• COVID-19相關公告: 我們的教練課程全數透過線上授課,未受本次危機影響。

申請大學時,如何優化你的數位足跡?

申請大學時,如何優化你的數位足跡?

申請大學時,如何優化你的數位足跡? 1280 384 Theo Wolf

 社群媒體顧問和招生人員都同意,青少年不該害怕在網路上發表評論或張貼照片──大學並不會細讀每一篇貼文、尋找拒絕錄取學生的理由。反之,它們希望能更了解你,因此,你也應該讓它們有東西可看。

接下來我們就會告訴你,該怎麼做才能確保線上足跡有助申請大學,而不是帶來負面效果。

Google自己。大學的假設是,預測未來行為的最佳方式,就是過去的行為。在網路上搜尋你的名字,看看招生人員會見到什麼;最需要重視的,就是出現在搜尋結果第一頁的連結。

尋找並移除問題內容。掃視你所有的社群媒體帳號,以及你在Google自己的名字時出現的一切內容。如果有看起來不太好、或是對大學來說有如警訊的事物,下一步就是思考如何處理這些問題內容(亦即消除、編輯或隱藏它們)。

如果你不太確定怎麼樣才算是「問題內容」,你可以問自己「我願意主動讓我的父母和祖父母看到它嗎?」如果心中有些疑慮,或許就不該讓所有人都能看到它。2017年春季,哈佛大學撤回了10個人的錄取資格,因為這些獲得錄取的學生,在他們認定為私密的Facebook聊天群組中發表十分冒犯人的玩笑。另一位學生將這個聊天群組的消息告知招生單位,招生單位亦要求參與聊天群組的學生,提供他們在群組中分享的一切事物。

請他人協助掃瞄你的數位足跡。最常見的做法就是請家長幫忙;請他們Google你的名字、看看能找到什麼。另一個方法,就是和朋友來場數位足跡清理活動;你們可以在放學後或週末,花費幾小時互相檢視數位足跡。如果你是我們的學生,也可以請你的教練幫忙。

了解隱私設定。這和上一段有關,許多社群媒體使用者會調整Facebook、Instagram等平台上的隱私設定,但也不見得了解這些設定會產生的效果。Jennifer Gayles(Sarah Lawrence College的招生主任)表示,「學生只是假定,只要他們覺得某些內容是私密,或是將內容設為私密,就永遠不會有人看到。但我們知道,情況不一定是如此。」

舉例來說,就算你將Facebook相簿設為只有自己能看到,你在相片中標籤的人還是可以看到那張相片。也就是說,他們可以儲存並再次分享那張照片。Facebook有個「檢視角度」(View As)功能,讓你可以從公開或特定使用者的角度,檢視你的個人資料。另一個做法就是暫時解除與某個朋友的Facebook朋友關係,再從對方的帳號檢視你的個人資料,了解平台上的其他使用者可以看到什麼。

利用社群媒體向大學和世界展現你自己。除了清理數位足跡之外,你也得讓大學知道你是什麼樣的人:你的強項、想法、旅程和成就。招生人員喜歡活力十足、積極投入自身社群的申請者,因此,完全清空你的線上足跡,對大學來說同樣也是警訊!最棒的申請者會擁有豐富的數位足跡,而且這些數位足跡會暗示,他們在學校十分活躍,未來也能對大學社群有所貢獻。如果你創立了企業或社團、贏得獎項、作品參與展覽,或是有任何其他成就,務必在網路上反映它們。我們建議寫部落格,並在部落格中紀錄你的成就,以及你的旅程和一路上學到的事物。大學喜歡擁有傑出成就的學生,但通常也同樣喜歡大膽失敗的學生,重點在於,你得展示你的旅程,證明你已經從失敗(或成就)中學得教訓,而最棒的方式就是部落格。老實說,媒體報導當然更好,但獲得媒體報導並不容易(特別是你失敗的時候)。

我們也建議建立LinkedIn帳號,展示你的成就和經驗、展現自己最好的一面。LinkedIn是打造線上形象的好方法,因為Google通常會將LinkedIn的資料放在搜尋結果的最前方──排在那些你可能不是那麼想展示的內容之前。

檢視故事一致性如果大學申請文件似乎與線上資料不符,對大學來說會是重大警訊。舉例來說,如果你表示自己對貧窮和財富不均議題充滿熱情,另一方面,你在Facebook上相當活躍,卻也從來沒有張貼或按讚過與這些主題相關的事物,可能就會引來一些質疑。思考你對大學呈現的自己,然後檢視你的線上資料是否有充份反映那樣的你。

