• COVID-19相關公告: 我們的教練課程全數透過線上授課,未受本次危機影響。

我們的新教練 : Uchechi Kalu

我們的新教練 : Uchechi Kalu

我們的新教練 : Uchechi Kalu 535 535 Theo Wolf

The Spike Lab聘請了一群極為優秀的新教練,也會透過一系列部落格文章介紹他們。


Uchechi是創業者、教育者和藝術家。她的職涯始於北京,在國際教育及商業領域擁有4年經驗。目前,她經營大學及研究所申請顧問公司,寫作並出版了一本大學申請指南。Uchechi在普林斯頓取得學士學位,主修近東研究和阿拉伯語。她也是歌手、作家和演員,會說中文等數種語言。Uchechi生於南卡州;最近,她在旅居世界各地數年後搬回了故鄉。

1. 為何你會成為The Spike Lab的教練?

我的父母來自奈及利亞,他們希望我成為醫生、律師或商務人士──也就是那種他們能夠向其他奈及利亞移民輕鬆描述的工作。但我心中有其他的想法。我告訴他們我想成為藝術家時,他們問我,「我們大老遠地來到這裡,就是為了讓你能夠浪費你的人生?」(用奈及利亞口音念起來,語氣其實沒有那麼強烈啦,真的。)因為他們的質疑,我從小時候開始就不能只是擁有熱情,我得努力實現熱情才行。我得讓我的家人知道,對我來說,什麼才是有意義的人生。我開始全心全意地唱歌、表演和寫作。我獲得藝術專門高中錄取,主修創意寫作;到了高三之時,我已經名列全美優秀年輕作家,獲得歐巴馬總統頒發的國家創意寫作獎。

我會成為The Spike Lab的教練,是因為我相信,如果學生能在年紀輕輕之時就找到熱情和使命,他們就有機會追尋充滿意義和成功的人生。愈早知道自己是什麼樣的人,就愈有時間發展自己、成為那個你應該要成為的人。

2. 你最自豪的專業成就是什麼?

大學畢業後,我在北京住了4年,從事公關、行銷和大學顧問方面的工作,並利用工作之餘在許多教育企業擔任家教。我最自豪的成就就是冒險移居中國;我的家人都覺得我瘋了,因為我在普林斯頓主修中東研究和阿拉伯語,剛到中國之時,我一個中文字都不會說。但我還是選擇留在北京,因為中國有個非常吸引我的特質:它是個許多人都在努力實現事物的國度。那給了我激勵和靈感;我創立服務非裔旅外人士的美髮業務。我創立藝術聯盟,在北京地區開設藝廊和舉辦活動。我加入了一個國際無伴奏合唱團,為使館和企業表演。

我在2018年回到美國,也會永遠感激這段旅居東亞的時光,因為它教會我努力和追求頂尖的重要性。如果我沒有冒險移居中國,就不會創辦我自己的公司;除了擔任The Spike Lab的教練之外,我目前的主要工作就是經營這間公司。

3. 如果可以,你會給高中時的自己什麼樣的建議?

尋求協助。我的家人和社群讚揚「堅強」、「強大」、「自足」等人格特質,因此我從年紀非常小的時候就開始認定,尋求協助是把我的問題變成其他人的負擔。當然,從來沒有人告訴我不該尋求協助,事實上,他們還會鼓勵我這麼做。但我想變得「強大」又「獨立」,這讓我十分後悔。我將許多問題藏在心中,從高中一路帶進大學,因為我不好意思尋求老師和父母的支持。我知道不是只有我這樣;每當我和學生互動之時,我都能看他們有著負擔和煩惱,但只要他們願意溝通、願意說出自己的掙扎,減輕負擔其實並不難。許多年輕人想變得「強大」,但他們真的需要的,只是敞開心房、不再隱藏自己的脆弱之處。我總是希望每位與我合作的學生知道,我願意當他們的靠山,我會支持他們渡過日常生活中的種種掙扎。

4. 為什麼你會選擇普林斯頓大學?

老實說,我初次造訪普林斯頓時並不喜歡它。我和另外幾位學生受普林斯頓之邀,從美國各地飛往普林斯頓參與藝術週。念了藝術高中之後,我知道我想念的大學,一定要有注重學術和創意的氛圍。普林斯頓符合這個條件,但當我踏進校園的時候,感覺就是不太對。那種「哈利波特式」的建築,感覺冰冷又過時。我遇見的每一個人,念的全都是預備學校而非公立學校。我和其他學生相處時也發現,就連會讓我們發笑的笑話都不一樣。行程的最後一天,我覺得很失望。我想要喜歡普林斯頓,但我就是不喜歡。準備離開前幾小時,我參加了一個學生座談會,由4位學生藝術家討論他們的普林斯頓經驗。前3位學生的故事並沒有打動我,但第4位、也就是最後一位學生的故事,觸動了我的心。到了今天,我已經完全記不得她說了什麼,只記得那些話語給予我的感受;它們讓我覺得,普林斯頓學生身處一個充滿愛、歡樂和活躍靈魂的社群。它們讓我覺得,普林斯頓不會是一次平凡的體驗,而是會將我推出舒適區、給予我全新的視野。它們讓我覺得,普林頓林可以是個家。我在那天離開時,就知道我會申請普林斯頓了;我再也沒有任何疑慮。

