The Spike Lab的存在理由

The Spike Lab的存在理由

The Spike Lab的存在理由 1080 674 Lloyd Nimetz

The Spike Lab創立至今已屆3年,在這段時間裡,我們也有幸能與許多優秀的高中生合作。如今,The Spike Lab的存在理由,已然出現清晰的輪廓;真正驅使我們所有人前行的,正是培養肩負使命的終生創新者

每一天,我們持續不懈地協助學生尋找並打造非凡的Spike──以真正的熱情和強烈使命感為基礎,展開橫跨數年、在青少年之間十分罕見的專案。我們也會引導學生全力邁向最高水準、最適合他們的大學(去看看我們的成果吧)。但在這一切努力的背後,其實還有個更崇高的使命在引領我們前行:促進青少年教育的典範移轉,使「培養充滿使命感的創新者」成為核心,而非現在這樣的配角。容我稍加解釋這句話真正的意涵。

重視使命感。在有意攻讀大學的學生、以及大學校友之間,焦慮憂鬱、成癮和肥胖,全都已經到達危機水準,常春藤盟校尤其如此。一大部分原因即為,教育系統並沒有教導使命感。這樣的情況實在太過常見:主修自己並不在乎的領域、做自己並不在乎的工作,直到有一天才不禁思考,這一切究竟有什麼意義。研究已然證明,在競爭極度激烈的今日世界,對高中生來說,使命感就是最棒的動力來源;我認為,這應該如同常識才是。獲得優秀大學錄取、取得好成績、讓家長自豪等外在動機,確實可以理解,但如果過度強調,它們就會成為學生的主要動機來源,而這並非好事。MIT的研究(因為Daniel Pink的暢銷書《動機》而廣為人知)顯示,受到使命感、渴望精通某事等內在動機驅使的人,更有機會獲得成功和快樂。我們的每一位學生皆有如例證;一等他們找到使命,開始追尋一件對自己非常有意義、能夠影響社群的事情,我們立刻可以感受到,他們變得更快樂、更有活力、更自信、更有好奇心,其他人也開始將他們視作領袖。但Stanford的研究亦顯示,只有一小部分的高中生,會在高中時代就具有使命感。在The Spike Lab,我們將使命感放在一切事物的核心;在我們的教練課程中,它是第一階段「自我發掘」的基石,亦是每一項Spike的根基。

我們教導學生培養使命感這項泛用性技能。我們的經驗告訴我們,如果學生能在人生早期培養使命感(而且能體驗到在生活中肩負使命的感受),他們就會在接下來的人生中不斷地重新發掘自身的使命。高中、大學等人生各個階段的使命或許不同,Harvard研究更顯示,就算到了老年,使命感還是有助健康老化、讓人更長壽。

 

成為T型人。「T型人」意指同時擁有全方位能力*(通才)和Spike(專才)的人。頂尖大學(參見MITHarvardStanford的網站)和雇主(知名例證包括IDEO、麥肯錫、Google等)都在尋找T型人,但諷刺的是,我們的教育系統只能培養通才。我非常了解這個問題,因為我可能是你人生中碰過的、最過度接受教育的人。我念了美國第一流的私立中學(Collegiate School)、第一流大學(Williams College)和第一流研究所(Stanford)。花費了這麼多時間和學費之後,雖然我確實成為通才,但還是得辛苦數年、自力發展我的專業能力,亦即「T」裡的「I」。曾經,大學只要能教出通才學生即可,因為學生畢業後,可以在工作中慢慢發展專才。然而,大學文憑再也不是好工作的保證。就算能找到入門級工作,大多數企業也不再大力投資於人才;就業市場(和申請大學)的競爭,亦比過往更加激烈。因此,如果你是T型人,你就會握有巨大的優勢。

