進入美國菁英大學的前門、側門與後門

進入美國菁英大學的前門、側門與後門

進入美國菁英大學的前門、側門與後門 1080 674 Theo Wolf

身處大學顧問社群的我們,早已注意到了那個問題,過去兩週爆發的大學招生醜聞,也將它公諸於世:世上有非常多行為可疑的大學申請顧問。申請菁英大學是場激烈無比的競爭,情急的家長很容易就會受到他人影響,選擇不道德、甚至是非法的手段,有時,他們根本不知道這些手段有問題,或是誤以為「所有人都這樣」。

過去,我們能給予家長的最強烈警告就是,與這種顧問合作不符道德原則、可能造成負面影響、長期而言對孩子沒有幫助,而且會讓你和其他人的孩子都失去公平競爭的機會。本次醜聞顯示,這類行為可能帶來極為嚴重的後果,包括喪盡顏面、刑事訴訟、罰款、家長可能得入獄服刑、停學、開除學籍、在孩子身上留下永久的問號(未來雇主和孩子自己,或許都會有這樣的疑惑:他們一開始究竟是否有資格獲得錄取?)等。頂尖大學已立即聯手展開行動,確保這種事永遠不會再次發生;也就是說,它們會更有戒心,會仔細檢視任何帶有一絲作弊氣味的事物,特別是來自東亞的申請者,因為這種不道德顧問服務在東亞最為普遍,整宗醜聞背後的首腦,亦曾與大量中國學生合作

此外,本次醜聞亦促使眾人開始討論大學招生倫理,特別是菁英大學的「後門」和「側門」。

先談談「正門」前門代表靠優秀表現獲得錄取,99%的學生都是走這道門。用正常方式申請大學,代表你嘗試與另外數百萬名學生一同擠進這道門;學校會評斷你的表現,以及你能為校園作出的貢獻。毫無疑問,這是最正確的入學方式。

再來是「後門」。家長向大學捐贈巨額款項(通常為數百萬美元以上),學生就能走這道門。這完全合法,技術上也算是「道德」,但由於本次醜聞和「哈佛招生訴訟案」,這道門獲得了更多關注,其道德性也愈加受到質疑。唯有極度富有的人,才能受惠於這道門(只有億萬富豪才能捐出足以影響招生決策的巨額金錢)。

最後就是「側門」。本次醜聞等同於公開證實了這道門的存在。走側門的方式包括賄賂相關人員、測驗作弊,以及其他不道德及非法行為。許多可疑的私人顧問(特別是在顧問不必接受規範和檢視的東亞),會嘗試讓學生走這道門。基於前文所述的理由,實在不該選擇這道門。那麼,顧問最常使用的「側門」策略有哪些?聘用顧問時,該如何判斷他們是否會做出不道德的行為?

下列行為不但有可能導致罰款、開除學籍、刑事罪名,還會影響所有亞洲學生的名聲、影響所有人的錄取機會。

可疑顧問最常使用的側門策略如下:

  1. 賄賂標準測驗機構的成員或監試者。很不幸,這種類型的作弊十分常見,亦是SATACT過去醜聞的肇因,並導致大學非常不信任國際學生的標準測驗成績。它有非常多型式,最常見的包括:
    • 在測驗結束後修改你的答案
    • 請槍手代考
    • 預先給你測驗的答案
  2. 代寫論文。大學論文是學生表達自我、展現寫作能力的機會。可疑顧問會替學生寫論文,但這對學生沒有任何好處。首先,如果論文感覺起來不夠真實,可能危及整份申請文件,使得申請者被完全排除在外。這麼做的風險,最近也變得特別大,因為許多大學現在要求國際學生接受錄影面試。若論文與錄影出現不一致性,不但申請者會立刻遭到拒絕錄取,還會影響申請者所屬高中的名聲、影響這所高中的每一位未來申請者。其二,大學預期學生擁有一定程度的素質和能力;交出作弊論文,代表你還無法應付大學水準的課堂作業。
  3. 在申請文件中捏造事實。許多學生害怕自己沒有任何吸引人之處,不好的顧問則會加深這種恐懼。有時,學生會「盜用」朋友、甚至是書籍或電影中的人生經歷,希望這能讓自己更有吸引力。招生人員有能力判斷造假,甚至還曾經見過,兩位來自相同高中的學生,竟然交出一模一樣的人生故事!
  4. 賄賂醫生、取得學習障礙證明,延長你的標準測驗時限。這是十分常見的行為,有些人也為此花費數千美元。如同第1點,這會讓大學更加不信任所有國際學生測驗成績。

這些不道德的行為,不但會傷害正直的申請者,而且根本沒有必要。我們的學生從來不做這些事,申請大學的表現依舊亮眼,88%獲得「盡力爭取」學校的錄取。只要投入心力,實在沒理由走不進正門。

尋找大學申請顧問之時,請注意下列警訊,因為它們代表,顧問願意為了個人和金錢上的利益走側門,危及孩子的未來:

