哈佛招生訴訟案揭露了哪些秘密

哈佛招生訴訟案揭露了哪些秘密

哈佛招生訴訟案揭露了哪些秘密 1000 1000 Theo Wolf

如果你沒有追蹤哈佛招生訴訟案(Students for Fair Admissions v. Harvard),你可能錯過了美國大學招生領域近幾年最重要的事件之一。法院還沒有為此案做出裁決,但它已經衝擊了哈佛的招生事務,也為大學招生領域帶來更廣泛的影響。這篇文章的目的有三。第一,分析此訴訟案。第二,深入檢視曾經受到嚴密守護的哈佛招生秘密,並告訴你如何提升獲得哈佛錄取的機會。最後,以較為宏觀的角度檢視,在訟訴案之後,哈佛在招生方面做出了什麼樣的改變。

1. 訴訟案的相關基本事實

目前已經有許多十分值得一看的訴訟案摘要(我們推薦New YorkerNPRTimeHarvard CrimsonBloombergHarvard Magazine的這幾篇文章:),我們也不打算再做一次同樣的事。反之,我們會分析此案的相關基本事實。

學生公平入學(Students for Fair Admissions)組織控告哈佛大學,聲稱哈佛的招生政策歧視亞裔美籍學生。學生公平入學並非亞裔美國人組織,而是由保守派運動人士Edward Blum主導,他的目標即為去除美國的積極補償行動(affirmative action)。他的組織曾在2016年的訴訟案中代表Abigail Fisher,指控德州大學歧視白人學生;此案進入了最高法院,但也以Blum敗訴收場。

如果你並沒有密切關注這方面的事務,容我們在此稍加說明。在大學招生的脈胳下,積極補償行動代表大學在招生流程之中,可以將種族列為考量因素之一,以嘉惠代表性不足的少數族群。積極補償行動的目的,就是讓大學招生更為公平;其部分論據即為,由歷史來看,大學招生流程總體而言對較富有的學生有利,而較富有的學生多為白人。不幸的是,目前的情況仍然是如此。在美國,公立學校的資金來源與地產稅連結在一起,SAT成績與家庭收入有高度相關性,此外,學生是否選擇申請菁英大學,亦與他們是否已經認識就讀菁英大學的人有關聯性。

本次訴訟出現,起因於Blum的前一次訴訟雖然敗訴(Fisher案,指控積極補償行動傷害白人學生),但最高法院的裁決也為未來的訴訟保留了空間(特別是亞裔美國人申請者)。這篇文章詳細說明了亞裔美國人和積極補償行動的訴訟歷史,有興趣的話可以一讀。

本次訴訟雖然是在2018年秋季提出,但在本文發表之時尚未做出裁決。這是因為本案為法官審理,是由法官(而非陪審團)做出裁決;外界預期今年就會做出裁決。雖然此案的結果尚未出爐,其訴訟過程也已經能為我們提供大量資訊。

2. 我們得到了哪些資訊

本次訴訟的證據揭示程序(將私人文件列入公開紀錄),使得哈佛必須揭露它保守已久的不公開資訊。明確來說,這讓我們首度得以探入哈佛的招生流程。接下來就是部分重要資訊,以及它們所代表的意義。

哈佛以總體評分為所有的申請者排名,1分為最佳(哈佛的用詞是「傑出──毫無疑問的錄取人選,客觀及主觀表現皆強而有力。」),5分為最差(「否決──資格大多不如其他申請者」)。總體評分是由四個項目的評分決定:學術、課外活動、個人和體育。想獲得合理的錄取機會,學生必須至少在其中一個項目取得2分以上。6年期間內,沒有在至少一個項目取得2分的學生(約佔哈佛總申請人數的1/3),有99.9%遭到拒絕。

