未來就是「為什麼」

未來就是「為什麼」

未來就是「為什麼」 1280 384 Theo Wolf

這篇文章先是貼上部落格,經由演算法和大數據優化的社群媒體推送,接著才來到許多人眼前,而且有不少人是透過智慧型手機閱讀它。然而,不過10年前,前頭的許多字眼根本不是我們日常生活的一部分。iPhone問世至今也不過大約11年,對許多人來說,這是個十分令人興奮的時代,變化的速度快到無法想像。但我們這些有年輕孩子的人,也得面臨那個困難無比的問題:如何讓孩子準備好面對這個變化快速的未來?

想想IBM和Apple這兩間知名美國企業吧。它們都是科技公司,都有非常棒的產品。不過,蘋果的廣告標語「Think Different」,體現了非常明確的「為什麼」(Why);它的目標就是幫助那些認為自己想法有些不同的創造者。因此,當蘋果決定以iTunes和iPod跨足音樂產業,沒有人會質疑這個舉動。但現在想像一下IBM;如果IBM明天宣佈要進軍音樂產業呢?每個人一定都會非常困惑。畢竟,IBM是一間電腦公司,它有明確的「什麼」(What),亦即製造電腦,但沒有明確的「為什麼」,所以永遠無法跨出電腦領域之外。

擁有明確定義的「為什麼」,讓蘋果得以擁有彈性、從根本上改變它做的事;同樣地,擁有明確定義的「為什麼」,也會讓人有能力改變、真正地觸及各種各樣的「什麼」。

說起來容易,但做起來難得多。準備面對不確定未來的最自然方式,就是什麼事都做一點,嘗試涵蓋所有的基礎。正因為如此,現在有許多孩子會練習3種運動、2種樂器、繪畫、唱歌、參加模擬聯合國,並在時間允許的情況下儘可能上各種AP課程。但這種做法,只能回答「我該做『什麼』?」這個問題。

專才 > 通才

想教導孩子找出自己的「為什麼」,得採取完全不同的方式。「為什麼」需要聚焦、深度和真正的專業能力,而非所有的事物都嘗試一點。這是因為「為什麼」必須能與一個人的核心連結,而粗淺又表面的互動無法形成這種連結。

實際做起來是什麼模樣呢?不要參加10種並不是特別有意義的課外活動,而是只投入1種對個人來說十分重要的課外活動。如果你真的對烹飪非常有興趣,就不該在時程表裡塞滿其他活動,而是應該把時間留給廚房。再來,投入活動時,不要只是把它當成嗜好,而是要更上一層樓,開始學習專業人士的做法,例如,你可以參加法式料理課程,或是加入年輕專業廚師的聚會。

不過,最難的就是決定從何處著手。畢竟,如果你不確定是否已經找到了你想一直做的那件事,減少活動就會顯得非常嚇人。而在The Spike Lab,我們會依循一套單純的架構來起步。

你喜歡什麼?

根本而言,你的「為什麼」必須是你喜歡的事物;從來不會有人對自己厭惡的事物產生熱情。它可以是你已經有很多經驗的事,但也可以只是你好奇的事物。

  • 如果有人請你在學校開設並教導新的課程,你的課程會教什麼?
  • 如果你可以和任何兩個人交換工作,這兩個人會是誰?為什麼?
你擅長什麼?

你的技能也是重要的考量因素。如果你的「為什麼」是協助女孩和女性投身電腦程式領域,但你完全不懂程式,那就很有可能行不通。

  • 你有哪些技能?
  • 你有哪些人格特質?
這個世界需要什麼?

接下來,焦點應該要轉而向外。強而有力的「為什麼」必須超越個人,與某些有意義的事物產生連結。

  • 你想解決的問題是什麼?
  • 你想協助哪個族群?