  1. 保證錄取。任何遵守規範的人,都無法保證孩子獲得錄取,校長和校隊教練也不例外。就算是大學教授也無法給予保證:一位USC的教授和他的孩子,亦陷入了近期的醜聞之中。顧問向你保證錄取某間學校,代表他是在說謊、從事不法行為,或兩者皆有。
  2. 承諾代寫論文。我們先前已經談過這種行為。修改和回饋不成問題,但承諾代寫論文,違反了大學招生流程的基本規範。
  3. 收取巨額費用。我們見過十分誇張的收費,從5萬美元到100萬美元皆有。這實在太過荒謬,而且是在浪費金錢;最多只要花費3萬美元,就能取得極高品質的教練服務。嘗試說服你付出更多金錢、嘗試告訴你這麼做真的有幫助的人,根本不值得信任。
  4. 完全取決於申請結果的收費機制。部分企業會在學生錄取好學校之時,收費大額費用。如果企業是出於財務誘因,才想讓你的孩子就讀更好的學校,採行極端、不道德或非法手段的機會也比較高。我們確實能理解,家長可能會想提供顧問一些誘因;依據申請結果給予獎金,或許也不成問題。不過,如果遇到完全取決於申請結果的收費機制,務必謹慎以待。
  5. 收取大學提供的招募費。許多低排名大學會付費給國際顧問,藉此增加申請者。大學不能在美國做這種事,但在國外做並不違法,或許,這是因為許多學校非常需要外籍生繳交的學費,才能勉強維持運作。這是巨大的利益衝突,而且顧問不會主動告訴你,也就是說,顧問可能會鼓勵你申請某間不適合你的學校,只因為這麼做可以帶來金錢收入。你應該詢問顧問人選是否有收取招募費(但他們不一定會誠實回答)。如果顧問建議你申請奇怪、低排名、似乎不是非常適合你的學校,背後的因素或許就是招募費。
  6. 任何不遵守NACAC倫理準則的人。美國大學申請諮詢協會(NACAC)的倫理準則,是大學顧問規範中的黃金標準,也是每一位顧問(無論是否為NACAC的會員)都應該遵循的準則。如果你不知道顧問是否遵守此準則,務必開口詢問。

申請大學有如一段令人卻步的嚇人旅程,你也應該百分之百確定,你的領航員值得信任,而且非常在乎你的利益。由近期醜聞來看,選擇錯誤人選的代價,確實應該謹記在心。大學必定會花費大量金錢,提升探查非法及不道德行為的能力,也會與執法單位等機構合作,將不道德的申請顧問和他們的客戶送入法庭。

雖然大學申請顧問並非我們的主要任務,我們還是非常樂意提供顧問服務,協助我們的學生,以及其他認定我們是合適顧問人選的傑出學生。我們為每一位學生提供走入正門的最佳機會,也對此十分自豪。正如一位家長本週所言,「這宗醜聞顯示,許多人非常渴望抄捷徑,但事實上根本沒有捷徑。你們提供了最棒的長期解決方案。」你可以點選這個連結,進一步了解我們的課程。

The Front, Side and Back Doors into Elite US Colleges

The Front, Side and Back Doors into Elite US Colleges

The Front, Side and Back Doors into Elite US Colleges 1080 674 Theo Wolf

The college admissions scandal of the past two weeks brought into the public eye something we’ve been aware of for a long time in the niche community of college advisors: there are a lot of sketchy counselors out there. In the rat race that is elite college admissions, it’s very easy for desperate parents to be talked into taking unethical and even illegal action, sometimes without realizing it or under the false pretense that “everyone does it.”

In the past, the strongest warning we’ve given parents is that working with these advisors is unethical, could backfire, won’t help your child in the long run, and robs your child and other children of a fair shot at admissions. What the scandal has revealed is that there can be very dire consequences for these actions, including public humiliation, criminal charges, fines, and possibly prison time for the parents, and suspension, expulsion, and/or a permanent academic question mark for the children (both future employers and the children themselves may wonder if they deserved to be admitted in the first place). Top colleges are taking immediate coordinated action to make sure that this type of thing never happens again, which means that they will be increasingly vigilant when it comes to anything that smells of cheating or fraud. This is particularly true for applicants coming from East Asia, since this type of unethical counseling is most prevalent in East Asia and the ringleader behind this entire scandal worked extensively with students from China.

Additionally, the scandal has sparked a broader conversation about the ethics of college admissions, especially as it relates to the so-called “back” and “side” doors into elite colleges.

The “front door.” This is for students who get in on merit. 99% of students go through this door. When you apply to college the normal way, you’re trying to get in through the front door along with millions of other students every year. You’re judged on your merit and on what you can contribute to each campus. This is the most unequivocally ethical way to get into a school.

Then there’s the “back door.” This is for students whose parents make massive gifts to a university (usually millions of dollars or more). These are completely legal and technically “ethical,” although that ethicality has been increasingly called into question, with the spotlight being shined on it from this scandal and the Harvard affirmative action lawsuit. This back door only benefits the ultra wealthy (since only billionaires can make the kinds of major gifts that influence admissions decisions).

