如何選擇你的「突出之處」

如何選擇你的「突出之處」

如何選擇你的「突出之處」 800 272 Theo Wolf

弄清楚你所熱衷的事物、想出具有潛力的突出之處後,你可能會納悶:「我怎麼知道哪個突出之處值得花時間培養?」一般來說,The Spike Lab指導的學生在作出決定之前,通常會想出大約100個點子。想出這麼多具備潛力的突出之處並不容易,但從這些點子中去蕪存菁、選出一個來培養,其實更具挑戰性。為了幫助學生選出最棒的突出之處,我們發展了一套評斷準則,來評估每個點子究竟有多好,而在The Spike Lab,我們喜歡稱之為每個點子的「突出程度」(Spikeyness)。

要評估「突出程度」,首先得利用一系列問題逐一審視每個突出之處;先判斷這些點子是否達到基本門檻,再評估它能否讓大學留下深刻印象。

基本門檻

激勵

最重要的考量因素就是:「我到底有多喜歡這個點子?」你是不是忍不住想立刻開始?它能否激勵你、讓你覺得活力十足?如果不行,它就不夠「突出」,應該從清單上刪掉。

相配

第二重要的考量因素,則是它是否能與你的故事相互搭配。這個點子能強化你的故事嗎?如果你還沒有故事,可以參考我們的另一篇文章,看看如何打造好故事。故事就像是你的北極星,突出之處則是故事的核心,如果突出之處和故事無法互輝映,就有可能讓你的突出之處顯得沒有章法、令人困惑,以及最糟糕的──過目即忘。無法與故事相配,就算不上突出之處,因此,你可以想辦法讓它與故事相互搭配,也可以把它從清單中刪掉。

明確

你到底要為了這個突出之處做什麼?等到你申請大學之時,又會得到什麼樣的成果?每一個優秀的突出之處,在碰到前述問題之時,都要有非常明確的答案。學生常會以範圍寬廣的目標為始,例如「協助他人」、「改變世界」等,但這些目標都不夠明確。你聚焦的突出之處,必須擁有明確且可以達成的目標;此外,擁有明確的目標,通常代表這個點子經過仔細思考,成功機會也比較高。如果某個點子不夠明確,就讓它更為明確,或是把它從清單中刪掉。

經驗

你的突出之處,是否屬於某個你已經有經驗的領域?許多高中生會吸收各種各樣的想法和主題,但也沒有相關的實務經驗。然而,以突出之處而言,你應該選擇你有熱情也有經驗的主題。舉例來說,某個學生也許很想打造網站,卻從來沒有學過寫程式,對這個學生來說,以打建全新行動應用程式作為突出之處,風險實在太高,因為他/她目前並沒有寫程式的經驗。如果你現在沒有與突出之處相關的經驗,那它就算不上「突出」,應該把它從清單中劃掉。

經驗如此重要的主因有二,而且二者都與時間有關。其一,深入學習新事物需要時間;打造突出之處非常花時間,學習相關的基礎技能同樣需要非常多時間,除非你現在是國二或國三,你很有可能沒有足夠的時間達成亮眼的成就。第二個原因則是,決定放棄現有目標、轉而追尋另一個突出之處,也需要時間。如果你對某個領域的興趣缺乏實際經驗的背書,一段時間之後,你可能會發現自己其實對那個領域並不是真的那麼有興趣;而在許多情況下,你已經沒有足夠的時間,無法在開始申請大學之前好好發展新的突出之處。

驚艷

某個點子滿足基本門檻之後,就可以利用「突出程度」來評估它能否讓大學招生人員留下深刻印象。什麼樣的點子可以讓人留下印象?什麼樣的點子特別令人驚艷?驚艷出自兩大主要元素:衝擊力和獨特性。

衝擊力

驚艷主要出自衝擊力,衝擊力則有兩大核心元素:機構認證和市場認可。

  • 機構認證:你的成就是否獲得了現有組織的認證?(例如國際數學奧林匹亞冠軍)
  • 市場認可:你的成就是否獲得了其他人的認可?(例如部落格擁有1,000萬月瀏覽量)

這兩個元素並不衝突,任何成就都有可能同時具備機構認證和市場認可。舉例而言,如果某位學生寫作並出版了一本書,他/她或許可以同時贏得當地獎項(機構認證),並擁有上百萬銷售量(市場認可)。

獨特性

The Spike Lab非常重視獨特性。兼具獨特性和衝擊力的突出之處,當然最為理想,但由於獨特突出之處的本質使然,它不一定要擁有強大的衝擊力,也不一定得展現極高的才華。例如,有個學生的突出之處,是建立非營利組織,為流浪人士設計並製造可以變為睡袋的外套。這個突出之處極為獨特,它不必影響數百萬人、不必贏得知名時尚獎項,就有辦法抓注大學招生人員的眼光。事實上,我們認為獨時性極為重要,重要到必須將它列為「突出程度」的考量之一,因為它可以大幅提升突出之處的驚艷程度。

討論驚艷的突出之處,就得先面對那個許多人避談的事:恐懼。心中浮現「但這會非常非常難!」、「我真的可以辦到嗎?」等想法,是非常正常的反應,同時也代表你的突出之處擁有足夠的驚艷程度。換句話說,如果你不擔心自己能否實現目標,可能代表你沒有足夠的雄心壯志。突出之處愈是令人印象深刻,自然愈嚇人,因為那會逼你走出舒適圈。另一方面,你也不能把目標訂得太高,高到不可能實現。在可行性和足以讓大學驚艷之間取得平衡,比較接近某種藝術而非科學。盡你所得地找出平衡點,並尋找其他較有經驗的人,請他們擔任你的教練或是為你指引方向吧。