New Coach Profiles: Introducing Uchechi Kalu

New Coach Profiles: Introducing Uchechi Kalu

New Coach Profiles: Introducing Uchechi Kalu 535 535 Theo Wolf

The Spike Lab has hired a cohort of fantastic new coaches. This is part of a series of blog posts introducing them to you.

Uchechi is an entrepreneur, educator, and artist. She started her career in Beijing where she worked in international education and business for 4 years. She currently runs a consultancy for college and graduate school admissions and wrote and published a college admissions guide book. Uchechi went to Princeton for her BA, and majored in Near Eastern Studies and Arabic. She’s also a singer, writer, and actress, and speaks multiple languages, including, Mandarin. Uchechi is originally from South Carolina, and after many years living around the world, she recently returned to her home state to live.

1) Why did you become a coach with The Spike Lab?

My parents wanted me to be a doctor, lawyer, or business person — something they could easily describe to other Nigerian immigrants like them. I had other plans in mind. When I told them I wanted to be an artist, they asked me, “We came all the way here, so you could waste your life?” (The words are less dramatic in a Nigerian accent, I promise.) Their skepticism meant that, from a young age, I couldn’t just have passion. I had to live my passions. I had to show my family what a meaningful life meant to me. I began singing, acting, and writing with all my heart. I was accepted into a pre-professional arts high school where I majored in Creative Writing. By my senior year, I had been named one of the best young writers in America, and was given a national Creative Writing award by President Barack Obama.

I became a coach at The Spike Lab because I believe that when a student finds their passion and purpose at an early age, they set themselves up for a life of meaning and success. The earlier you know who you are, the more time you have to develop into who you’re meant to be.

2) What is your proudest professional achievement? 

After college, I lived in Beijing for four years. While there, I worked in PR, marketing, and college consulting. On the side, I also tutored at various education companies. My proudest achievement is that I took the risk to move to China. My family thought I was crazy. Because I had studied Middle Eastern Studies and Arabic at Princeton, and I didn’t even speak one word of Mandarin when I arrived. But I stayed in Beijing because I loved that China is a country where people make things happen. It inspired me; I started a hair care business for black expats. I created an arts collective that opened galleries and ran events around Beijing. I joined an international acapella group that performed for embassies and corporations.

I moved back to the US in 2018 and will always be grateful for my time in East Asia because it taught me the importance of working hard and striving for greatness. Had I not taken the risk to move to China, I would not have started my own company, which I currently manage in addition to coaching with The Spike Lab.

3) How did you choose Princeton for college? 

To be honest, I didn’t love Princeton the first time I visited. The University flew me and a few other students from around the country to campus for an arts weekend. Having gone to an arts high school, I knew that I wanted to go to college in an environment that was strong academically and creatively. Princeton fit that description, but when I stepped onto campus, something didn’t feel right. The Harry Potter-esque architecture felt cold and outdated. I was intimidated that everyone I met went to prep schools instead of public schools. And when I hung out with other students, I noticed we didn’t even laugh at the same jokes. On the final day of the trip, I felt disappointed. I wanted to like Princeton, but I didn’t. A few hours before I was set to leave, I attended a student panel. Four student artists talked about their Princeton experiences. The first 3 students’ stories didn’t leave an impact on me. But the 4th and final person did. To this day, I don’t remember a word that he said. I just remember how his words made me feel. They made me feel that Princeton students were a community, full of love, and joy, and vibrant spirit. They made me feel that Princeton wouldn’t be an ordinary experience, but one that would push me out of my comfort zone and into new horizons. They made me feel that Princeton could be home. I left that day and knew I would apply. I didn’t have any more doubts.

4) If you could give one piece of advice to your high school self, what would it be? 

Ask for help. My family and community admire personal qualities like “toughness,” “strength,” and “self-sufficiency.” So from a very young age, I began to believe that if I asked for help I was burdening other people with my problems. Of course, no one ever told me that I shouldn’t ask for help. In fact, they encouraged it. But I wanted to be “strong” and “independent.” I regret that. There were many issues I carried with me from high school into college, because I felt too embarrassed to ask my teachers and parents for support. I know I’m not alone in this. Every day when I interact with students, I see them carrying burdens that could be easily relieved if they just communicated their struggles. A lot of young people want to be “strong,” when really they just need to be open and vulnerable. I always want every student I coach with at The Spike Lab to know that I have their back, and that I’m there to support them through the struggles of daily life.

To read more about all of our coaches click here.