整個成人程式撰寫訓練營產業,正是建基於這個現實:接受過度教育的近期大學畢業生(通才)認清,想進入軟體科技產業,他們得再花費大約1.2萬美元,學習基本的軟體開發技能。他們得變得更T型才行!(特此聲明:我曾經是Dev Bootcamp高層管理團隊的一員。Dev Bootcamp是首間網路開發者訓練營公司,在那裡,我見到無數常春藤盟校畢業生、甚至是主修電腦科學的常春藤盟校畢業生,付費給我們,以取得入門級軟體開發者需要的技能。)

在The Spike Lab,我們鼓勵學生擁抱當今高中的優秀之處:成為通才*。但我們的教練課程可以補其不足,提供打造Spike所需的工具和課程。等到學生初次體會到成為特定領域專家的滋味、打造能在「真實世界」發揮影響力的事物,隨之而來的自信感,將使青少年產生巨大的轉變;吸收了這樣的體驗之後,他們就能設定雄心十足的目標,再配上正確的聚焦和韌性,他們就能達成這些目標。青少年一旦跨過這道門檻,就再也不會回頭了!

*注意:千萬別誤以為通才代表你什麼都得做。只要努力學習、保持好奇心並參與學校社群即可,但也別過度投入;你得為你的Spike保留時間和精力才行。

 

 

聚焦於創新及創業能力。今日的學校,依然過度強調內容式知識(常被稱作顯性知識),不夠重視21世紀的技能,例如「4C」──批判思考(critical thinking)、溝通(communication)、合作(collaboration)和創意(creativity)。孩子接受的教育和測驗,仍舊圍繞著「5大」(five solids),亦即數學、科學、歷史、外語、英語/文學等核心科目。正如《紐約時報》專欄作家David Brooks所寫,「美國的教育模式……其實複製了18世紀的普魯士模式,目的為創造順從的臣民和工廠勞工。」這段11分鐘的教育史影片非常棒,看完之後也必定會發現,教育在過去120年裡的進展實在太少。學校不夠著重於教導21世紀技能,因為那得打破有如學校根基的科目式教學模式,改以目標式/專案式學習模式取代。那也會為教師和學校管理者帶來沉重的負擔,因為他們得適應極為不同的教學方式。許多教師和學校領導者,已經注意到過時學校模型產生的技能缺口,著手嘗試教導21世紀技能,卻也受制於教育系統:科目式課程、死板的測驗標準,以及大學入學考試。而在The Spike Lab,我們不必面對這些限制,可以全心培養學生成為終生的創新和創業者。

今日,創新和創業精神彷如幾乎沒有任何意義的熱門詞彙。培養創新能力究竟是什麼意思?創新能力到底是哪些能力?如何衡量學生的各項創新能力?這方面的爭論永無休止之日,然而,就算定義並不完美,唯有定義預期成果並追蹤進展,才能真正地著手教學。因此,我們發展了一套標準:一套明確又實質的衡量系統,讓我們的教練得以衡量、長期追蹤學生各項能力的進展。我們將創新能力區分為下列四大類別:積極主動、創意、計畫和溝通。想更深入了解,請參見這一篇部落格文章。

 

 

 

我們的第二個存在理由,就是協助私人大學申請顧問產業的大眾化。目前,許多家庭可能得花費數十萬美元,才能取得私人大學顧問服務,但我們相信,它應該更貼近大眾,甚至是免費。這聽來或許不符直覺,因為在不少人眼中,The Spike Lab就是大學申請顧問服務,但我們其實不是。我們的核心價值主張,與私立學校十分相近;我們是教育者,希望能將孩子培養為生產力強大的公民、讓孩子擁有充實的人生。但與私立學校不同,我們的焦點在於培養學生的使命感、Spike和創新能力。如果我們能辦到這點(而且孩子的高中教師和學校管理層也都能盡一份心力),我們的學生必定能就讀優秀大學、在人生中不斷茁壯成長。

