我們的新教練:Grace Chiang

我們的新教練:Grace Chiang

我們的新教練:Grace Chiang 1280 853 Theo Wolf

The Spike Lab聘請了一群極為優秀的新教練,也會透過一系列部落格文章介紹他們。

Grace是位創業者和教育者,在青少年發展和商業領域具備強大的專業能力。她已經與青少年合作超過十年,目前正投身創業、希望能協助青少年的家長。創業之前,Grace的職涯以麥肯錫為起點,接著又前往創投、影響力投資和數間新創公司工作。她熱愛討論與心理健康、生產力、多元包容有關的議題。她在耶魯攻讀歷史和經濟,並在史丹佛取得教育碩士和MBA學位。Grace來自台灣,目前和她的小狗Bailey一同居於加州。

 

  1. 你為何會成為The Spike Lab的教練?

過去十年裡,我透過工作、以教育者的身份接觸了數千位青少年,看著學生在沒有熱情或使命感的情況下追尋目標,真的讓我非常難受。我非常重視心理健康,也一向會全力協助學生,希望他們能與自身的熱情及認同產生連結,以發揮全部的潛力。可惜,以家教和申請大學而言,大部分學生和家長比較重視的是,如何在這場「無情競爭」之中獲勝(或至少存活),而非打造一生受用、無懼時間考驗的技能:熱情、堅持和自覺。有趣的是,擁有這些技能的學生,申請大學的表現和其後人生的境遇,都要好得多;The Spike Lab的目標,就是讓自我發展和創業精神成為大學申請準備的一環,我也很高興能找到這樣的組織。我是在今年第一次注意到The Spike Lab,當時,創辦團隊的願景、亦即協助學生成為終身創新者,以及他們實現願景的專業能力,都讓我留下深刻印象。我以教育機會普及、協助年輕人茁壯成長為職志,The Spike Lab的哲學亦與這樣的使命不謀而和;能以教練的身份加入這個組織,真的非常令人興奮!

 

  1. 你最自豪的專業成就是什麼?

我至今最自豪的專業成就,就是創辦了我的第一間公司(可參見Forbes的報導),這間新創也獲得了Techstars和矽谷天使投資人的投資和協助。創業之前,我有許多專案經驗,包括推出擁有超過2萬讀者的出版品、為超過500位台灣學生建立新的耶魯模擬聯合國會議(YMUN Taiwan 2014)、在麥肯錫負責種子基金和育成器等,但這些專案都有機構或組織支持。我們則是從想法到正式推出、從零開始創辦這間公司,讓我有機會接觸投資人、使用者和其他相關人士,向他們訴說我的願景。更重要的是,這讓我有機會了解自己,培養做出困難決定的勇氣,其中之一,就是我終究有一天得離開這些公司。這項成就讓我十分自豪,專業上如此,個人方面也是如此,因為我達成了我對自己的期許,成為有原則、價值取向的創業者,我們的成功也獲得了認可。

 

  1. 如果可以,你會給高中時的自己什麼樣的建議?

身為一個重生的「高成就者」,我想告訴你:你不用什麼都自己來。我是個移民第一代申請者(而且需要財務補助),也完全不知道念大學需要具備哪些條件。我的想像是,單是想要有機會進入大學,我就得在各方面都非常完美,更別提常春藤盟校了(我覺得我這樣的人根本不可能進這種學校)。我沒有更精確的資訊,也沒有通曉此事的人從旁指導。我為了滿足這種不可能的標準,在高中時期做出了極端又不健康的決定。我每天只睡3小時,邊吃飯邊念書,就連最微小的快樂也不敢追求,擔心只要稍有放鬆,就會讓我失去念大學的機會。我放棄了運動、與家人相處的時間,以及與自我的連結,去做那些我以為其他人都希望我做的事。這帶來了嚴重的生理和心理健康挑戰,後來,我也花費了數年時間處理它們。更糟的是,由於念大學之前的全部人生,全都只想著如何進大學,等到終於進了大學,我變得失落又倦怠;我在「文件上」看起來很完美,但我的身體和心靈皆彷如深陷災難。事後觀之,我現在知道,就算過著更平衡的生活,我還是可以成為優秀的申請者。我可以花費更多心力,培養我的熱情、打造我的Spike,而非嘗試一口氣精通一切。如果我真的有這麼做,我應該會更健康(情緒和身體都是如此),也能一開始就抓住大學能夠給予我的各種機會!