學術類別的評分,取決於在校成績、學校的課程強度、SAT/ACT分數、SAT科目測驗以及學術活動,例如數學競賽、科學展覽,或是其他較偏向學術的「課外活動」。約42%的申請者在學術項目取得2分以上的評分;也就是說,根據哈佛對這個項目的定義,近半數哈佛申請者擁有完美或近乎完美的GPA和標準測驗分數。在學術項目取得2分(亦即取得第二高的評分)的學生之中,超過90%遭到拒絕。正因為如此,我們才會強調,不能單只有優秀的成績和測驗分數,並鼓勵學生打造Spike;我們對Spike的定義,即為以強烈的使命感和熱情為基礎、令人驚艷、一般青少年不會從事的活動。想在學術項目取得1分,學生必須是「真正的學者……擁有原創學術成就的可能證據……擁有獲得全國或世界級認可的潛力。」換句話說,學生必須擁有Spike才能獲得1分。少數在學術項目上取得哈佛1分評價的學生(而且在其他項目並未獲得1分),錄取率接近70%──幾乎就和受召募運動員的錄取率一樣高。

課外活動的定義為學生參與的非學術活動,例如音樂、藝術、社團、志工、工作、實習或家庭相關責任(例如照顧生病的家長、照顧年幼弟妹等)。高課外活動評分,比高學術評分少見得多;課外活動項目取得2分的學生人數,幾乎只有學術項目2分學生的一半。這是因為太多學在卡在平凡的3分,其定義為「參與程度佳,但沒有特別優秀之處」;就算是擁有領導經驗的學生,也常會落入這一類。想在課外活動項目取得1分評價(在哈佛的錄取接近50%),學生需要「有潛力達成全國水準的成就或專業經驗……真正的獨特成就。」再一次,想取得這樣的成就,就需要Spike

個人評分的目的是評估「學生在哈佛及畢業之後可能會對其他人產生的影響」。這是個相當主觀的項目,其依據為學生的推薦信和個人陳述。這也是目前訟訴中最爭議性的項目,因為亞裔美籍哈佛申請者在這個項目的平均評分較低;哈佛招生辦公室主任William Fitzsimmons在訴訟中指出,其原因在於,亞裔申請者獲得的推薦信通常不如白人申請者。這與幾項學術研究的發現相符,亦即有色人種學生常是教師內在偏見的受害者。然而,這也可能是種比較含蓄的說法,代表哈佛認定,亞裔美籍申請者在社群參與方面的表現較不亮眼;亦有幾項研究顯示,亞裔美籍學生傾向於將學術表現列為優先,且社會參與程度不如白人學生。

除了亞裔美籍學生的平均得分較低之外,對所有學生來說,在個人項目取得高分都困難得多。長達6年的哈佛招生期間之中,只有不到50位學生在個人項目取得1分(而且在其他項目並未獲得1分);部分原因即為哈佛為1分評價定下了嚴苛的標準:「學生可能是在面對看似難以克服的人生阻礙之時,展現了巨大的勇氣……學生獲得了推薦者毫無保留的支持。」最後一句話,特別能解釋為何只有極少數學生能獲得最高評分。推薦信的重點不是只有推薦者給予你的評價,還包括推薦者的寫作能力、推薦者對你的了解程度、推薦者還為多少人寫推薦信,以及各種看似不重要的因素。事實上,推薦信正是國際學生錄取率低於美國學生的重要成因之一

個人項目或許是最能得益於Spike的項目,因為Spike證明學生有心改變自身的社群,亦展現了熱情和領導能力。你可以看一看我們學生的故事,進一步了解他們發揮了什麼樣的影響力。

哈佛評鑑系統的最後一個項目為體育。這是個獨特的項目,其定義取決於申請者如何歸類自身參與的活動,也就是說,如果學生參加了某項運動,但稱之為「課外活動」,那這項運動就會算入課外活動評分;如果學生稱之為「體育」,它就會算入這個項目。在體育項目獲得1分評價的學生,擁有最高的錄取率(88%),部分原因即為這類學生大多是由體育教練召募(近期的大學招生醜聞,就與運動員召募的方式有關)。哈佛對1分評價的定義為「極有機會成為哈佛運動代表隊的成員,可能是哈佛教練屬意的人選,或是在個別體育項目上獲得全國、國際或奧運會水準的認可。」沒錯,想在這個項目獲得1分,學生基本上得到達奧運會的水準。對這些學生來說,體育就是他們的Spike;他們每週在體育上投入的時間,就和成人在全職工作上投入的時間一樣多。對於擁有體育天份的學生來說,這或許是個誘人又可行的入學之道,然而,在學業和體育之間取得平衡極為困難,風險也非常大。一次受傷,就有可能使學生失去大學的門票,甚至是帶來更糟糕的後果(包括持續一生的健康代價)。受傷十分常見(明確來說,腦震盪佔運動傷害的20-25%),專精於單一運動項目(通常也是靠此項目獲得召募)的學生,嚴重受傷的機會高出70%。此外,選擇這條路的學生會獲得極為不同的大學經驗,因為他們獲得錄取的條件,就是代表學校參與體育競賽。

