突出成就故事:Philip Kuo

突出成就故事:Philip Kuo

突出成就故事:Philip Kuo 800 240 Theo Wolf

突出成就故事是一系列的全新文章,讓大家進一步認識成功入取美國頂尖大學的學生。

熱情:設計與科技

突出成就:TEDx、The Hoverboard Guy,以及PKGamma數位機構

教育

  • 伊利諾大學厄巴納-香檳分校(UIUC,2021年班)
  • 台灣教育:台北,家中自學(2017年班)

Philip Kuo能就讀競爭激烈的美國大學工程學位課程(錄取率低於15%,在美國新聞的排行中排名第6),不只是因為他學術成績一流、個性活力十足,也因為他的獨特經驗和成就──他的突出之處。

Philip是個非常有創業家精神、機智又聰慧的年輕人,從他的成就就能看得出來。直到國中為止,他一直都是念台灣的普通公立學校,並將大多數的時間花在為考試讀書。但在高中之初,他決定花一年的時間參與美國交換學生計畫。在那一年裡,他發現了自己對創業、設計和科學的熱情。他發現,除了台灣教育系統主導的那條路之外,還有其他的教育和個人發展之道。等他回到台灣,他決定(並獲得家庭的支持)轉為在家自學,但也與先前的學校和老師保持緊密的連繫,先前的學校和老師也繼續協助他完成高中教育。

他花費一年的時間,在先前的學校組織了台灣公立高中的第一場TEDx活動,這也激勵了許多人,在全台灣帶起一波主要由年輕人帶動的TEDx活動熱潮。他創立了電影製作社團,並在他成為美國交換學生的那一年之中,創立並維護交換學生部落格(擁有超過80篇文章);這個部落格的人氣持續上升,在高峰之時,每月流覽量達2,800。

他共同創立了名為The Hoverboard Guys的成功企業,將市面上最安全的Hoverboard(電動滑板)進口至台灣,總計創造了38萬台幣的營收。

他在高二時創立名為PKGamma Digital Agency的數位機構,為客戶開發網站、打造電商服務和推動數位行銷。成為UIUC的新生之後,他仍舊遠端經營這間公司,協助支付他的大學學費。

在人生的早期階段出國,讓Philip接觸了不同的思考方式,也促使他進行反思。這協助他早早發掘了他對創業、設計和科技的熱情。他發現,他可以追尋自己想要的事物;真的這麼做了之後,他也獲得了美好的成果。在國外獲得了這樣的想法與自信之後,他回到台灣,利用高中餘下的時間全力追尋這樣的熱情,完成許多雄心十足的計畫(突出成就)。等到他申請UIUC那全美排名第6、每年僅招收約100名學生的「主修未定」工程課程之時,招生團隊也見到了我們清楚看見的特質:這個動機強大、自主、在世界中為自己開闢道路、成就豐富的年輕人,會將他的獨特經驗和特殊視角帶進他們的社群。

但你也得知道,這對他來說並非易事。他說道,「我不覺得自己會成功,但我還是決定試試看。」他並不害怕失敗,部分原因即為,他認清了一件絕大多數學生都不知道的事:風險其實並不是很大,就算計畫失敗了,也會帶來豐富的經驗和大量學習機會。

Spike Stories: Meet Philip Kuo

Spike Stories: Meet Philip Kuo

Spike Stories: Meet Philip Kuo 800 240 Lloyd Nimetz

Spike Stories is a new series of articles showcasing the students who got into highly selective US colleges.

Passion: Design & Technology

Spike: TEDx, The Hoverboard Guys & PKGamma Digital Agency

Education:

  • UIUC, Special Engineering Program (class of 2021)
  • Taiwan Schooling: Home-schooled in Taipei (class of 2017)

Philip Kuo got into a competitive US engineering undergraduate degree program (< 15% acceptance rate and ranked #6 by US News) not just because of his top academic scores and dynamic personality but because of his unique experiences and achievements — his Spike!

Philip is a very entrepreneurial and resourceful young man, as demonstrated by his achievements. Up and through middle school he went to normal, public Taiwanese schools and spent almost all his time studying for exams. But in the beginning of high school, he decided to do a year long study exchange program in the US. During this year he found his passion in entrepreneurship, design, and technology. He realized that there are other paths to education and personal development besides the path dictated by the education system in Taiwan. When he came back, he decided (with his family’s support) to be home-schooled, but he kept a close connection to his former school and teachers — who continued to support him throughout high school.

He spent a year organizing Taiwan’s first TEDx event in public high schools at his previous school, which inspired many people and unleashed a wave of new mostly youth-led TEDx events throughout the country. He started a film-making club, and, starting during his year in the US, he launched and maintained an exchange student blog (of more than 80 articles) that grew in popularity and, at its peak, had 2,800 monthly pageviews.

He co-founded a successful company, called The Hoverboard Guys, that imported into Taiwan the safest hoverboards in the market. They generated revenues of NTD 380,000.

Junior year he founded a Digital Agency, called PKGamma Digital Agency, that develops websites and build e-commerce and digital marketing for clients. As a freshman at UIUC, he is still running this company remotely, and it’s helping him pay for college.

Going abroad at an early age exposed Philip to different ways of thinking, and it and pushed him to do some soul-searching. This helped him find his passion in entrepreneurship, design, and technology at an earlier age than most people. He realized that he can pursue what he wants to and when he does, he thrives! With this realization and newfound confidence from going abroad, he came back and pursued this passion vigorously throughout the rest of high school resulting in numerous ambitious projects (Spikes). When the time came to apply to UIUC’s selective ‘undefined major’ engineering program that only let’s in ~100 students per year and is ranked 6th in the country, their admissions team saw what we clearly see: a highly motivated and self-directed young man who has forged his own path forward in the world, who has accomplished a lot and would bring his unique experience and special perspective to their community.

But you should also take away that this wasn’t easy for him. He said, “I didn’t think I’d succeed, but I tried it out.” He wasn’t afraid of failure in part because he realized what so few students realize: the risk is actually not very large because even if the project fails, the experience is very rich and full of transformative learning.

Lloyd Nimetz

Serial entrepreneur, educator, investor, milonguero, dog-lover and Coach, Founder & CEO of The Spike Lab

Read more by: Lloyd Nimetz