好好利用你的暑假 — Part 2

好好利用你的暑假 — Part 2

好好利用你的暑假 — Part 2 800 412 Theo Wolf

暑假終於到來了,相信各位都非常能把他過得充實而有意義吧!很希望你們計畫的暑期活動,能包含下列幾個要點:(1) 是你所熱愛的活動,(2) 是能挑戰你能力的活動,(3) 能展現你能夠為大學社群有所貢獻的活動。今年初,我寫了這篇文章,希望能幫助學生找出該在暑假進行什麼樣的活動。如今,夏季已然到來,衷心希望你已經找到了適合自己的活動。話雖如此,你可能還沒有開始為暑假制定一個完整而有建設性的計畫。

學生最常犯的錯誤就是,誤以為只要用優質的課程、旅行、實習或活動來填滿暑假的時間表就好了。事實並非如此,單只是參與、做那些別人要你做的事是不夠的。你必須更主動地思考,你想在暑假完成什麼事。

到了夏季末尾,當你回顧自己在暑假裡做的每一件事之時,要怎麼樣才能讓你對自己說「這是個很成功的夏天」?換句話說,不要期待那些負責課程或實習的人,會仔細地針對他們的課程或作業進行個人化,好讓你等完成那些對你來說最重要的事。他們不會的,你得自已計畫才行!接著你就會發現,好好利用暑假的方式非常多,而且你必須主動出擊,跳脫那些別人已經想好的活動和課程。

該怎麼制定暑假計畫呢?

接下來就是我們建議 The Spike Lab 學生採行「制定夏季計畫」的步驟:

  1. 定出高中的總體目標。在開始計畫暑假之時,先確定你已經大略知道自己想在高中結束之時完成什麼樣的目標。如果你不清楚自己的高中總體目標,自然很難好好計畫你的暑假。我們也會與學生一起努力,訂出含括學術成就(GPA、標準測驗等)與非學術成就(突出成就、其他課外獎項或榮譽等)的高中總體目標。
  2. 定出暑假目標。寫下你的各個暑假目標,這份清單也應該要能定義你心目中成功的暑假活動內容。我們建議你先讀一讀這篇文章、了解如何正確地制定目標,再開始寫下你的目標,因為大多數人不知道怎麼好好地定義目標。定義暑期目標的最簡單方式之一,就是先檢視所有的暑期課程、活動、旅程或實習,一一為它們定立目標。接著,從整體角度思考你的重要高中目標,想想你是否有錯失任何目標,想想是否還有其他與高中總體目標有關的、你應該努力達成的暑假里程碑。
  3. 為每個目標發展完整的計畫。定義好你的暑期目標之後,你還是得制定小計畫來完成這些目標。計畫應該包括明確的評量方式(如何衡量進度)、活動(你打算做什麼)與時程表(何時要進行活動)。

你可以下載「暑假計畫試算表」這個免費工具,來幫助自己計畫暑假。你應該會發現這份試算表有4個分頁,先看看最後兩個「範例」分頁,用這個暑期計畫範例當作範本,打造你自己的暑期計畫吧!

希望這能幫上忙,讓你有個美好而豐收的暑假!

Make The Most Of Your Summer Break: Part 2

Make The Most Of Your Summer Break: Part 2

Make The Most Of Your Summer Break: Part 2 800 412 Lloyd Nimetz

Summer vacation has finally arrived and hopefully you all have an exciting few months of activities planned (1) that you love, (2) that will challenge you, and (3) that will demonstrate to colleges how you’ll be an asset to their community. At the beginning of the year, I wrote this blog post that was intended to help students figure out what types of programs and activities they should do during their summer breaks. Now the summer is here, and hopefully you’ve already identified and picked your programs. However, you probably still have not thoroughly planned out your summer to make the most of the precious vacation time.

One of the most common mistakes that students make is to think that filling their summer schedule with good programs, trips, internships and/or activities is sufficient. It’s not. Showing up and doing what is asked of you is not enough. You need to be more intentional about what you want to achieve during the summer.

At the end of the summer when you’re looking back on everything you did, what will it take to say to yourself, “that was a successful summer”? In other words, don’t count on the people running your programs or internships to have carefully personalized their programs or assignments such that you’ll achieve the things that are most important to you. They won’t. You need to do the planning yourself, and then you’ll find that there are probably numerous ways that you will need to take initiative on your own — beyond the scope of your organized activities and programs — to make the most of your summer.

How should I plan for my summer?

Here are the summer planning steps that we recommend to all our own students:

  1. Set overall High School goals. Before planning for your summer, make sure that you have a sense of what you want to achieve by the end of high school. If you don’t have some clarity on your overall goals in high school, then it’s very hard to plan well for your summer. We work with all of our students to have high school goals that encompass both academic achievements (i.e. GPA, standardized tests, etc) and non-academic achievements (i.e. Spike achievements or other extracurricular awards or honors).
  2. Set your summer goals. Write down your goals for the summer. This list should define what you think a successful summer would look like. We recommend that you read this resource on good goal-setting before jumping into writing goals because most people don’t define goals very well. One of the easiest ways to define your summer goals is to first go one by one through all your summer programs, activities, trips and/or internships and set goals for each one. Then think more holistically about your high-priority high school goals and consider if you’re missing any goals. Are there any other summer milestones that relate to those high school goals that you should be working towards?
  3. Develop a full plan for each goal. Once you have your summer goals defined, you still need to develop mini-plans to achieve each of those goals. This plan should consist of a clear metric (how you’ll measure progress), activities (what you’ll be doing) and a timeline (when you’ll do the activities).

To help you get started, here is a free tool that you can download to help plan your summer. It’s called the Summer Plan Spreadsheet, and you should notice that there are four tabs included. Start by looking at the last two “example” tabs that will give you an example Summer Plan. Use that example as you build your own Summer Plan.

We hope this helps and have a great summer!

 

Lloyd Nimetz

Serial entrepreneur, educator, investor, milonguero, dog-lover and Coach, Founder & CEO of The Spike Lab

Read more by: Lloyd Nimetz