一如個人項目,平均而言,亞裔美國人在體育項目的評分亦遠低於白人申請者。哈佛訴訟案並未解釋此差異,但先前的研究顯示,亞裔美籍學生運動員的人數非常少;全美大學體育協會(NCAA)追蹤的人口統計數據顯示,美國最普及的運動項目中(美式足球、籃球、棒球和冰上曲棍球),只有不到1%的學生運動員為亞裔美國人。

你可以做什麼

除了揭露哈佛招生系統的全貌外,本次訴訟亦提供了大量有趣的資訊。舉例來說,學術項目獲得2分的學生之中,擁有優質非學術評分白人學生,人數幾乎是亞裔美籍學生的2倍;這正是我們聚焦於打造Spike(但也不是只注重此事)的一大部分原因,我們希望藉此發展亞洲和亞裔美籍高中生的非學術能力。

另一個有趣的資訊就是,亞裔美國人常居於較多學生就讀菁英大學的區域,例如新英格蘭、加州、紐約等。由於大學追求地理多元性,居於蒙大拿、懷俄明等地的人數較少,也對亞裔美籍學生產生了負面影響。

因此,如果你想盡一切可能提升獲得哈佛錄取的機會(而且不以成為奧運會運動員為目標),接下來就是你可以嘗試的做法:

    1. 取得優秀的在校及標準測驗成績(高到足以在學術項目取得2分評價)
    2. 以你充滿熱情的事物為基礎,打造能夠在真實世界發揮影響力的Spike,以協助提升你的非學術(課外活動與個人)評分
    3. 在高中期間與師長發展緊密又正面的關係,取得一流的推薦信,儘可能提高你的個人評分
    4. 移居至美國的偏遠地區(開玩笑的啦)

我們會在研討會中,為學生和家長提供更多這類重要資訊及建議,想要進一步了解,可以參加我們的研討會或是預約免費諮詢

3. 目前的情況為何

雖然法庭尚未做出裁決,但哈佛似乎已經從本次訴訟中汲取了教訓。單是觀察哈佛的招生統計數據,就能發現此事。

今年,哈佛錄取的亞裔申請者比例達歷史新高25.4%,較去年的22.7%提升許多。怎麼樣的數字才算是真正的「無視種族」,實在難以確知,因為在招生之時不考量種族的一流大學,大多為公立或工程學校。最能與哈佛類比的,就是另一所一流私人大學Rice University。Rice採行無視種族的招生政策,獲得錄取的申請者之中有27%為亞裔學生,與哈佛今年的數字相當接近。

這究竟代表什麼呢?哈佛的招生內部閱讀指導方針確切指出,「除了總體評分外,閱讀者在進行任何評分之時,皆不該考量申請者的人種或種族。」這份指導方針也明確強調,種族不該影響個人評分。話雖如此,亞裔學生錄取率突然上升,必定有其原因。很可能,這次訴訟迫使哈佛更仔細地考量亞裔申請者的推薦信。我們已經在先前的文章中談過大學招生領域的「亞洲稅」;我們在這個議題上的立場並未改變,亦即,我們認為大學必須投入更多心力,確保它們並未歧視(無論知情與否)亞裔美國人,但目前看來,哈佛似乎已經開始處理導致本次訴訟的問題。