Lastly, there’s the “side door.” The existence of this door has been very publicly confirmed through the scandal. The side door involves bribing officials, cheating on tests, or other unethical and illegal activity. Many sketchy private counselors (and particularly in East Asia, where they go unregulated and unchecked) try to get students in through this side door. This is not the door you want to go through for the multitude of reasons stated above. So what are some of the most common “side door” strategies counselors will employ, and how can you know if a counselor is going to act unethically when hiring them?

Below are things that not only could get you fined, expelled, or criminally convicted, but things that give a bad name to all Asian students and hurt everyone’s chances.

 

Here are the most common side door strategies counselors will employ:

  1. Bribing a standardized test officer or proctor. This form of cheating is unfortunately very common and has been the cause of SAT and ACT scandals in the past, which has resulted in a huge distrust by colleges of standardized test scores from international students. This can take many different forms but these are the most common:
    • Correcting your answers after you take the test
    • Letting someone else take the test for you
    • Giving you the answers in advance
  2. Writing essays for students. College essays are the one opportunity for students to express themselves and to show their writing abilities. Unethical counselors will write essays for their students, which doesn’t do students any favors. First of all, if the essay doesn’t feel authentic it can call the legitimacy of the entire application into question and get the whole thing thrown out. This has become particularly risky lately because many colleges now require recorded video interviews with international applicants. Inconsistencies between that video and a student’s essays will mean an instant rejection and will undermine the applicant’s high school’s reputation for all future applicants as well. Second, colleges expect a certain level of quality and ability from students; if you cheat on an essay, it means you’re not ready to handle college level coursework.
  3. Making things up on your application that aren’t true. Many students fear that they don’t have anything that makes them interesting, and bad counselors reinforce this fear. Students sometimes “steal” life experiences from friends or even books/movies to try to make themselves more interesting. Admissions officers have a sense for these and have even received the same exact life story from two students at the same high school!
  4. Bribing a doctor to say you have a learning disorder so you can have extended time when taking standardized tests. This is an unfortunately common practice, which people sometimes paying thousands of dollars for. As with #1, this undermines trust in the scores of all international students.

Beyond being unethical and hurting honest applicants, these actions are unnecessary. Our students never do any of these things and still have incredibly strong admission results, with 88% getting admitted into their reach colleges. If you put in the hard work, there’s no reason you can’t get in through the front door.

When you’re looking for a college counselor, look out for the following red flags, which signal that they’re willing to use side doors and jeopardize your child’s future for their own personal and monetary gain:

  1. Admissions guarantees. No one playing by the rules — including college presidents or athletic coaches — can guarantee college admissions. Even being a professor at a school doesn’t give you a guarantee: a USC professor whose kids were applying to USC was caught in the latest scandal. Any advisor that promises you admission into a certain school is lying and/or doing something illegal.
  2. Promising to write your essays for you. We already mentioned this as one way that sketchy advisors operate. Edits and feedback are okay, but anyone who says they’ll write your essays for you is breaking a cardinal rule of the college application process.
  3. Charging an astronomical amount. We’ve seen people charge anywhere from $50,000 to $1 million. This is absurd and a waste of money. You can get incredibly high quality coaching for $30,000 or less. Anyone who tries to convince you that paying more is somehow worth it shouldn’t be trusted.
  4. Pricing schemes entirely based on admissions outcomes. Some companies will charge significantly more for admission to better schools. If companies are financially motivated to get your kid into a better school, they’re more likely to take desperate (including unethical or illegal) measures to get you in. We understand the instinct to want to motivate your counselor, and an outcomes-based bonus can be okay, but be very careful about pricing schemes based entirely around outcomes.
  5. Getting recruitment/placement fees from universities. A lot of lower-tier universities will pay international consultants to help them get applicants. This is improper for them to do in the U.S., but somehow not illegal for them to do abroad, presumably because many schools are desperate for foreigners’ tuition dollars to keep them afloat. This presents a huge conflict of interest and it’s not something that a consultant would disclose to you, which means you may be pushed toward universities that aren’t right for you simply because the consultant will make money from it. You should ask potential consultants if they do this (not that they’ll answer honestly). If they suggest obscure, low-ranked schools that don’t seem like a strong fit for you, this may be behind it.
  6. Anyone who doesn’t abide by the NACAC codes of ethics. The National Association for College Admission Counseling (“NACAC”) code of ethics is the gold standard for college advising rules, and is something all consultants, whether members of NACAC or not, should abide by. If you don’t know whether an advisor follows this code, ask.

The college admissions process is scary and daunting to navigate, and you want to make absolutely sure that your navigator is trustworthy and has your best interests at heart. In light of the scandal, the stakes of choosing the wrong person should be top of mind. Colleges will be spending millions to improve their ability to catch unethical and illegal players in the space and will cooperate with authorities like law enforcement agencies to bring unethical admission consultants and their clients to justice.

Though college advising is not our primary mission, we are happy to provide it to our students and to other exceptional students who think we’d be the right counselors for them. We pride ourselves on giving every student the best shot at getting in through the front door. As one parent put it this week, “This scandal shows that people are desperate for shortcuts when there really aren’t any. You guys are offering the best long-term solution.” Learn more about our program here and more about our mission to disrupt the college admissions industry (and more) here.