 

  1. 為何你大學選擇耶魯?為何MBA/碩士選擇史丹佛?

在申請大學這段瘋狂時期,學生常會忘記,除了學校在挑選學生之外,學生也在挑選學校。選擇一間大學,絕對不是看看排名就好;事實上,這幾乎從來就不是選擇學校的好方法。選擇耶魯時,我考量了下列幾項因素(沒有特定排序):1. 地理位置 2. 校園的環境和規模 3. 校園文化適配4. 社群 5. 興趣適配。

地理:我在加州長大,總是夢想能在東岸生活。我渴望冒險,也想要體驗那些充滿了歷史和文化的地方。對我來說,這排除了許多位於西岸的一流學校,而且耶魯是個擁有豐富「歷史」的地方。

環境:我比較內向,偏好一對一互動,所以我知道,身處比較小、較為緊密的社群,我會過得更好、有更棒的表現。對我來說,這代表我會想去規模相對較小的校園式大學(而非大型或位於都會區的大學,例如紐約大學)。我需要學生人數較少、擁有封閉式校園的大學,耶魯也符合我的需求。

校園文化:我就讀極度競爭(而且有害身心)的高中,所以我決定要去念一間合作高於競爭、教導學生以無盡好奇心探索人生的大學。除了造訪校園外(主要是藉由夏令營),我也會閱不同大學的學生報、了解學生的興趣,與目前的學生聊天、了解他們的娛樂。這些資料點提供的資訊,遠遠多過我看過的任何正式排名或宣傳手冊。與耶魯學生的對話,不但鼓舞人心,也讓我心頭充滿暖意。

社群:身為台裔美籍移民,我想念一間社群凝聚力強、重視多元的大學。我刻意尋找國際學生比例佳、學生背景多元的學校,以及提供豐富海外學習體驗、取得這類經驗並非難事的學校。除了國籍和文化多元外,我也會注意想法和熱情的多元性。我想要的不只是快樂的「兄弟會或姊妹會生活」;我想要鼓舞人心的對話和經驗、拓展我的視野。以熱情和興趣的多元性而言,我從來沒有見過超越耶魯的地方。

興趣:高中時,我喜愛辯論、政治和經濟,但我也知道,我還想要進一步探索各種領域。我希望我的學校,能在學術政策和學術哲學上充滿彈性,在我強化現有專業時,也支持我探索新興趣;能夠更改主修、而且能輕易更改主修的大學,也特別吸引我。耶魯的學生可以在大三末尾再確定主修,而且幾乎所有的學生都在4年內取得主修學位。我在耶魯意外地發現自己愛上了歷史,也四度更改我的主修;不過,我還是有完成原本的目標、取得經濟學學位!

簡言之,我選擇大學之時,耶魯滿足了我重視的一切事物。我也是用同樣的方式思考研究所;選擇史丹佛,是因為它同樣能滿足我的需求,而且能提供額外的好處,也就是讓我的人脈網絡跨出耶魯、麥肯錫等「東岸」組織。 

確實有兩項值得一提、但我在挑選大學時並沒有考量的因素:大學部學生能取得的資源,以及校友網絡。許多大學(甚至是排名一流的大學)會將大量資源投入研究所課程,不夠重視大學生的體驗。務必確認大學部課程的講授者是哪些人(例如教授或助教),校方做了哪些事、如何支持大學部學生的生活,以及研究生和大學生之間的互動。最後就是校友:進入一間大學之後,你永遠會是這個網絡和社群的一份子。不過,並不是所有的社群都一樣;有些社群非常熱衷於協助校友和學校成員。這對大學之後的生活具有強大的影響力,但我在高中時並沒有想到這點。幸好,耶魯擁有非常優秀、無可挑剔的校友網絡。

