公室覺得你很煩人。

我們建議,在做好研究之後、撥出電話之前,先用email寄出你的問題。這麼做有幾個理由,其一,大學相當有可能會快速又明確的回覆email,若是如此,你就根本不必打電話!其二,大學招生辦公室必定比較偏好email而非電話,因為前者讓他們能用自己的步調回應。其三,那創造了打電話的明確理由,說「我在幾週前已經連繫過、詢問__問題」的說服力,遠遠超過只是說「我不了解__」。

寫電子郵件應該要非常快速。我們鼓勵學生準備好預先寫好、可以輕易修改並增加問題的模板,例如下列這種可以快速複製貼上的內容:

Hello,

My name is [你的名字], and I’m a senior at [你的高中]. I’m really interested in [大學的名稱], and I had a few questions about applying.

在此列出你的問題

儘可能聚焦明確

在適當之時使用舉例來說明

Thanks so much for your time and attention, and I look forward to your reply.
Warm Regards,
[你的名字]

該怎麼打電話?

所以苦差我們都幫你完成了!參考我們近期更新的完整大學清單,它包括了每間大學招生辦公室的電話以及電子郵件。這些聯絡資訊能讓你直接和每間大學的招生辦公室聯繫。

若你在我們的完整大學清單上找不到你在尋找的學校,你仍然可以自己去找到他們的聯絡資訊。

搜尋學校的招生辦公室,並撥打它的電話。如果學校沒有列出招生辦公室的電話,你也可以撥打學校的主要聯絡電話,請對方轉接至招生辦公室。

以國際學生而言,你應該要確定,你是在招生辦公室的辦公時間打電話。並不是所有的辦公室都在9點開始辦公,你也得在撥出電話之前,仔細確定它們的上班時間。舉例來說,柏克萊招生辦公室的辦公時間為太平洋時間早上9點至下午4點,也就是台灣時間的凌晨12點至早上7點。

我該說什麼?

一定要先介紹自己。你可能會被轉接到不同的辦公室,因此,和你談話的人可能完全不知道你是誰;如果你撥的是主要聯絡電話,就更是如此。你不必詳細地自我介紹,但得讓他們大致了解你是誰,例如,「Hi, my name is Larry and I’m a senior at Northville High School. (你好,我叫Larry,我是諾維爾高中的高三學生) 」連絡到了正確的人之後,你應該提出你的問題 (當然) ,接著再提出後續提問。良好的後續提問相當關鍵,因為你不會想在結束電話之後,仍舊沒有清楚地了解你原本想問的事項。如果他們的答案不夠明確或是讓你有些混淆,你可以請他們用不同的說法或舉例,更明確地說明或解釋他們的答案。

小訣竅:你不一定能找到真的能協助你的人,因此,你可以改變你的問題,轉而尋求指引而非答案。例如,如果你想知道學校的成績選擇政策,你或許可以問「I’m trying to learn the school’s policy on score choice, and I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction. (我想知道學校的成績選擇政策,是否可以請你幫我指引一下方向呢?) 」直接問「What’s your school’s policy on score choice? (貴校的成績選擇政策是什麼呢?) 」可能太過直接,也可能會讓不知道該如何協助你的人有些懊惱。
小訣竅:後續問題不一定得是個真正的問題,也可以用來釐清或確認資訊。例如,你可以說「你的意思是不是……」然後重述你對他們先前解釋的理解。這是個確認你對重要資訊的理解是否正確的好方法。

該如何結束對話?

感謝他們 (當然) ,但如果他們相當樂於協助,也可以詢問他們的聯絡資訊。即使你的準備已經十分充足,之後可能還是會有其他問題;擁有可以快速獲得回應的直接連絡方式,當然相當有幫助。

訣竅:千萬不要吝惜你的感謝之意。你可以「更確切」地感謝他們,例如感謝他們願意花費時間解答問題、感謝他們的協助,或是感謝他們讓你壓力減輕了不少等。這些人得應付無數壓力帶來的問題,而且這是份沒什麼人感激的工作。大學招生人員同樣是人,也喜歡獲得其他人的感激。

重點在於,就連繫學校而言,你應該「去做就對了」。打電話給陌生人,常會讓人猶豫又緊張,但如果你想快速取得精確的答案,除此之外真的沒有更好的方法了。我們知道,你和招生人員之間有著年齡差距和語言障礙,但為了你的未來,這絕對值得。如果你根據不完整或不精確的資訊完成申請文件,依錯誤的嚴重程度不同,你的申請文件可能會被列為暫緩處理,或是直接被排除在外。如果花5分鐘寫封email和/或花10分鐘打通電話,就能取得完整的答案,何必要碰運氣?

