高中學不到的14項關鍵創新技能

高中學不到的14項關鍵創新技能

高中學不到的14項關鍵創新技能 1280 384 Lloyd Nimetz

網際網路崛起和資訊時代到來,成功所需的能力,正以超越以往的速度不斷改變。這也為世界各地的教育系統帶來巨大的問題;這些教育系統是在19世紀末工業時代興起之時,學校的調適速度實在跟不上世界變化的腳步。各地的政府、企業、甚至是大部分教育學家,都注意到了這個問題,但大體而言,學校仍舊過度重視內容式知識(常被稱作顯性知識),不夠強調重要性快速上升的21世紀技能,例如「4C」──批判思考(critical thinking)、溝通(communication)、合作(collaboration)和創意(creativity)。孩子接受的教育和測驗,仍舊圍繞著「5大」(five solids),亦即數學、科學、歷史、外語、英語/文學等核心科目,不夠重視21世紀技能,不夠著重於培養好奇心、自我意識和主動學習的動機。許多優秀的教師和學校領導層,已然看出過時學校模式創造的技能缺口,開始全力嘗試教導21世紀技能,卻也受制於系統:科目式教育模式、死板的測驗標準,以及大學入學考試。

Yuval Noah Harari在知名文章〈到了2050年,孩子需要學習哪些事物才能成功〉中,討論了這些想法:

「除了資訊外,大多數學校太過重視預先決定好的技能,例如解微分方程式、用C++寫程式、辨識試管中的化學物質、用法語對話等。然而,由於我們完全不知道,2050年的世界和就業市場會是什麼模樣,我們其實並不知道屆時人類會需要哪些技能……那麼,我們應該教導什麼呢?許多教育專家認為,學校應該改為教導『4C』──批判思考、溝通、合作和創意。更廣泛而言,他們相信,學校應該減少技術性技能的比重,強調通用式的人生技能。其中最為重要的,就是應對變化、學習新事物,以及在陌生環境中保持心理平衡的能力。想在2050年跟上世界的腳步,你不能只是提出新想法和發明新產品,最重要的是,你必須一次又一次地重新創造自己。」

在The Spike Lab,我們的重要使命之一,就是協助學生成為終生的創新者和創業者。今日,這兩個名詞可謂隨處可見,但身為教育者,我們的其中一項任務,就是培養學生的創新和創業能力,因此,我們得定義這些技能,並長期追蹤學生的進展才行。我們為此進行了大量研究,並由自身的創業經驗反思,發展了羅列這些能力的第一版列表。接著,我們又訪談了數十位創新者和創業者,進一步琢磨列表的內容和定義。

下方就是我們的創新及創業能力列表。我們的學生很快就會加入創新經濟,我們也每天都會使用這份列表,衡量並追蹤學生的發展進度,讓他們準備好面對這個快速變動的世界。這份列表並未包括所有的21世紀技能(例如批判思考),因為我們的目標與學校不同。The Spike Lab的目標是與學校相輔相成,因此,我們的焦點在於最重要的創新和創業技能。這份列表特別著重於學校格外缺乏的領域,並強調實用性,僅只列出創新所需的最重要技能。一等學生開始辨別、定義並執行他們的Spike,無論Spike屬於科技、商業、創意、學術、公民或任何其他領域,他們都會立刻發現,這些技能是多麼地實用。

我們發現,列表中的各項技能重要程度不一,但這四大類別(主動積極、創意、計畫及溝通)皆十分關鍵。要在未來的經濟中獲得成功,我們必須要在職涯中不斷地發明新事物並重新創造自我。

每個人都有各自的強項和弱項,因此,你可以利用這份列表進行自我評估。列表中的創新技能不一定各自獨立,例如,同理心和說服人心即有重疊之處,主動意向和設定目標亦是如此。然而,它們的重疊程度不夠大,也無法排除其中之一。

 

/ 主動積極

主動意向
主動朝目標前行的心態和習慣,而非聚焦於其他人給予的任務。

內在動機
擁有雄心、好奇心、決心等特質,這些特質也正是自我指引和堅持不懈背後的動力。

行動力
根據想法快速展開行動的能力。

處理未知情境
在具有不確定性或不明確的處境中,仍能探索前行,包括容受風險、定義問題(提出正確的問題)和透過腦力激盪找出解決方案(列出一系列可能解決方案)。

責任感
為個人或團隊表現承擔責任的心態和習慣,包括主動行事、注重成效和解決方案等。

 