挑選學校時,先想想你想要什麼樣的大學經驗,然後找出你茁壯成長所需的條件。不要只看排名,而是尋找能夠真正培養你的地方,讓你成為更棒的自己。

New Coach Profiles: Introducing Grace Chiang

New Coach Profiles: Introducing Grace Chiang

New Coach Profiles: Introducing Grace Chiang 1280 853 Theo Wolf

The Spike Lab has hired a cohort of fantastic new coaches. We’ll be doing a series of blogs introducing them to you. 

Grace is an entrepreneur and educator with deep expertise in adolescent development and business. She has been working with adolescents for over a decade, and is currently working on a start up to support parents of teenagers. Prior to her current start up, Grace started her career at McKinsey before working in venture capital, impact investing, and a number of startups. She loves discussing topics related to mental wellbeing, productivity, and diversity & inclusion. She studied history and economics at Yale, and received her MA in Education and an MBA from Stanford. Grace is originally from Taiwan and currently resides in California with her puppy, Bailey.

1) Why did you become a coach with The Spike Lab?

I’ve engaged with thousands of teens over the past decade through my work as an educator, and it always pained me to watch students pursue goals without purpose or passion. As someone who cares deeply about mental wellbeing, I constantly strive to help my students connect with their own passions and identity in order to unleash their full potential. Sadly, in most tutoring or college admissions processes, students and their families are more focused on winning (or at least surviving) the “rat race” instead of looking to build sustainable skills that will last a lifetime: passion, grit, and self awareness. Interestingly, students who demonstrated these skills actually fared much better in college admissions and beyond, so I was glad to find an organization that is committed to bringing self-development and entrepreneurship to the college preparation process. When I found The Spike Lab earlier this year, I was impressed by the founding team’s vision for helping students become lifelong innovators and their professionalism in executing this vision. The Spike Lab philosophy resonates deeply with my personal mission to expand educational opportunities and help young people thrive, and I couldn’t be more excited to join as a coach!

2) What is your proudest professional achievement?

My proudest professional achievement to date is launching my first start up (featured in Forbes) that received funding and support from Techstars and angel investors in Silicon Valley. This company was my first experience truly building something of my own. Prior to launching it, I had plenty of project launch experiences– from starting a publication with 20K+ readers and creating a new Yale MUN conference for 500+ students in Taiwan (YMUN Taiwan 2014), to leading a seed fund and incubator at McKinsey– but those were always in the context of institutional support. We built our company purely from scratch, from idea to launch, which gave me an opportunity to engage investors, users, and other stakeholders with my vision. Even more importantly, it gave me the opportunity to learn about myself and develop the courage to make hard decisions, including my ultimate departure. I am proud of this achievement both on a professional and personal level, because I was able to be the principled and values-driven entrepreneur I want to be, while being recognized for our success.

3) If you could give one piece of advice to your high school self, what would it be?

Take it from a recovering “overachiever”: you don’t have to do it all! As a first generation (and financial aid) applicant, I had no idea what was required to go to college. I imagined I had to be perfect in every way in order to go to college at all, let alone the Ivy Leagues (which I thought was not meant for people like me). Without more accurate information and coaching from someone with perspective, I pursued this impossible standard through extreme and unhealthy decisions in high school. I slept 3 hours a day, studied while I ate, and denied myself even the smallest pleasures in fear that any moment of relaxation would cause me to miss an opportunity to go to college. I gave up exercise, time with my family, and connection to myself to do everything I thought everyone else wanted from me. This resulted in severe physical and mental health challenges that took me years to address afterwards. Worse yet, since I had spent my entire pre-college life focused on getting into college, I felt lost and burnt-out by the time I finally got there; I looked perfect “on paper”, but my body and mind were in a state of disaster. In retrospect, it’s now clear to me I could have still been a great applicant while living a more balanced life. I could have invested more in nurturing my passions and building my Spikes instead of trying to excel at everything all at once. If I had, I probably would have been much healthier (emotionally and physically) and been more ready to take advantage of all the opportunities college had to offer from the start!

