為何需要「突出」教練?

為何需要「突出」教練?

為何需要「突出」教練? 800 524 Theo Wolf

這篇文章的目標,就是回答學生最常問、也最重要的問題:為何The Spike Lab大學顧問服務這麼注重「突出之處」(Spike),其他的大學顧問服務卻不是如此?

私人大學顧問服務和最優秀的高中,都會提供大致相同的大學顧問服務,為學生提供的協助包括:

  • 訂出大學名單
  • 選擇並準備標準化考試
  • 選擇合適的課程
  • 申請大學(含論文協助)

例如下列兩個連結,就是相當受推崇的私人大學顧問公司的課程說明:Top Tier AdmissionsVeritas Prep。它們的方法略有不同,對自家服務的解釋亦小有差異,但它們提供的服務十分相似。

The Spike Lab同樣會提供這些服務,但我們更專精於協助學生打造自身的突出之處。這篇文章的目的,即為解釋為什麼我們這麼強調突出之處。

簡短的答案就是,由於頂尖大學的競爭變得極為激烈,單靠舊有的升學顧問輔導已經不足;學生必須展現與眾不同之處,才能獲得這些學校的錄取。如下圖所示,過去十年裡,頂尖大學的申請人數大幅增加,招收的新生人數卻大致相同,因此錄取率也快速下滑。

競爭上升,亦將門檻抬升至前所未見的程度。優秀的在校成績和標準測驗分數是必備條件,但這還不足夠。事實上,大多數擁有完美測驗成績的學生,並沒有成功進入他們最喜愛的大學;2014年,擁有2400分SAT完美成績的史丹佛申請者之中,超過69%沒有獲得錄取(2014年是它們最後一次公佈這個不太有趣的現實)。

史丹佛招生事務長Richard Shaw最近表示,「申請2020年班的學生極度優秀,也讓我們十分讚嘆。我們相信,這些學生將以難以量計的方式影響世界。學術成就當然重要,但我們也會檢視相關證據,看看這些年輕人是否心懷熱情、能否為我們這個社群帶來獨特的事物。」

像史丹佛這樣的頂尖大學,希望能招收這樣的學生:

  • 能夠為大學社群帶來可觀的價值
  • 畢業後能對世界產生重大影響

想預測學生對大學社群、對世界未來的影響,最好的方式就是觀察過去的影響,正因為如此,高中時期的「突出之處」對招生人員來說極為重要;如果學生可以在高中時期靠著自己完成了不起的事物,想像一下,他們在獲得史丹佛的教育、網絡和學位之後,會創造多麼驚人的成就!相反地,對於不具備突出之處的學生,招生人員就比較無法確信未來他們能夠創造偉大的成就。

去年,一位前哈佛招生人員告訴我,他們並不是在尋找擁有全方位能力的學生,而是想打造全方位的新生班級。換句話說,他們想要高中時期就有「突出之處」的學生──在獨特又有趣的小眾事物之上,擁有深度成就、知識和熱情的學生。

數字有助說明此事,以史丹佛的招生數字為例,如下表所示,史丹佛在2016年有約44,000位申請者,卻只招收約2,000位學生(精確來說,是2,063位),總體錄取率為4.5%*,其中有745人提早獲得錄取。一般人會將焦點放在這些數字,但這些數字亦無法描繪全貌。實際的情況下,史丹佛招生人員會先排除顯然資格不足的學生,人數約為10,000人。這些學生無法獲得錄取的原因相當多,可能是標準測驗成績太低、在校成績不佳、申請文件不夠好或不正確、英語能力不足,或是課外活動太少等等。

* 表中的總申請人數為官方數字(四捨五入簡化),但其他項目的數字,則是出自我們的最佳預測。招生單位並沒有使用這樣的分類,現實更加複雜,「強大」和「突出」的申請者之間,也沒有絕對的界線。

初次讀完所有的申請文件之後(平均每份文件只會花15分鐘),招生人員會快速選出「傑出」申請者,將這一小部分的申請者放進「錄取」區,也就代表學校會錄取他們;這些學生擁有強大的學術表現,也擁有能讓他們在34,000人中脫穎而出的「突出之處」。

大多數申請者(在這個例子中為33,000人),並不屬於「突出」這個類別。從收到申請書到寄出錄取和不錄取通知之間,招生人員絕大多數的工作,就是從這33,000人中挑出獲得錄取的申請者。他們會舉行一連串的「委員會」的討論,招生人員會在會議中針對每一位申請者展開辯論,再由委員會決定要錄取哪些學生。

