• COVID-19相關公告: 我們的教練課程全數透過線上授課,未受本次危機影響。

大學招生中的「亞洲稅」

大學招生中的「亞洲稅」

大學招生中的「亞洲稅」 595 417 Katherine

根據普林斯頓大學的研究顯示,平均而言,亞洲學生的SAT分數 (總分為1600),必須比白人學生高140分,才能與白人學生獲得同等的錄取機會,與非裔美國學生相較,則必須多拿450分才行;有些人將此稱之為「亞洲稅」。這項研究將偏見量化,或許十分有趣,不過,只要對大學招生有一定程度的了解,對於這樣的偏見存在,應該就不會大感意外。

 

由於SFFA v. Harvard一案目前正在美國麻州地方法院待審,這方面的爭辯亦格外激烈,許多人也相信,此案最後會進入美國最高法院;想知道更多與此案有關的資訊,可以參考文章最後的連結。美國最高法院過去已明確裁決,不允許在招生程序中帶有明確的種族偏見,但大學也規避了這項裁決,避免明確的種族比例,並強調它們一向會評估申請者的整體條件,考量一系列學術與非學術的表現。因此,大學的論述核心即為:「亞洲人的平均學術表現優秀,但另一方面,平均而言,他們在非學術上的表現較差;太過聚焦於標準測驗成績的研究發現的差異,也正反映了此事。」

 

再者,許多精英美國大學認為,為了維持豐富的學習環境,它們得確保學生組成的多元性,而種族多元性也正是其中一項元素。它們強調,它們致力於在招生過程中使用收入等「種族中立」因素,來達成種族多元性,但也無法在完全無視種族的情況下,達到健全的種族多元性水準。美國最高法院在最近期的裁決之中 (Fisher v. University of Texas at Austin,2013年6月),也支持這樣的論據;最高法院認定,只要大學能「用具說服力的方式證明,任何可行的種族中立替代手段皆無法創造」與大學教育使命相符的「多元化教育利益」,大學招生人員的決策就不必無視種族。接下來幾年,這場論辯並不會停歇,法律環境也確實有可能改變;因此,大學在招生之時依舊得面對這個議題。

 

這場論辯對Uni Prep來說極為重要,因為那會直接衝擊我們以台灣人或台裔美國人居多的學生。它的重要之處有二。其一,我們的學生和教練必須知曉真正的現實;舉例而言,我們的教練和學生在打造大學清單、檢視各所大學的ACT、SAT分數等平均招生數據之時,必須調整這些總體統計數據,以反映亞洲人和國際申請者面臨的較高門檻。其二,我們全都必須為亞洲社群發聲,改革這套看似帶有歧視的系統。

 

這篇文章無法完整詳述Uni Prep在這場論辯中的看法,但總結而言,我們理解在大學校園保持種族多元性的論據,也同意在招生過程中保有某種形式的平權主動作為,方能達成一定程度的多元性。然而,我們相信,當前的招生偏好,讓亞洲學生所陷入的劣勢,已到達不可接受的水準,更別提亞洲申請者面臨的劣勢比白人更大。就算真有證據能顯示 (雖然我們尚未見到確切的證據),亞洲申請者的平均非學術表現不如白人申請者,這種「非學術成就」上的差異,似乎也與招生數據上的差異不成比例。美國大學招生一直到60年前,都還有嚴重歧視猶太裔美國人的問題,而現況似乎是,亞裔美國人也面臨著類似的歧視;如此現況不該繼續持續下去。

 

即使如此,解決當前的法律問題需要花費許多時間,在此同時,亞洲學生也必須認清這套系統目前的運作方式,並有所應對。如果你是打算申請美國學校的亞洲人,當前情勢之下的重要洞見即為:

  • 學術上而言,大多數亞洲申請者目前必須面臨較高的標準,因此,你必須在學術上取得更高的分數,GPA如此,標準測驗亦是如此。
  • 在入學門檻較高的美國大學,招生人員似乎對他們所謂的「單面向」亞洲申請者,亦即似乎僅專注於在校成績和測驗分數的亞洲學生,懷有負面偏見。你必須展現你在非學術領域亦有高度成就,而且單只是擔任樂團首席或校刊主編是不夠的。想更深入了解何謂高度的非學術成就,可以參考這篇討論該加入、不該加入哪些社團的文章,以及這篇解釋突出之處與良好課外活動之別的文章。

 

Uni Prep的突出教練課程,主要目標就是協助學生發展令人驚艷的非學術表現。我們特別專注於東亞 (目前為台灣) 的國際學生,部分原因在於,此處的需求最為顯著。這裡的大學招生幾乎完全以學術表現 (亦即入學考試) 為基準,學生如果想將主要焦點放上非學術成就,也得面對強大的文化壓力。

 

如果你想進一步了解如何克服所謂的「亞洲稅」,請點擊這裡聯絡我們、預約諮詢時間。如果你是我們的學生/家長,而且想了解亞洲稅會為你帶來什麼樣的衝擊,你可以預約專屬諮詢服務。