/ 創意

腦力激盪
能夠提出許多有效的新點子,包括各種型式的發散思考,以及延伸其他人的點子(「沒錯,而且……」)。

同理心
能夠深入理解其他人的行為、情緒和動機,包括善於聆聽/先嘗試理解他人的習慣,以及同理訪談、測試假設等設計思考硬技能,亦與友好待人密切相關。

設計及製作原型
有能力將抽象概念轉化為可供測試的實體成品,包括快速設計原型的直覺和技能。

 

/ 計畫

設定目標
有能力思考未來,並設定雄心十足、但也有機會達成的目標,較著重於設定目標的能力,而非設定目標的心態(較為貼近前述的主動意向)。

任務管控
有能力將複雜的專案,打散成相互連結、具有先後順序的小任務(以及時限),並依循時限完成任務(尤其是在與其他人合作之時)。

設定優先次序
有能力決定最重要/最有價值的任務為何,並全心完成任務。

 

/ 溝通

說服人心
有能力以明確、具說服力的方式傳達複雜概念,範圍包括口語及非口語(亦即書寫),以及公開場合(對許多人傳達)、小型團體、一對一等各種情境。

社交
有能力找出正確的對象,並與他們建立和維持關係,包括建立密切關係所需的情緒智商。

回饋
有能力給予並接受意見回饋,藉此促使自身和他人的成長,包括避免衝突、善於進行困難對話以解決衝突。

 

 

在The Spike Lab,我們致力於將學生培育為肩負使命的終生創新者,培養這些創新能力,亦是我們的課程核心之一。你可以閱讀這篇文章,進一步了解為何我們會將這些創新能力融入我們的使命。

Lloyd Nimetz

Serial entrepreneur, educator, investor, milonguero, dog-lover and Coach, Founder & CEO of The Spike Lab

閱讀作者其他文章 - Lloyd Nimetz

The 14 Critical Innovation Skills Kids Aren’t Learning in High School

The 14 Critical Innovation Skills Kids Aren’t Learning in High School

The 14 Critical Innovation Skills Kids Aren’t Learning in High School 1280 384 Lloyd Nimetz

With the rise of the Internet and the Information Age, the competencies people need to succeed in today’s world have changed faster than ever before. This has created a major problem for our education systems throughout the world that were designed in the late 19th century for an emerging industrial era. Our schools simply haven’t adjusted fast enough. Governments, companies and even most educational experts all over the world recognize this, but, for the most part, schools continue to over-emphasize the importance of content-based knowledge (also often referred to as explicit knowledge) and under-emphasize the rapidly growing importance of 21st Century Skills like the “Four Cs”: critical thinking, communication, collaboration, and creativity. Kids are still primarily taught and tested on knowledge learned in the ‘five solids’ — core subjects like Math, Science, History, Foreign Language, and English/Literature — and not nearly enough emphasis is being placed on teaching 21st century skills and nurturing the curiosity, self-awareness and motivation that drives self-directed learning. Recognizing the skills gap that our outdated school models are creating, many great teachers and school leaderships go out of their way to teach 21st century skills but are hampered by the system: subject-based education model, rigid testing standards and college entrance examinations.

Yuval Noah Harari discussed these ideas in his acclaimed article, What Kids Need to Learn to Succeed in 2050:

“Besides information, most schools also focus too much on providing students with a set of predetermined skills, such as solving differential equations, writing computer code in C++, identifying chemicals in a test tube, or conversing in French. Yet since we have no idea what the world and the job market will look like in 2050, we don’t really know what particular skills people will need…So, what should we be teaching? Many pedagogical experts argue that schools should switch to teaching “the four Cs” — critical thinking, communication, collaboration, and creativity. More broadly, they believe, schools should downplay technical skills and emphasize general-purpose life skills. Most important of all will be the ability to deal with change, learn new things, and preserve your mental balance in unfamiliar situations. To keep up with the world of 2050, you will need to do more than merely invent new ideas and products, but above all, reinvent yourself again and again.”