我們的學生通常是在高中初期,就開始與教練合作,因此會有充足的時間發展自我、發展Spike。然而,典型的大學申請顧問(有很好的顧問,也有你可能已經知道的不良顧問),是在高中更後期才開始與學生合作──高二下學期。大多數校內大學顧問,也是在這個階段開始為學生提供諮商。大學顧問會引導學生面對過度複雜的大學招生系統,協助他們策劃並撰寫最能說服人心的申請文件。許多大學顧問亦提供標準測驗準備服務,協助學生提升成績。這些服務確實可以提高學生的錄取機會。雖然我們也會提供前述的大部分服務(測驗準備除外),但我們會更進一步,提供Spike育成教練課程;因為我們相信,讓學生早早起步,真正地努力發展自我,成為擁有使命感、彷彿註定要影響世界的創新者,效果遠遠勝過其他做法。

大學顧問是一項高度商品化、隨時都有可能面臨科技破壞的服務。事實上,破壞已然開始(想一窺未來,可以去這裡這裡,看看Khan Academy的嘗試)。申請頂尖大學的競爭程度快速上升,大學顧問服務在眾人眼中的價值亦水漲船高,但它的實際價值,其實是在快滑下滑。在這個資訊時代,線上課程和AI自動化必定會重創此產業。平均要價每小時200美元的指導服務,很快就會部分或完全自動化,促使成本劇烈下滑;再加上政府補助或慈善計畫(例如前述Khan Academy的計畫)助力,它們甚至有機會變為免費。The Spike Lab在創立之初,就一直嘗試整理我們的大學申請相關知識(參見我們的部落格)和工具(參見我們的下載頁面),讓所有人都能免費取得。以這方面而言,我們還得更加努力才行,但我們一定會持續擴增這些公開資源、提升它們的品質,讓每一個人都能取得,特別是資源不足、平均每人得協助450位學生的校內大學顧問人員。

 

總結來說,我們的使命就是:

  • 培養肩負使命的終生創新者 => 重視使命感,成為「T型人」,聚焦於創新能力。
  • 菁英大學申請顧問服務大眾化 => 讓更多人可以輕易取得資訊和工具。

 

請加入我們,與我們一同重塑教育,讓孩子得以發揮全部的潛力。你可以做的事包括:

  • 教導其他人。如果你喜歡這篇文章,請在社群媒體上分享它,特別是與教育者、高中生和家長分享。
  • 去我們的Facebook專頁按讚。
  • 邀請我們舉行演講。我們非常喜歡家長會,以及其他以家長為重心的團體。
  • 邀請我們去你的學校舉辦工作坊。
  • 找出你自己的方法,協助達成這個目標!

Lloyd Nimetz

Serial entrepreneur, educator, investor, milonguero, dog-lover and Coach, Founder & CEO of The Spike Lab

閱讀作者其他文章 - Lloyd Nimetz

The Spike Lab’s Reason for Being

The Spike Lab’s Reason for Being

The Spike Lab’s Reason for Being 1080 674 Lloyd Nimetz

Three years after founding The Spike Lab and after having had the privilege to work closely with so many incredible high school students, our raison d’être has become clear. What really motivates all of us at The Spike Lab is to Develop Purpose-Driven Innovators For Life.

Day to day we’re working to help our students identify and build out extraordinary Spikes — multi-year projects uncommon among teens, based on genuine passion and a sense of deep purpose. We’re also guiding them to get admitted into the highest quality — and best-fit — colleges possible (outcomes here). We diligently track and measure these near-term goals of our program. But behind all this work, we are driven by a higher calling: to foster a more fundamental paradigm shift in adolescent education that puts the development of purpose-driven innovators at the center instead of being at the periphery where it is today. Let me unpack what this actually means.

 

Prioritize Purpose.