「為什麼」的重點之一即為,它並不是發掘而得,而是發展而來。我們實在太常用非黑即白的方式思考:要不有,要不就沒有。但真相是,每個充滿熱情的人,都得花時間慢慢發展熱情。這篇文章介紹的架構,描繪了這個發展過程的第一步,但想真正找到你的「為什麼」,必須投入大量的時間和心力才行。做完這個練習之後,有些學生可能會準備創業,有些學生可能會進行更多研究和學習。可能性無窮無盡,但最重要的事情就是立刻開始。

身為家長和教育者,我們的目標再也不只是累積知識或獎項,而是引導學生找出自己的「為什麼」。在這個上課內容只要Google搜尋一下就能免費取得的世界,激發學生的動機和學習意願亦更顯重要。

世界變化的速度愈來愈快,下一代也需要彈性,以適應這些變化。所以,你還在等什麼?

The Future is Why

The Future is Why

The Future is Why 1280 384 Larry Liu

 

Many of you are reading this blog post on a smart phone after it was posted to a blog that was promoted via social media that has been optimized by algorithms and big data. However, just ten years ago, most of these words were not yet part of our daily use. The iPhone itself has only been around for 11 years so far. For many, this is an exciting time where the pace of change is unimaginably fast. But for those of us with young children, we are faced with the daunting question of how do we prepare our kids for this rapidly changing future.

Consider two well known American companies: IBM and Apple. Both are technology companies, both make great products. But Apple has a very clear “why” which is embodied in its slogan “Think Different.” Its purpose is to help people who create or are a little different. So when Apple decided to expand into the music industry, with iTunes and the iPod, no one questioned the move. But now imagine IBM. What if they announce tomorrow that they’re getting into the music industry? Everyone would be so confused. After all, IBM is a computer company. It has a clear “what” (it makes computers) but not a clear “why” so it can never move beyond computers.

In the same way that having a clearly defined WHY allows Apple to be flexible and fundamentally change what it does, people who have a clearly defined WHY are also able to change and authentically engage with any WHAT.

But this is a lot easier said than done. To many, the natural way to prepare for an uncertain future is to do a little of everything to try and cover all of the bases. This is why so many kids today are playing three sports, two instruments, painting, singing, president of MUN, and taking as many AP classes as their schedule can hold. But this approach can only answer the question “WHAT do I do?”

Specializing > Generalizing

To teach students how to find their own why, we need an entirely different approach. Instead of spreading out and trying a little bit of everything, a why requires focus, depth, and real experience. This is because a why must connect with a person’s core and that connection cannot form with only shallow superficial interaction.

So what does this look like? Instead of doing ten different extracurricular activities that aren’t particularly meaningful, do just one that is personally significant. If you’re really interested in cooking, then stop filling your schedule with all those other activities and spend some serious time in the kitchen. Next, instead of engaging with that activity casually or just as a hobby, take it to the next level and begin to do it the way a professional would. You could sign up for a French cooking class or join a meetup of young professional chefs.

But the hardest part of this is to decide where to start. After all, cutting down on your activities is an incredibly scary idea if you aren’t confident that you’ve found the one thing that you want to keep doing. At The Spike Lab, we follow a simple framework for getting started.

What do you like?

At the most basic level, your why must be something that you like. No one ever became passionate about something that they detested. This can be something you already have a lot of experience in, but it can also be something that you’re just curious about.

  • If you were asked to create and teach a new class for your school, what would your new class be about?
  • If you could trade jobs with any two people, who would they be and why?
What are you good at?

Your skills are also an important factor to consider. If your why is all about helping girls and women get into computer programming but you don’t know anything about coding, then it’s not going to work very well.

  • What are your skills?
  • What are your character traits?
What does the world need?

This is where the focus begins to shift outward. A strong why is bigger than the individual and connects with something meaningful.

  • What is a problem that you want to solve?
  • What is a group you want to help?

One of the most important things about “why” is that it is not discovered, it is developed. Too often we think about it in binary terms: you either have it or you do not. But the truth is that every person who is known to be passionate had to develop that passion over time. The framework introduced in this blog post outlines the very first step to that development process, but to really find your why, serious time and effort are required. After doing this exercise, some students might launch a startup while others might do some more research and learning. The possibilities are endless, but the most important thing is to start right away.

So as parents and educators, our goal is no longer just about the accumulation of knowledge or awards, but to guide our students on their way towards finding their own why. In a world where the content of classroom lessons can be found for free with a quick Google search, it is more important to inspire students with the drive and the will to learn.

The world is changing faster than ever and this next generation needs the flexibility to adapt to those changes. So what are you waiting for?