我們一口氣提供了非常多資訊,但重點在於,招生人員大多數的時間,是花在挑出33,000人中的那1,100人,也就是3.3%的綠取率。顯然地,你會比較希望自己是第一類,也就是錄取率為90%的那一組學生。

正因為如此,突出教練才會這麼重要。突出教練的目標,就是將你從中段的「強力候選人」,提升至錄取率高出許多的頂級類別。如果你心想:「糟糕了,我覺得自己沒辦法發展突出之處」,這樣想就錯了。發展令人印象深刻的突出之處當然不容易,不然大家早就這麼做了,但只要你全心投入並尋求協助,它其實並沒有大多數學生想像得那麼難。以我們的經驗來說,只要投入足夠的時間、獲取足夠的協助並保持紀律,幾乎所有優秀的學生都有能力辦到這件事。

為何The Spike Lab是第一個提供突出教練服務的機構?

值得一提的是,大多數資深大學顧問,現在都會建議有意攻讀頂尖大學的學生發展突出之處,只是會使用不同的稱呼。非常多顧問曾經對我說,「天啊,如果我的學生先加入你的課程,再來找我協助他們的大學申請論文,我的工作真的會輕鬆很多。」

其他大學顧問(還)沒有提供突出教練服務,原因在於這樣的輔導需要不同的技能以及極為不同的課程。也就是說,突出教練和大學顧問習慣的工作內容極為不同。

他們通常來自招生世界,而不是創業世界。我畢業於史丹佛商學院、創立了四間企業,亦曾於矽谷工作,經歷了新創育成興起,以及高層及創業者教練的崛起(有趣的是,教練現在是史丹佛商學院最熱門的課程之一,但在十年前根本沒有這樣的課程)。我曾經也有自己的創業教練(非常推薦),亦曾獲選加入兩個新創育成/加速創業輔導計畫。更近期一些,我主導了新創加速輔導計畫,為美國各地的教育創業者提供教練服務。因此,我十分熟悉優秀的創業者教練課程該是什麼模樣,也能請教顧問、協助我們打造專屬高中學生的世界級課程。

分享這些事物並不是為了吹噓,而是為了點明,即使大學顧問知道突出發展非常重要、即使他們會建議學生找出展現自身獨特之處的方法,他們並沒有自力打造這種創業課程表的專業能力。基本上,這樣的課程就是每一位學生專屬的私人迷你育成器,與大學顧問接受的傳統訓練極為不同。

大學顧問不提供突出教練服務,還有另外兩個原因:

  • 大部分大學顧問會將焦點放在各個種類的學生之上,而大部分學生實在難以進入頂尖美國大學,不值得為了為極少比例的學生,花時間發展完整的突出教練課程。
  • 大部分大學顧問是在高中後段、申請大學開始佔據學生腦海之時,才開始與學生合作。到了高二下學期(大部分大學顧問通常是在這時開始與學生會面),發展突出之處也已經太遲;因此,提供突出教練服務並不合理。

突出教練最能說服人心之處,就是它真的有用!注意一下身邊那些獲得許多頂尖大學錄取的人,如果你一時之間看不出他們的突出之處,就多花點心思觀察;他們幾乎必定擁有某種突出之處。那些獲得數間頂尖大學錄取的人,不會讓你有這種看不出突出之處的感覺;他們能獲得多間頂尖大學錄取並非偶然,而是因為他們擁有優秀的學術表現和突出之處。

這個主題對我來說十分個人,因為那也是我的故事。我在1997年申請大學之時,屬於上方列表中的「強力」類別(當然,我是在很久以後才發現此事)。我的成績接近高中的頂尖,也是足球和曲棍球校隊的隊長;我擁有全方位能力,但沒有突出之處。因此,我沒能獲得史丹佛(我心目中的首選)錄取。2006年、大學畢業五年之後,我申請商學院碩士,亦獲得了每一間學校錄取,史丹佛和哈佛也不例外。我的學術表現同樣優秀(但也絕對不完美),但差別在於,我在畢業後移居阿根廷,並創立了非常成功的非營利組織HelpArgentina。當時我並不知道,但那就是我的突出之處,也讓我得以獲得各間頂尖商學院的錄取。創立The Spike Lab的原因之一就是,我希望自己在高中時,就能知道我現在知道的事,我也認為所有的高中生和他們的家長,都應該知道這些資訊。

總結來說,重要之處在於,突出教練並不適合所有人。你必須已經是擁有高度成就的學生;你必須擁有一定程度的主動性;你得想要做某件雄心十足、朋友都沒有在做、學校不支持的事。不過,你不必擁有明確的突出之處!大多數學生不敢接受這樣的挑戰,是因為那似乎遙不可及,但事實並非如此。正如我們大部分的學生,一開始,你可能也不知道自己的突出之處為何;你可以從小處起步、一點一點地發展,有一天,你就會突然發現,原來你已經有了突出之處。

The Case For Spike Coaching

The Case For Spike Coaching

The Case For Spike Coaching 800 524 Lloyd Nimetz

This post is dedicated to answering the most frequent and the most important question that we get from prospective students: Why does The Spike Lab’s college counseling program focus so heavily on Spike coaching when other college counselors don’t?