Anxiety, depression, addiction and obesity are all at crisis levels right now among college-bound students and alumni (especially within the Ivy League). This is in large part because our education system doesn’t teach purpose. It’s all too common for people to pursue majors and later jobs they don’t care about only to wake up one day wondering what’s the point. Research has now proved what I’d argue is common-sense; purpose is the best source of motivation for high schoolers growing up in today’s hyper-competitive world. Extrinsic motivators like being admitted to a great college, getting good grades or making one’s parents proud are understandable but, when overemphasized, they become students’ default source of motivation, which is detrimental. MIT research (popularized by Daniel Pink’s best selling book, Drive) has shown that people driven more by intrinsic motivators like purpose and mastery are much more likely to be successful and happy. We see it in all our students. When they find purpose, namely when they pursue something deeply meaningful to themselves and impactful to their communities, we quickly see increases in their levels of happiness, energy, intellectual curiosity and confidence. They also start to be regarded as leaders. But Stanford research has shown that only a small fraction of high schoolers have a sense of purpose in high school. At The Spike Lab, we put purpose at the center of everything. It’s the keystone of the first “Self-Discovery” stage of our coaching program and serves as the foundation of every Spike.

We teach students the meta-skill of developing a sense of purpose. We know from experience that if a student develops purpose early in life (and if they experience what it feels like to live with purpose), then they will continually rediscover purpose throughout their life. It might be one thing in high school, but then something else in college, and so on throughout life. Even in old age, Harvard research has shown that purpose helps people age better and live longer.

 

Be a T.

A “T-shaped” person is somebody who is both well-rounded* (a.k.a. generalist) and spikey (a.k.a. has expertise and/or specialized talent). Top colleges (see MIT, Harvard and Stanford’s websites) and employers (some well known examples include IDEO, McKinsey, and Google) look for T-shaped people but ironically our education system is only designed to develop generalists. I would know. I am the most over-educated person you’ll ever meet. I went to one of the best private schools in the country (Collegiate School), one of the best colleges in the country (Williams College), and one of the best graduate schools in the country (Stanford). After all the time and tuition money, while I did come out well-rounded, I had to go through years of toil on my own to develop my expertise, the “I” part of the “T”. It used to be enough for colleges to turn out well-rounded students who would then have time to develop expertise on the job but a college degree isn’t the guarantee to good employment that it used to be. Even if you land an entry level job, most companies don’t invest in their people very much anymore; and competition for jobs (and to get into college) is more intense than ever before. So you have a massive leg up if you’re T-shaped.

The whole adult coding bootcamp industry is built on this reality: over-educated recent college graduates (generalists) realize that to enter the software tech industry they need to spend another ~$12,000 to learn basic software development skills. They need to become more T-shaped! (Disclaimer: I was on the senior management team of Dev Bootcamp, the first web developer bootcamp company where I saw countless Ivy League grads, even those with computer science majors, paying us to get the skills to be an entry-level software developer.)

At The Spike Lab, we encourage students to embrace the best of today’s high schools: be well-rounded.* But our coaching program complements that with the tools and curriculum needed for high schoolers to build a Spike. Nothing is more transformational for adolescents than the boost in confidence that students experience when they realize, for the first time, that they have become an expert in a specific field and have built something that matters in the ‘real world’; when they internalize that they can set extremely ambitious goals and, with the right focus and fortitude, achieve them. After a young adult walks through that threshold, there’s no coming back!

*WARNING don’t fall into the trap of thinking well-rounded means you need to do everything. Just study hard. Be curious. Get involved in the school community, but don’t go overboard. You need to save time and energy for your Spike.

 

 

Focus on Innovation and Entrepreneurship Abilities.

Today’s schools continue to over-emphasize the importance of content-based knowledge (also often referred to as explicit knowledge) and under-emphasize 21st Century Skills; skills like the “Four Cs” — critical thinking, communication, collaboration, and creativity. Kids are still primarily taught and tested on knowledge learned in the ‘five solids’: core subjects like Math, Science, History, Foreign Language, and English/Literature. As New York Times columnist David Brooks wrote, “The US education model… was actually copied from the 18th-century Prussian model designed to create docile subjects and factory workers.” Here is a great 11 minute video on the history of education that shows just how little advancement we’ve seen in the last 120 years. There isn’t nearly enough emphasis being placed on teaching 21st century skills because it requires ripping out the subject-based model that schools are built on and replacing it with purpose/project-based learning models. It would also place a massive burden on educators and administrators who would have to adapt to a very different way of doing things. Recognizing the skills gap that our outdated school models are creating, many great teachers and school leaders already go out of their way to teach 21st century skills but are hampered by the system: subject-based classes, rigid testing standards and college entrance examinations. At The Spike Lab, we’re free of those constraints and can focus on developing students into life-long innovators and entrepreneurs.