申請大學是個優化數位足跡的好理由,但一般來說,這本身就是種很好的練習,原因在於,未來必定會有人為了各種不同的理由(實習、暑期課程、工作、朋友、潛在男/女朋友等等),去網路上搜尋你的資訊。感覺起來,每週似乎都會有這樣的新聞:某個人因為自己在社群媒體留下的足跡而失去了工作。花個幾小時,好好優化你的數位足跡吧。

How to Optimize Your Digital Footprint for College Applications

How to Optimize Your Digital Footprint for College Applications

How to Optimize Your Digital Footprint for College Applications 1280 384 Lloyd Nimetz

 

Social media consultants and admissions officers agree that teens should not be afraid to post comments and photos online — colleges are not poring through posts to find reasons to reject students. Instead, they are looking to learn more about you, so give them something to see.

Here’s what students can do to ensure that their online footprint will enhance their college application and not undermine it.

Google yourself. Colleges operate under the assumption that the best predictor of future behavior is past behavior. Search your name online to learn what admissions officers will see, paying special attention to the links on the first page of results.

Scan for and Remove Questionable Content. Scan through all your social media accounts and any content that comes up when searching your name in Google. If there is anything that doesn’t look good or would create a red flag for colleges, then see what you can do to fix the situation (i.e. erasing, editing, hiding).

If you’re wondering what exactly counts as “questionable,” ask yourself, “Would I be comfortable showing it to my parents and grandparents?” If you have a concern, then you probably don’t want it to be publicly viewable. Harvard rescinded 10 admissions offers in spring 2017 after prospective students made offensive jokes in a Facebook chat that students believed to be private. Another student informed admissions about the chat, and the participating students were asked to submit everything they had shared.

Get help scanning your digital footprint. It’s most common for students to ask their parents for help. Have them Google you and see what they find. Another approach is to organize a digital footprint cleanse with friends where you get together after school or on the weekend for a few hours to review each others’ digital footprints checking for improprieties. If you’re one of our students, you might also ask your coach to help.

Learn about privacy settings. This relates to the above section. Many social media users adjust the privacy settings on Facebook, Instagram, and other platforms, but they don’t always understand what those settings do. “Students just make the assumption that if they feel something is private, or if they’ve made it private, that no one will ever be able to see it,” Jennifer Gayles (Director of Admissions at Sarah Lawrence College) says. “We know that that isn’t always the case.”

For instance, even if you set Facebook photo albums to be viewable only by you, anyone you tag in a picture can still see it. And that means they can save the photograph and then share it separately. Facebook has a “View As” feature that shows you what your profile will look like to the public or to a specific Facebook user. Another tactic is to temporarily “unfriend” one of your peers, then look up your profile from their account to learn what other users of the platform can see.

Use social media to showcase yourself to colleges and to the world. Don’t just cleanse your digital footprint. You also need to make sure to show them who you are: your strengths, your voice, your journey and your achievements. Admissions officers want applicants who are dynamic and engaged in their community so cleansing everything from your online profile is also a red flag! The best applicants have rich digital footprints indicating that they have been active in grade school and will be good contributors to the college community. If you started something like a business or club, if you’ve won awards, had your art showcased, or achieved anything else, then make sure it is reflected online. We recommend keeping a blog where you document your achievements, and especially your journey and learnings along the way. Students forget that colleges often like students who have failed boldly as much as students with great achievements, but you need to show the journey to prove that you’ve learned from said failure (or achievement) and the best way is through a blog. Well, to be honest, press coverage is even better, but that’s not easy to get (especially when you fail).

We also recommend creating a LinkedIn account, where you can present your accomplishments and experience, putting your best foot forward. LinkedIn is a great way to build your online presence because Google pushes it to the top of its search results — ahead of content you may be less eager to promote.

Check for Story Alignment. One big flag for colleges is if your college application seems inconsistent with your online profile. For example, if you say you’re deeply passionate about issues of poverty and inequality, but if you’re active on Facebook and have never posted or liked anything related to those topics, then that might raise some questions. Think about how you’re presenting yourself to colleges and then check to see if your online profiles reflect that adequately.

College applications are a great excuse to optimize your digital footprint, but it’s a great exercise in general, since people will always be checking you out online for different reasons (internships, summer programs, jobs, friends, potential boy/girlfriends, etc). Every week it feels as though there’s a different news story about someone losing their job because of these very issues relating to social media. So take a few hours and do it right.

Lloyd Nimetz

Serial entrepreneur, educator, investor, milonguero, dog-lover and Coach, Founder & CEO of The Spike Lab

Read more by: Lloyd Nimetz