The very best high school and private college counselors offer some form of the same college counseling service. This service includes helping students:

  • identify their college list,
  • choose and prep for standardized tests,
  • select the right classes, and
  • apply for the colleges — including essay support.

For example here are links to the program description of a few other well-respected private college counseling companies: Top Tier Admissions and Veritas Prep. They have slightly different approaches and explain their services a little differently, but they have a very similar service offering.

At The Spike Lab we do all this, but we also specialize in helping our students build their Spike. This post is designed to explain why.

The quick answer is because it has become dramatically more competitive to get into a top college and so the old way to counsel students isn’t enough anymore. Students need to differentiate themselves more to get into these schools. As seen in the chart below, over the last decade the number of applications these top tier colleges are receiving has grown exponentially but the number of spaces in their freshman class has remained almost the same. Therefore the acceptance rates have been dropping rapidly.

This increased competitiveness has lead to unprecedented selectivity. Top grades and standardized test scores are now necessary but not sufficient. In fact most students with perfect tests scores now don’t get into their favorite colleges; more than 69% of the applicants to Stanford in 2014 who had perfect SAT scores of 2400 didn’t get in (2014 is the last time they divulged that not-so-fun fact).

Richard Shaw, Stanford’s Dean of Admissions, recently said, “We are overwhelmed by the exceptional accomplishments of the students admitted to the Class of 2020. We believe these students will impact the world in immeasurable ways. Of course academic credentials are important, but we’re also looking for evidence that these young people have a passion and will bring something to our community that is unique.”

Top colleges like Stanford want exceptional students who they feel confident will:

  • add considerable value to their college community, and
  • go on after college to have a major impact on the world.

The best way to predict future impact — in the college community and in the world — is from past impact. That’s why a Spike in high school is so important to admissions officers. If they see that a student is able to accomplish great things in high school on their own, just imagine what would be possible with a Stanford education, network and credential behind them! Conversely if a student doesn’t have a Spike, then colleges admissions officers are less confident that the student will go on to achieve great things in the future.

One former Harvard admissions officer told me last year that they’re not looking for well-rounded students but instead they are looking to build out a well-rounded freshman class of students. In other words, they want students with a Spike in high school — deep achievements, knowledge and passion in a unique and interesting niche.

Numbers help elucidate this point so let’s use Stanford’s Admissions numbers as an example. As you see in the chart below, Stanford had approximately 44,000 applicants for only 2,000 seats (2,063 to be exact) — a 4.5% overall admittance rate*. 745 were admitted early. These are the metrics that people usually focus on, but they don’t tell the full story. What’s really happening is that Stanford’s admissions officers are first automatically rejecting a percentage of these applicants who clearly don’t make the cut — somewhere on the order of 10,000. These students are cut for a range of reasons. Their standardized test scores might be too low; their grades might be too low; their application might be poorly or incorrectly filled out; their english proficiency might be too low; or they clearly might not have enough extracurriculars.

* The total admissions numbers in the chart above are official numbers (rounded for simplicity), but we’ve made up the numbers for the other categories based on our best approximations. Please note that these categorizations don’t really exist in admissions offices. The reality is more complex wherein there isn’t such an absolute cut off between ‘strong’ and ‘spike’ applicants.

After a first read of all applications (on average only 15 minutes per application), the admissions officers then quickly select a small percentage of applicants who are ‘exceptional’ and put them in the “admit” pile (after a another quick review from the Dean), meaning that they will be accepted. These are the students who are academically strong but also have a Spike that makes them stand out from the other 34,000 applicants who weren’t immediately rejected.

Most applicants, 33,000 in this example, are not in this “Spike” category. The vast majority of the admissions officers’ work, from the time they receive the applications to the time they send out all the acceptances and rejections, is to figure out who to admit from this group of 33,000 students. They have a series of meetings usually called ‘committee meetings’ during which admissions officers present and debate each of these applicants and the committee makes decisions on who to admit and who not to.