其他大學很可能還需要一段時間,才能跟上哈佛的腳步並做出調整,但我們預期,本次訴訟必定會改變大學招生。YaleUNC等大學已然面臨更加嚴格的檢視,兩大招生諮詢專業組織NACAC(美國大學招生諮詢協會)和IACAC(國際大學招生諮詢協會),也在2019年的大會(我們都會參加!)中舉行了亞裔美籍學生招生的專題討論。

無論訟訴的裁決為何,大學在招生時對待亞裔美國人的方式已經開始改變。

記得,本次訴訟和這篇文章主要與亞裔美籍申請者有關,而非來自亞洲的國際申請者。正如我們在這篇文章所述,申請美國大學的國際學生,依然得面臨嚴苛的考驗。

How To Get Into Harvard: Lessons from the Harvard Trial

How To Get Into Harvard: Lessons from the Harvard Trial

How To Get Into Harvard: Lessons from the Harvard Trial 1000 540 Theo Wolf

If you’re not following the Harvard trial (Students for Fair Admissions v. Harvard), you’re missing out on one of the most important events in the world of US college admissions in years. A decision has not yet been reached in the trial, but it has already impacted Harvard’s admissions and, consequently, the field of college admissions more broadly. This post will do three things. First, it will break down exactly what the trial is about. Second, it will take an inside look at some of Harvard’s most heavily guarded admissions secrets and provide recommendations for what you can do to best increase your chances of getting into Harvard. Lastly, it will take a broader look at how Harvard has changed its processes since the trial.

1. The Basics of the Trial

There are many stellar summaries of the trial out there already (here are links to some articles that we recommend), so we’re not going to reinvent the wheel here. Instead, we’ll give a breakdown of the basics.

Students for Fair Admissions is suing Harvard College, claiming that its admissions policies discriminate against Asian-American students. Students for Fair Admissions is not an Asian-American organization, but is run by conservative activist Edward Blum whose goal is to dismantle affirmative action in America. His organization previously represented Abigail Fisher in the 2016 case that made it to the Supreme Court (where he ultimately lost), alleging that the University of Texas discriminated against white students.

For those who don’t follow this world too closely, affirmative action in the context of college admissions means that colleges can consider race as one factor in the college admissions process in order to benefit underrepresented minorities. The idea behind affirmative action was to make college admissions more equitable. Part of the reasoning behind it is that the college admissions process as a whole has historically favored wealthier students, who tend to be predominantly white. This is still, unfortunately, the case. Funding for public schools is linked to property taxes in America, the SAT correlates closely with family income, and the likelihood of students applying to elite colleges is tied to whether they already know someone who has attended an elite college.

The reason the lawsuit exists is because Blum’s previous lawsuit (Fisher), which alleged that affirmative action hurts white students, lost, but the decision that the Supreme Court came to left future challenges open (particularly around Asian-American applicants). This article offers a good explainer on the history of lawsuits around Asian-Americans and affirmative action, if that’s of interest.

Though the trial was in fall of 2018, no decision has been reached yet as of the publishing of this article. That’s because it is a bench trial, where a judge (rather than a jury) issues a verdict. It’s expected that the decision will be released sometime this year. In spite of no decision having been issued, we have already learned huge amounts from the trial’s proceedings.

2. What We’ve Learned

As a result of the discovery process for the trial (when private documents are placed in the public record), information that has been hidden for years behind Harvard’s closed doors is now available for view. Specifically, we’re able to get an unprecedented look inside Harvard’s admissions process. Here are some of those findings and the key takeaways from them.

Harvard ranks all applicants with an overall rating, 1 being the best possible (in their words “Exceptional – a clear admit with very strong objective and subjective support”) and 5 being the worst (“Negative – Credentials are generally below other applicants”). That overall rating is determined based on four separate category ratings: Academic, Extracurricular, Personal, and Athletic. In order to have a reasonable chance of acceptance to Harvard, students need to achieve a 2 or better in at least one of these categories. Over the course of six years, 99.9% of students who didn’t score at least one 2 rating (about ⅓ of Harvard’s applicants total) were rejected.