4) How did you choose Yale for undergrad? What about Stanford for your MBA/MA?

In the craziness of college applications, students often forget it’s not just schools that are choosing them, but that they are also choosing a school. Choosing a college is so much more than just looking at rankings. In fact, that’s almost never the way to choose a college. In choosing Yale, I thought about the following (in no particular order) 1) Geography 2) Setting/School size 3) School culture fit 4) Community and 5) Alignment of interests.

On Geography: Growing up in California, I dreamt of living on the East Coast. I craved adventure and the opportunity to experience a place I thought had more historical and cultural significance. That ruled out a lot of excellent schools on the West Coast for me, and Yale was about as “historical” as it got.

On Setting: As an introvert that favored 1:1 interactions, I knew I’d thrive in a smaller, close knit community. For me, this meant I wanted to go to a relatively small and campus-based university (as opposed to large or urban setting schools e.g., NYU). Yale fit my need for a small student body with a closed campus.

On School Culture: I went to an incredibly competitive (and toxic) high school, and I was determined to go to a college that placed cooperation above competition and taught students to explore life with ceaseless curiosity. Beyond visiting campuses (primarily through summer camps), I read the newspapers of undergrads at different universities to understand their interests and spoke with current students about what they did for fun. These data points were far more informative than any formal ranking or pamphlet I had read. My conversations with Yalies left my heart warmed and inspired.

On Community: As a Taiwanese-American immigrant, I wanted a school with strong community cohesion and appreciation for diversity. I looked for schools with good ratios of international / diverse background students and schools that offered ample study abroad experiences that were easily accessible. Beyond national/cultural diversity, I was also looking for diversity of thoughts and passions. I wanted more than just “greek life” for fun; I wanted inspiring conversations and experiences that would broaden my perspective. I have never found a place with more diverse passions and interests than Yale.

Alignment of Interests: In high school, I loved debate, politics, and economics, but I also knew there were many disciplines I wanted to explore further. I wanted a school with flexible academic policies and philosophies that supported me to discover new interests while deepening my existing expertise. I was drawn to universities that made major changes not only possible, but easy. Yale doesn’t require a major declaration until the end of the 3rd year of study, and almost all students graduate in the major of their choice in 4 years. I surprised myself and fell in love with history while at Yale and changed my major 4 times. I did still finish my studies in Economics as originally intended!

In short, Yale checked all the boxes for things that were important to me at the time I was choosing a college. I followed this same process when I thought about graduate school. I chose Stanford because it had what I was looking for along the dimensions discussed above, and it gave me the additional benefit of broadening my network beyond “East Coast” institutions such as Yale and McKinsey.

It’s worth mentioning two things I hadn’t considered back when I was choosing my college: resources available to undergrads and alumni networks. Many universities (even ones with great rankings) dedicate a lot of resources to their graduate programs rather than focusing on the undergraduate experience. Be sure to look into who will be teaching your courses in undergrad (e.g., professors or TAs), what the administration does to support undergrad student life, and interactions between graduates vs undergraduates. Lastly, on the topic of alumni: once you attend a university, you are forever part of that network and community. But not all communities are created equal; some are far more enthusiastic about helping fellow alumni and the school’s affiliates. This has powerful effects for life beyond college that I hadn’t quite considered as a high school student. Thankfully, Yale has one of the most incredible alumni communities I can ask for.

In choosing a school, think first about what you want out of the experience and then identify what you would need to thrive. Go beyond rankings, and look for a place that will truly nurture you to grow into a better version of yourself.