There is a lot of information here but the important point to takeaway is that they are spending most of their time figuring out which 1,100 students out of 33,000 should be admitted — 3.3%. Obviously you’d much rather be in the first category where 90% of students get admitted.

This is why Spike coaching is so important. The purpose of Spike coaching is to get you from the middle “strong candidate” category in this chart to the top category where your probability of admittance is much higher. If you’re thinking, well that’s great, but I don’t think I can develop a Spike, then think again. It’s definitely not easy to develop an impressive Spike or else everyone would do it, but it’s actually much easier than most students think if you commit yourself to it and get support. In our experience almost all high-achieving students are capable of it with the right amount of time, discipline and support.

Why is The Spike Lab the first to do Spike coaching?

It’s first worth pointing out that most experienced college counselors are now recommending to students who want to get into a top college that they develop out a Spike — although they don’t call it that. I can’t tell you how many counselors have told me, “man, if my students had gone through your program before coming to me for help on their college essay, then my job would be so much easier.”

Other college counselors don’t do Spike coaching — yet — for a number of reasons. It requires developing a different skill-set and a very different type of program. In other words, Spike coaching is very different work than college counselors are accustomed to doing.

They usually come from the world of admissions and not the world of entrepreneurship. I went to Stanford Business School, founded four companies and worked in Silicon Valley where I lived through the emergence of startup incubators and the rise of executive and entrepreneurship coaching. (Fun fact: Coaching is now one of the most popular classes at Stanford Business School even though the class didn’t even exist a decade ago.) I had my own entrepreneurship coach at one point (who I highly recommend) and was selected to participate in two startup incubators/accelerators. More recently I ran a startup accelerator that coached education entrepreneurs from across the country. Two of my startups were successful and I’ve since sold them. My nonprofit has also been successful and is about to celebrate our 15 year anniversary! Therefore I was familiar with what a sophisticated entrepreneurship coaching program looks like and could call on advisors to help us build a world-class program that works for high school students.

I’m not sharing this to boast but rather to explain that although college counselors know that Spike development is important and although they counsel their students to find ways to be unique or exceptional, they haven’t had the expertise to build out this type of entrepreneurship curriculum themselves. The program is essentially a mini, private incubator for each student we work with and that very different from what college counselors have traditionally been trained to do.

There are two other reasons college counselors don’t do Spike coaching:

  • Most college counselors focus on all types of students, most of whom have no chance of getting into a top US College. It’s not a practical use of their time to develop out a comprehensive Spike coaching program for a very small percentage of their students.
  • Also most college counselors start working with students starting late in high school when the college applications start to loom heavy on the students’ minds. By the second semester of junior year — when most college counselors normally start seeing their students — it’s too late to start developing your Spike so once again it wouldn’t make sense to do Spike coaching.

The most compelling case for Spike coaching is that it works! Look around at people you know who got into most of their top choice US colleges. If you don’t immediately identify a Spike, then investigate a little more; they almost always have a Spike of some sort. For the ones that get into most colleges, it is not random. They get admitted to most of the schools they apply to because they have great academics and a Spike.

This topic is very personal for me because it is also my story. When I applied to college in 1997, I was in the “strong” category from the chart above. (Of course, I only realized that much later in my life.) I was towards the top of my high school class and captain of my soccer and hockey teams. I was well-rounded, but I didn’t have a Spike. As a result, I didn’t get into my top-choice college, Stanford. In 2006 five years after graduating from college, I applied to business schools and got in everywhere including Stanford and Harvard. My academics were similarly strong (although definitely not perfect), but the difference was that I had lived in Argentina after college and founded a successful non-profit organization called HelpArgentina. I didn’t know it at the time, but that was my Spike, and it got me into all the top business schools. Part of the reason for founding The Spike Lab was because I wish I had known in High School what I know now, and I think all High School students and parents should have that information.

To conclude, it’s important to note that Spike coaching isn’t right for everyone. You need to already be a high-achieving student; you need to have a degree of self-initiative; you need to want take on something ambitious that your friends aren’t doing and your school doesn’t support. What you don’t need is to already have a clear Spike! Most students get scared to take on this challenge because it seems unattainable but in reality it isn’t. Like most of our students, you will probably not know what your Spike should be in the beginning and you will start small and build on it over time. Before you know it, you’ll have a Spike!

Lloyd Nimetz

Serial entrepreneur, educator, investor, milonguero, dog-lover and Coach, Founder & CEO of The Spike Lab

Read more by: Lloyd Nimetz