The Academic category is defined by grades, rigor of school, SAT/ACT scores, SAT subject tests, and academic activities like math competitions, science fairs, or other more academic-oriented “extracurriculars.” About 42% of applicants receive a 2 or higher on the Academic section, which means that based on Harvard’s definition for the category, nearly half of Harvard’s applicants have perfect or near-perfect GPAs and test scores. Of students who receive a 2 on Academics (the second-highest rating possible), more than 90% are rejected. This is why it’s so important to do more than just get great grades and test scores, and why we encourage building a Spike, which we define as an impressive, non-teenage activity built on a strong sense of purpose and passion. In order to achieve a 1 in the Academic section, students need to be “a genuine scholar… [with] possible evidence of original scholarship… Possible national or international level recognition.” In other words, in order to score a 1, students need a Spike. Those few who manage to achieve a 1 in Harvard’s academic rating (without any other 1s) are accepted to Harvard nearly 70% of the time – which is almost as high as the acceptance rate for recruited athletes.

Extracurriculars are defined as the various non-academic activities students participate in, such as music, art, clubs, volunteering, jobs, internships, or family-related responsibilities (for instance, taking care of a sick parent or a younger sibling). High Extracurricular ratings are much rarer than high Academic ratings – almost half as many students score an Extracurricular 2 than an Academic 2. This is because so many students get stuck with a dull 3 rating, which is defined as “Solid participation, without special distinction.” Even students with leadership experience often fall into this category. In order to achieve a 1 in Extracurriculars (and with it a nearly 50% acceptance chance at Harvard), students need “Possible national-level achievement or professional experience… Truly unusual achievement.” Again, in order to reach that level of achievement, students need a Spike.

The Personal rating is meant to be an assessment of “what kind of effect the student might have on others at Harvard or beyond.” This is a mostly subjective category, based on students’ recommendation letters and personal statements. It is also the most controversial category in the current trial, because on average Asian-American applicants to Harvard were found to have received lower Personal ratings. In the trial, Harvard Dean of Admissions William Fitzsimmons argued that the reason behind this is that Asian applicants tend to receive worse letters of recommendation than white applicants. This is in line with the findings of several academic studies, which have shown that students of color are often victims of teachers’ internal biases. However, this could also be Harvard’s veiled way of saying that Asian-American applicants tend to have less impressive involvement in their communities, which is consistent with studies showing that Asian-American students tend to prioritize academics and are less socially engaged than white students.

Beyond Asian-Americans receiving lower ratings on average, the Personal rating is a much harder category for students to do well in across the board. Over the course of six years of admissions at Harvard, fewer than 50 students achieved a 1 personal rating (with no other 1s). This is in part due to the rigorous standards to which Harvard holds a 1: “Student may display enormous courage in the face of seemingly insurmountable obstacles in life… Student receives unqualified and unwavering support from their recommenders.” That last sentence in particular explains why so few students are able to achieve the top personal rating. Recommendation letters rely not just on how highly a recommender thinks of you, but also on that recommender’s writing ability, how well they know you, how many other recommendations they’re writing, and a variety of other seemingly trivial factors. Recommendation letters are actually a large part of why international students have lower acceptance rates than US students.

The Personal section perhaps benefits the most from a Spike, since it proves that students are interested in making a difference in their community, and shows both compassion and leadership. See our Student Stories page to learn more about the types of impact our students are having.

The last category in Harvard’s assessment system is Athletics. This is a unique category, in that it is defined by how applicants themselves choose to classify their activities. That is, if a student is involved in a sport but calls it an “extracurricular,” it counts for the extracurricular rating; whereas if a student calls it a “sport,” it counts toward this rating. Students who score a 1 in Athletics have the highest acceptance rate (88%) of all, in part because most are recruited by athletic coaches (for those following the admissions scandal, it was related to the way athletic recruitment works). Harvard defines a 1 as “Unusually strong prospect for varsity sports at Harvard, possibly desired by Harvard coaches or recognition for individual athletic achievement/championships at the national, international or Olympic level.” That’s right, to earn a 1 students have to essentially be on the Olympic level. For these students, their athletics are their Spike. They put the same amount of time into their sports per week that many adults put into full-time jobs. While this may be both a tempting and viable route to admission for students with athletic talent, it is incredibly difficult to balance school with athletics and the risks are huge. One injury can cause a student to lose their ticket to college or worse (including life-time health repercussions). These injuries are incredibly common (in particular, concussions account for between 20-25% of sports injuries) and students who specialize in one sport (who are often the ones getting recruited) are 70% more likely to encounter a serious injury. Additionally, students who go this path have a very different college experience, because their acceptance is contingent on them competing for the school.