The terms innovation and entrepreneurship have become almost meaningless buzzwords today. What does it actually mean to develop innovation abilities? What are these abilities? How do you measure a student’s degree of aptitude in each ability? These questions are and will continue to be debated ad infinitum. However, you can’t seriously teach something without defining the desired outcomes and then tracking progress, even if it’s an imperfect science. So we developed a rubric: a clear and tangible measurement system that allows our coaches to measure our students’ progress in these abilities over time. The innovation abilities break down into these four high-level categories: Initiative, Creativity, Planning and Communication. See this blog post for more detail.

 

 

Our 2nd Reason for Being is to help democratize the private college admissions consulting industry. Private college counseling currently costs families up to hundreds of thousands of dollars, but we believe it should be much more accessible or even free. This might seem counter-intuitive since The Spike Lab is perceived as a college admissions consultancy, but the reality is that we’re not. Our core value proposition is analogous to that of any private school; we are educators developing kids to be productive citizens and fulfilled people, but unlike private schools, our focus is to develop purpose, Spikes, and innovation abilities in our students. If we do a great job of that (and if their high school teachers and school administrators do their part), then our students will get into great colleges and thrive in life.

Our students usually start working with our coaches early in high school so they have time to develop themselves and their Spikes. However the typical college admissions consultant (the good ones and the bad actors who you’ve read about) starts working with high school students much later — in the Spring semester of 11th grade. This is the same time most in-school college counselors start counseling their students. College admissions consultants guide their students through an overly complex college application system and help them devise and then write the most compelling applications. Many also do standardized test prep to help students boost their test scores. These services do bolster students’ college admissions chances. While we offer most of these services too (except for test prep) we go beyond them with our Spike Incubation coaching program because, in our view, it’s much more effective for students to start early and do the hard work to truly develop themselves into purposeful innovators who seem destined to have meaningful impact in the world.

Admissions consulting is a highly commoditized service that’s ripe for technological disruption. In fact it’s already starting to be disrupted (see Khan Academy’s efforts here and here for a taste of the future). The perceived value of admissions consultants has increased in line with the rapidly rising competitiveness of selective college admissions, but the actual value is diminishing rapidly. In today’s information age, online courses and AI-automation will decimate the industry. The guidance that families pay on average $200/hour for will soon be partially or fully automated, and this will cause the costs to drop precipitously or potentially become free through government subsidies or charitable initiatives like Khan Academy’s programs linked to at the top of this paragraph. From the early days of The Spike Lab, we’ve been trying to package up and make all our college admissions knowledge (see our blog here) and tools (see our downloads page here) available to the public for free. We still have a lot more work to do on this front, but we are committed to continuing to expand on and improve on these published resources so they’re accessible to all, especially under-resourced in-school college counselors who are now working, on average, at a 450-1 student-counselor ratio.

 

In summary, our mission is to:

  • Develop Purposeful Innovators For Life => Prioritize Purpose, Be a “T”, Focus on Innovation Abilities
  • Democratize Elite College Admissions Consulting => Make the information and tools accessible more broadly.

 

Please join us in reforming education so our kids can reach their full potential. Things you can do include:

  • Educate others. If you liked this post, please share it on social media and especially with educators, high schoolers and parents.
  • Like our Facebook page.
  • Invite us to speak. We love PTAs or other parent-focused groups.
  • Invite us to do workshops at your school.
  • Find your own way to advance the cause!