總結:列出所有滿足前述基本門檻的突出之處,然後挑出那個獨特性和潛在衝擊力綜合水準最高、最能讓人驚艷的點子吧。

How To Pick Your Spike

How To Pick Your Spike

How To Pick Your Spike 800 272 Larry Liu

After figuring out what you’re really passionate about and brainstorming possible Spike ideas, you’re probably asking yourself: “but how do I know which is the best Spike to pursue?” The typical student we coach at The Spike Lab will brainstorm almost a hundred ideas before picking one to focus on. Even though the process of ideating so many Spike ideas is difficult, it is usually even more challenging to narrow down the choices to pick the best one to pursue. To help our students pick the best Spike, we’ve developed a set of guidelines to gauge, what we at The Spike Lab affectionately call, the “Spikeyness” of each idea. “Spikeyness” is our measure of how good each idea is.

To evaluate “Spikeyness”, we first put each Spike idea through a series of questions to see whether it meets a basic quality threshold, and then we evaluate how impressive it will be to colleges.

Basic Thresholds

Energizing

The most important thing to consider is, “How excited am I about this idea?” Are you itching and eager to start working on this idea right away? Does it energize you? If not, then it’s not “Spikey” and strike it off the list.

Aligned

The second most important thing to consider is alignment with your Story. Does your Spike idea reinforce your Story? If you haven’t yet, check out our other post about crafting a good Story. Your Story is like your North Star, and your Spike is the centerpiece of your Story. Without this clear alignment between your Spike and Story, you’ll run the risk of your Spike coming off as random, confusing, and worst of all, forgettable. If it’s not aligned, then it’s not Spikey so either find a way to get it aligned or strike it off the list.

Specific

Is it clear exactly what you’ll be doing for your Spike and what the expected outcomes are by the time you apply for college? For very good Spikes, the answers to these questions are very specific. It’s common for students to start with broad, wide-sweeping goals like “helping people” or “changing the world”, but those aren’t specific enough. Focus on Spike ideas that have clear and achievable target outcomes. More specifics also mean that the idea is usually more thought out and therefore more likely to be successful. If an idea is not specific enough, then make it more specific or strike it off the list.

Current

Is your Spike in an area that you already have some experience with? In High School, many students are exposed to ideas and topics without being given real hands-on experience with them. But for your Spike, you’ll want to pick a topic that you not only have passion for but also have experience with. For example, a student might be passionate about building websites but never learned to program. It would be risky for this student to pursue a Spike building a new mobile app idea because of his or her lack of current programming experience. If you don’t have enough current experience in the area of your Spike, then it’s not “Spikey”, and you should strike it off the list.

There are two main reasons why current experience is so important, and both of them have to do with time. First is the time it takes to learn a new thing in a deep and meaningful way. Building out a Spike takes a LOT of time and learning the foundational skills along the way also takes a LOT of time. Unless you’re an 8th or 9th grader, you run the risk of simply running out of time to achieve something really impressive. The second reason is the time it takes to switch between Spikes if you decide to quit on the first one. If your interest in the particular field isn’t yet validated by real experience, you run the risk of discovering that you’re not actually very interested in that field in the first place. In many cases, you won’t actually have enough time to thoroughly develop a new Spike before it’s time to start applying for college.

Impressiveness

If the idea meets all of these quality thresholds, then “Spikeyness” is a measure of how impressive it is to college admissions. What makes an idea impressive, and which ideas are more impressive than others? Impressiveness is driven by a two primary factors: impact and uniqueness.

Impact

The main part of the impressive equation comes from impact, which is driven by two core factors: institutional credential and market traction.

  • Institutional Credential. Is your achievement validated by an existing organization? (e.g. First place in a global Math Olympiad)
  • Market Traction. Is your achievement validated by real people? (e.g. 10 million views per month on a blog)

These two factors are not mutually exclusive. Any given achievement could have some institutional credential and some market traction. For example, if a student authors and publishes a book, she might win a local writing award (institutional credential) and go on to sell a million copies (market traction).

Uniqueness

At The Spike Lab, we put a lot of emphasis on uniqueness. Obviously, Spikes that are both unique and impactful are ideal, but because of their nature, unique Spikes don’t necessarily have to be as impactful or demonstrate extreme levels of talent. For example, a Spike where a student creates a nonprofit that designs and manufactures jackets for the homeless that can turn into sleeping bags is highly unique. It doesn’t necessarily need to impact millions of people or win any prestigious fashion awards to catch the eye of college admissions. In fact, we think uniqueness is so important that we use it as an exponent in our “Spikeyness” formula because it can exponentially increase the impressiveness of your Spike.

When talking about impressive Spikes, it’s important to address the elephant in the room: fear. It’s completely natural to immediately start thinking, “but this is going to be so hard!” or “am I even able to pull this off?” These are totally normal responses and are actually a great sign that your Spike is sufficiently impressive. In other words, if you’re not worried about pulling off your Spike idea, then it’s probably not ambitious enough! The more impressive the Spike idea, the scarier it is to think about because it’s outside of your comfort zone. Simultaneously, the idea also can’t be too ambitious that it’s just not feasible. Finding the balance between what’s feasible and what’s sufficiently ambitious to be highly impressive to colleges is more an art than a science. Do your best to walk that line and try to get guidance or coaching from others with more experience.

In summary, pull together all the Spike ideas that meets the threshold criteria mentioned above and then pick the one idea that is the most impressive combination of uniqueness and potential impact.