Call Me Maybe: Admissions Office Edition

Call Me Maybe: Admissions Office Edition

Call Me Maybe: Admissions Office Edition 1280 649 Larry Liu

 

We’re in the peak of college admissions season right now, and if you’re like most students, you have a ton of questions. Different colleges sometimes have very different expectations and requirements, and the written directions and explanations are often just not very clear. For example, if you’re applying to a special engineering program at the college, does the application for that program get read by the general admissions office as well? Or what’s the best way to get a letter of recommendation translated if you’ve agreed to not look at your letter on the Common App? In these situations, we highly recommend that students get these questions answered as quickly as possible. This is so important because time is very limited for students, and accurate information is key to writing a good application. Most often, students will just guess about what they should do, or they will talk to their friends and rely on common wisdom.

At The Spike Lab, we strongly advise students to take matters into their own hands and contact admissions offices directly to get all important questions answered. It’s not easy, but it’s completely worth it. Most often, the biggest challenge with calling a college is the psychological barrier of talking to strangers. In terms of time, it’s actually quite fast with an average call taking just five minutes if you don’t have too many questions. Not only will you get some much needed clarity on your application, but you’ll also exercise and demonstrate your proactiveness and independence.

What should you do before you call?

If you’re looking for answers, then you don’t want to be a nuisance. It’s generally a good idea to do your own research ahead of time on each college’s admissions website, college forums / message boards, or by talking to others like professional college counselors at your school or elsewhere.

Besides doing research, you should also be collecting a list of questions. You want to be efficient with your time, so you should get all of your questions answered together. Asking your questions one at a time is more time consuming and potentially annoying for the admissions office.

After you’ve done your research but before you make the phone call, we suggest that you email your question first. This is good for a few reasons. First, there’s a decent chance that the college will respond quickly and clearly. In this case, you won’t have to make the phone call anymore! Second, colleges admissions offices definitely prefer email to phone calls because then they can respond at their own pace. Third, it creates a clear reason for why you’re calling. Saying, “I had reached out a week ago with ____ question” is a lot more compelling than simply, “I don’t understand _____.”

Emailing should be extremely quick. We encourage students to have a pre-written template that they can quickly modify and add questions to. Here’s something you can quickly copy and paste into any email you’re sending.

Hello,

My name is [Your Name], and I’m a senior at [Your School]. I’m really interested in [College Name], and I had a few questions about applying.

List your questions here.

Be as specific as possible.

Use examples wherever appropriate.

Thanks so much for your time and attention, and I look forward to your reply.

Warm Regards,
[Your Name]

How do you call?

We’ve already done the hard work for you! Check out our updated College Full List, which now includes phone numbers and emails to the admissions offices of each university. These phone numbers and email addresses will connect you with the general admissions offices for each respective school.

Can’t find your school on our College Full List? No problem, you can also find the contact information on your own. Search up the school’s admissions office and call the number provided. If the school doesn’t list the admissions office, you can also call their main contact number and ask to be connected to someone from the admissions office.

For international students, you’ll want to make sure that you’re calling the admissions office during a time when they are actually open for business. Not all offices open at 9am, so it’ll be your responsibility to double check their open hours before you make the phone call. For example, Berkeley’s admissions office is open from 9am to 4pm Pacific Time, which becomes 12 midnight to 7am Taiwan Time.

What do I say?

Always start by introducing yourself. You might get redirected to different offices, especially if you called their main phone number, so you’ll be talking to people who have no idea who you are. You don’t need to go into your autobiography, but give them an idea of who you are. For example, “Hi, my name is Larry and I’m a senior at Northville High School.” When you arrive at the right person, you’ll want to ask your question (obviously) and then ask any followup questions. Good followups are key because you don’t want to leave the call with an incomplete understanding of what you originally intended to ask. If their response is confusing or unclear, ask them to clarify or to explain it in a different way or to give examples.

Pro Tip: You won’t always be talking to someone who can actually help you, so it’s useful to phrase your question in a way that’s asking for direction instead of the answer. For example, if you’re trying to find the school’s policy on score choice, you might ask, “I’m trying to learn the school’s policy on score choice, and I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction.” Directly asking “What’s your school’s policy on score choice?” might be too direct and off-putting for someone if they don’t know how to help you.

Pro Tip: Your follow-up questions don’t have to be actual questions. They can also be used to clarify or confirm information. For example, you could say, “So what I’m hearing you say is…” and then just repeat back your best understanding of what they just explained. This is a great way to check your own understanding of something that you think is important.

How do I end the conversation?

Thank them (obviously) but also ask them for their contact information if they were helpful. Despite your best efforts, you’ll probably have more questions down the line, and it’ll be useful to have a direct line of communication that you can access for quick responses.

Pro Tip: Don’t be stingy with your thanks. Thank them for specifics like their time, or how much they helped you, or how much better you feel now. These folks have to deal with countless stress-fueled questions, and it’s a rather thankless job. College admissions officers are people too and they appreciate being appreciated.

The bottom line when it comes to contacting schools is that you should JUST DO IT. There’s often a lot of hesitancy and nervousness when it comes to calling strangers, but there’s really no way around it if you want quick and accurate answers. We understand that there’s an age differential and often a language barrier, but your future is worth it. If you complete your application with incomplete or inaccurate information, then your whole application could be discarded or put on hold depending on the severity of your error. Why take that chance when a five minute email and/or a 10 minute phone call can guarantee can get your question fully answered?