Like the Personal rating, Asian-Americans on average also tend to have much lower Athletic ratings than white applicants. The Harvard trial didn’t explain this gap, but previous research has simply shown that there are far fewer Asian-American student athletes. The NCAA tracks demographic statistics and has found that fewer than 1% of student athletes in the most common American sports (football, basketball, baseball, hockey) are Asian-American.

What You Can Do

Beyond understanding the overall admissions system of Harvard, there are a huge number of interesting takeaways that have come out of the trial. For instance, of the students scoring a 2 academic rating, nearly twice as many white students have a strong non-academic rating compared with Asian-American students. This in particular is a large part of why we focus primarily (but not exclusively) on developing the non-academic strength of Asian and Asian-American high school students by building Spikes.

Another interesting takeaway is that Asian-Americans are more likely to live in major cities and regions of the country that have more students attending elite colleges (New England, California, New York, etc). Colleges strive for geographic diversity, so Asian-Americans are hurt by lower populations in states like Montana, Wyoming, and more.

So if you wanted to do everything possible you could to maximize your chances of admission at Harvard (without becoming an Olympic athlete) here’s what you would do:

    1. Get great grades and tests scores (high enough to score a 2 in academics)
    2. Build a Spike grounded in your passion that creates real-world impact, which would help develop the non-academic (Extracurricular + Personal) side of your profile
    3. Develop close, positive relationships with your teachers over the course of high school and get excellent letters of recommendation from them to ensure that your Personal rating can be as high as possible
    4. Move to a remote part of America (just kidding)

These takeaways are a taste of the advice we give students and parents alike in our seminars. If you want to learn more, attend one of our seminars or schedule a free consultation.

3. Where We Are Now

It appears that despite no judgment being rendered yet, Harvard is already learning lessons from the trial. We can see this in their admissions statistics alone.

This year, Harvard admitted a record share of Asian applicants, 25.4%, up from 22.7% last year. It’s hard to know what the official numbers would be with truly “race-blind” admissions, since the majority of top colleges that don’t consider race in admissions are either public or engineering schools. The closest parallel to Harvard is Rice University, another top-tier private institution. With race-blind admissions, 27% of admitted applicants at Rice are Asian, which is nearly in line with Harvard’s admissions numbers this year.

So what does this mean exactly? Harvard’s internal reading guidelines for admissions very clearly says that “readers should not take an applicant’s race or ethnicity into account in making any of the ratings other than the Overall rating.” For the Personal rating section, it also makes it clear that race should not be a factor in assigning that rating. That said, something has to explain the sudden increase in accepted Asian students. The trial has most likely forced Harvard to weigh the letters of recommendation for Asian applicants more carefully in their consideration. We’ve previously written about the “Asian tax” in college admissions. Our position on this issue has not changed in that we think colleges need to do more to ensure that they’re not (whether knowingly or not) discriminating against Asian-American populations, but it does really look like Harvard is starting to address the issues that led to this lawsuit in the first place.

It will likely take some time before colleges start to catch up to Harvard’s adjustment, but we expect to see changes happening across the college admissions landscape as a result of the trial. Yale, UNC, and other schools are already coming under increased scrutiny. Both NACAC (National Association of College Admissions Counseling) and IACAC (International Association for College Admissions Counseling), the two largest professional organizations for admissions advising, have panels dedicated to Asian-American admissions at their 2019 conferences (which we’ll be attending!).

Regardless of how the judge rules in this trial, college admissions for Asian-Americans has already started to shift.

Please note, this trial and post is primarily about Asian-American applicants, not international Asian applicants. International applicants still face a severe uphill climb in college admissions, which we detail here.