 

最後,你也可以閱讀下列文章、論文和書籍,深入地了解這場論辯:

The “Asian Tax” In College Admissions

The “Asian Tax” In College Admissions

The “Asian Tax” In College Admissions 595 417 Lloyd Nimetz

According to research from Princeton University, students who identify as Asian must score, on average, 140 points higher on the SAT (out of 1600) than whites to have the same chance of admission to private colleges. They must score 450 points higher on the SAT than African-Americans. This is the “Asian Tax” that some refer to and, while this research’s direct quantification of bias might be interesting, the fact that Asians have to do better academically than others to get admitted into selective US colleges shouldn’t come as a big surprise to anyone somewhat familiar with college admissions.

This is a particularly hot debate right now due to the SFFA v. Harvard case that is currently pending in the US District Court for the District of Massachusetts and, many think, is likely to be seen by the US Supreme Court. See the article links below to learn more about this case. The US Supreme Court has held in the past that explicit race-based biases in college admissions is not permitted. But colleges have historically been able to work around the Court’s rulings by avoiding explicit race-based quotas and by arguing that their admissions committees evaluate applicants holistically, taking into consideration a range of both academic and more intangible non-academic factors. The colleges’ argument, in essence, states: “Asians are, on average, academically high-achieving, but are also, on average, lower-achieving non-academically, and this accounts for the discrepancy in studies that focus too much on standardized test scores.”

Many elite US colleges argue that in order to maintain a rich-learning environment, they need to ensure a diverse student body and that includes, in part, racial diversity. They argue that they make an effort to achieve this racial-diversity in admissions based on “race-neutral” factors like income but cannot be completely blind to race to achieve a healthy level of racial diversity. This argument was supported by the US Supreme Court’s recent June 2013 ruling on this issue, Fisher v. University of Texas at Austin. In Fisher, the Court held that universities’ admissions decisions need not be blind to race if the university can “convincingly prove that no workable race-neutral alternatives produce the educational benefits of diversity” consistent with the University’s educational mission.

This debate is of utmost important to the team at Uni Prep because it directly impacts our students, who primarily consist of Taiwanese and Taiwanese-American students, for two reasons. First, our students and their coaches, need to be aware of the reality of their situation. When our students and coaches are building college lists and look at admissions statistics of different colleges, such as average ACT & SAT scores, they need to adjust these population-wide statistics to reflect the numbers for Asian and International applicants. Second, we all need to advocate on behalf of the Asian community to reform what appears on its face may be a discriminatory system.

While there isn’t space in this post to fully address Uni Prep’s view on this debate, in short, we understand the argument in favor of racial diversity on college campuses and support the argument that some type of affirmative action in admissions is required to achieve some level of diversity. However, we believe that the extent to which admissions preferences currently disadvantage Asians is not acceptable especially given the strong evidence that they disadvantage white applicants much less than they do Asians. Even assuming for the sake of argument that that Asian applicants are less non-academically competitive, on average, than white applicants, any difference in “non-academic achievement” appears to be disproportionate to the discrepancy seen in the admissions numbers. As recently as 60 years ago elite US college admissions severely discriminated against American Jews, and this history of discrimination is repeating itself today with Asian Americans.This state of affairs is not acceptable.

Despite the lengthy discussion above, it will take significant time to resolve the legal issues at hand. In the meantime, it is imperative for Asian students to acknowledge how the system currently works and respond accordingly.

If you are Asian and applying to top US colleges, then the most useful insights to take away from this situation are:

  • You need to score higher academically, on both your GPA and standardized tests, because Asian applicants are currently judged at a higher standard for the time being.
  • You need to show that you are also non-academically high-achieving, which doesn’t simply mean being first chair in orchestra or editor-in-chief of the newspaper. At selective US colleges, admissions officers appear to have a bias against what they consider “one-dimensional” Asian applicants: those who seem to only focus on grades and test scores.  To learn more about what we mean by non-academically high-achieving, check out our blog post on which clubs are best to join and not join and another blog post that explains the difference between a Spike and good extracurriculars.

The Spike Lab’s Spike Coaching program is designed to help students address the latter insight: supporting students’ efforts to develop an impressive non-academic candidacy profile. We are particularly focused on international students in East Asia because that is where the need is the most pronounced. This is where University admissions is almost completely based on academics (i.e. entrance exams), and students have to work against a strong cultural norm to focus primarily on non-academic achievement.

If you want to learn more about how to overcome the so-called “Asian Tax”, then click here or contact us to set up a consultation session. If you’re a current student/parent and want to learn more about how the Asian Tax impacts you, then you should set up a concierge session to do so.

Lastly consider the following articles, papers and books to delve deeper into this debate on your own:

Lloyd Nimetz

Serial entrepreneur, educator, investor, milonguero, dog-lover and Coach, Founder & CEO of The Spike Lab

Read more by: Lloyd Nimetz