At The Spike Lab, a big part of our mission is to help students develop into life-long innovators and entrepreneurs. These have become buzzwords today, but as educators whose job is, in part, to develop innovation and entrepreneurship abilities in our students, we needed to define these skills and measure our students’ progress over time. So we went through an arduous process of research and self-reflection, from our own entrepreneurial experiences, to develop a first draft of these abilities. Then we interviewed dozens of innovators and entrepreneurs to refine our list and definitions.

Below is our list of innovation and entrepreneurship abilities. We use them on a daily basis to baseline and track the progress of our students’ development toward being equipped for the innovation economy that they’ll soon be entering. Note that our list doesn’t include all the 21st Century skills like critical thinking, for example, because our mandate is different than that of a school. The Spike Lab exists to complement schools and therefore we focus on the most important skills for innovation and entrepreneurship. Our list puts particular emphasis on the areas where schools fall significantly short. It is designed as a very practical list, outlining only the most important abilities needed to innovate in the world. Right away, our students realize how practical these skills are as they throw themselves into the process of identifying, defining and executing their Spikes, whether it’s a technology spike, a business spike, a creative spike, an academic spike, a civic spike or otherwise.

We’ve found that all the skills listed here are not of equal weight or importance, but all four categories — Initiative, Creativity, Planning and Communication — are critical. To succeed in tomorrow’s economy, people will need to repeatedly invent new things and reinvent themselves throughout their career.

We all have our strengths and weaknesses to be aware of, so use this list to assess yourself. Note that the innovation abilities listed below are not all mutually exclusive. There is overlap in skill areas like Persuasive Speaking and Empathy. Intentionality and Goal-Setting. However, there is not enough overlap to warrant eliminating one.

Intentionality
Mindset and habit of working deliberately towards a goal instead of focusing on activities given to them by others.

Intrinsic Motivation
Possessing the ambition, curiosity and determination that are the motor behind self-directedness and perseverance.

Action Oriented
Ability to act quickly upon an idea.

Managing Ambiguity
Ability to navigate in uncertain or unclear situations. This includes risk-tolerance, problem definition (asking the right questions) and solution brainstorming (mapping out a set of potential solution).

Ownership
Mindset and habit of taking responsibility for individual and team outcomes. This includes being proactive and results/solution-oriented.

 

Brainstorming
Able to generate many novel and effective ideas. This includes all types of divergent thinking and building on others’ ideas (“Yes and”).

Empathy
Able to deeply understand the behaviors, emotions, and motivations of another. This includes a habit of good listening/first seeking to understand others and hard design thinking skills like empathy interviewing and assumption testing. It also is closely related to hospitality.

Prototyping & Making
Ability to turn abstract concepts into tangible and testable artifacts. This includes the instinct to and skill of rapid prototyping.

 

Goal-Setting
Ability to think ahead to a future point and set ambitious but attainable goals. This is more the skill of setting good goals and not the mindset of goal-setting, which is more intentionality (see above).

Task Management
Ability to break complex projects into smaller, interdependent and sequential tasks (with deadlines), and get those tasks done on schedule (especially when involving others).

Prioritization
Ability to determine the most important / valuable work and focus on it until completion.

 

Persuasive Speaking
Ability to convey complex ideas clearly and in a compelling way: verbally and non-verbally (i.e. written) and in different contexts including public (in front of many people), in small groups, 1:1, etc.

Networking
Ability to find the right people and then build and maintain relationships with them. This includes EQ needed to build rapport.

Feedback
Ability to give and receive feedback in a way that promotes growth (own and other’s). This includes avoiding conflicts and effectiveness in difficult conversations to resolve conflict.

 

At The Spike Lab, we are committed to developing students into Purpose-Driven Innovators for Life, and nurturing these innovation abilities is one of the core pillars of our program. Please read this article outlining how these innovation abilities fit into our program’s greater mission.

Lloyd Nimetz

Serial entrepreneur, educator, investor, milonguero, dog-lover and Coach, Founder & CEO of The Spike Lab

Read more by: Lloyd Nimetz