如何在Common App、Coalition及加州大學申請系統,寫出一流的額外資訊?

如何在Common App、Coalition及加州大學申請系統,寫出一流的額外資訊?

如何在Common App、Coalition及加州大學申請系統,寫出一流的額外資訊? 778 483 Katherine

過去一年裡,我們的Common App額外資訊區塊填寫指南,獲得了非常多的關注。我們發現,許多閱讀過這篇文章的學生,會進一步向我們詢問更多細節,想知道如何將文章中的建議應用至其他申請平台,例如Coalition App、加州大學申請系統(UC App)等。接下來就是我們針對這兩個平台提供的建議。

Coalition Application

所有的開放式問題(論文、額外提問和額外資訊)都是由Coalition App中的各所大學自行掌控,因此,大學可以決定是否要求繳交論文、是否提供額外資訊區塊。如果大學確實有提供,我們建議依循文後的指南來填寫。不過,由於Coalition提供了Locker,你有機會展現可能在Common App中無法展現的那一面;以Common App而言,你可以使用SlideRoom,但那沒有Locker這麼常見。我們建議利用Locker來完成你會在Common App額外資訊區塊做的事:展現你的Spike(利用相片、影片、新文章等)、學術成就(你可以放上研究論文),以及任何你自豪的成就。然而,如果你覺得自己有一些特質無法在Locker中展現(例如,說明你高中成績系統的複雜之處,或解釋可能會對大學有如警訊的事物),就應該好好利用額外資訊區塊。

University of California (UC) application

UC App確實有額外資訊區塊(上限為550字),但在直接複製貼上之前,先抓住機會、試著用更自然的方式,在其他區塊表達這些資訊。首先,學術經歷(Academic History)裡的額外評論(Additional Comments),是個放進相關資訊的好地方(例如大學眼中的學術警訊、傑出學術表現、與學校有關的特殊情況等)。這個區塊最多可以填寫550個字元(不是字詞),因此你得嚴格遵循文後的建議,並保持極度精鍊。

此外,UC App要求你回答4個不同的個人相關問題,這些問題也是放入Common App額外資訊的好機會。你的Spike、重大人生事件或個人特質,可以在回答許多問題時輕易提及;如果感覺起來所有的問題都不適合,或許可以考慮問題8(你認為,為何你會是加大招生人員眼中的強力候選人?)。

Common App並沒有給你太多展現自我的機會,UC App則給了太多這樣的機會。唯有在資訊無法放入其他區塊(包括學術經歷的額外評論區塊)之時,才使用額外資訊;即使如此,也應該限縮其內容,並依循下方的指南。

— — — — — — —

Common App(以及UC App等其他申請系統)額外資訊 (Additional Information) 區塊的相關討論並不多,但這也是申請文件的重要區塊。我們發現,大多數學生並沒有好好填寫這個區塊,原因即為他們不覺得它重要,或是他們並未仔細思考該寫些什麼。希望這份指南可以協助更多學生寫出優質的額外資訊。

Common App的額外資訊區塊(字數上限為650字),是讓你解釋在申請文件其他地方沒有空間或機會傳達的事物。我們發現,大多數學生都有些有價值的事物可以寫進此區塊,但也別忘記,這是選填區塊;千萬不要寫下任何大學認為沒有價值的事物。你也不該用又一份論文填滿這個區塊。如果你有需要超過250字才能說明的事物,就應該把它放進個人論文或補充論文。

 

開始填寫這個區塊之前,我們建議你先完成這些事:

  • 完成申請文件的其他區塊。額外資訊的目的,是填補其他區塊無法涵蓋的缺口,但在完成其他區塊之前,你無法確知缺口為何。
  • 發展強而有力的申請人故事。你必須明確知道該怎麼向大學推銷自己,以及希望大學會對你留下什麼印象。想更深入了解此事,可以參考這篇文章。思考額外資訊的內容之時,應該考量那些有助強化故事、但還沒有向大學提起的事物。如果某件事會使故事顯得混淆不清或失焦,那就不要填寫。優質大學申請文件的重點,即為聰明地策劃並展示自己:制訂完整的策略,決定自己要展現什麼,以及不要展現什麼。
  • 制訂優先清單。檢視下方的分類,並將你認為有必要放進額外資訊區塊的所有重要事物,寫入初期清單;接著將清單上的事物排定優先順序,把最重要的事物排在前方。最後,檢視清單上的事物,確定它們全都真的很重要。

接下來就是學生最常寫進額外資訊區塊的事物:

你的突出之處

如果你覺得自己的某項專案或技能相當傑出,有助你成為大學眼中的出眾候選人,額外資訊區塊通常就是多談談它們的好地方。想更深入地了解突出之處,可以參考這篇文章。Common App的活動(Activities)區塊只給你150個字元來描述每項活動,這通常無法好好描繪你的突出之處。再者,個人論文的焦點通常是創意敘事、巧妙展現學生的個人特質,而非與突出之處有關的事實。因此,額外資訊區塊非常適合用來更深入地展現 (i) 成就、 (ii) 預定完成的成就和計畫、 (iii) 有意義的脈胳,例如你曾經克服的重大阻礙、你一開始決定要做這件事的原因等。

舉例來說,如果你是個成功的電子小提琴演奏家,或許就可以這樣寫:

電子小提琴 (4年)

  • 今年夏天錄製首張專輯《歸鄉》,銷售量已超過1萬張。
  • 將全數收益(目前為11.5萬美元)捐出,協助颶風及颱風的受災者。
  • 台灣報紙撰寫了許多文章討論我和我的音樂,這些文章已收錄於這個連結 (bit.ly/examplelinkthatisnotreal) 。
  • 常受邀在台灣及世界各地演出,我的網站 (www.mywebsitethatisnotreal.com) 上可以找到演出時間表及更多相關資訊。

由前述例子可知,填寫額外資訊區塊時應該:

  • 組織──條列項目,並將最重要的項目放在上方。
  • 事實──解釋發生了什麼事,不要加進深度洞見、不要長篇敘事,也不要過度分析事實。
  • 精鍊──這不是撰寫高水準論文的地方。保持簡短,直接提出重點。
其他活動

額外資訊並不是只能談突出之處。如果你覺得自己還有其他重要的、與申請者特質有關的活動,這也是寫下它們的好地方。然而,我們並不建議你列出所有的活動,只要列出最關鍵、與你的特質密不可分、而且在Common App活動區塊沒有機會好好解釋的活動即可。例如,如果前述那位會演奏電子小提琴的學生,也在學校成立了合成生物學社團,或許就有必要在額外資訊區塊解釋此事。

重大人生事件或是關鍵個人特質

你高一的大部分時間都在對抗嚴重疾病?你全家遷居美國、讓你在升上高一之時碰上許多困難?如果有任何重大事件影響你取得學術及非學術成就的能力,你就應該在這裡解釋一下──前提是,你並沒有在個人論文中談及此事。額外資訊區塊與個人論文不同,這裡不該說故事,而是聚焦於事實,以及它為你帶來的衝擊。明確點出事實,例如你請假了多少週,為何得在課後打工、所以無法參加社團等。

接下來就是學生常提到的事物:疾病/健康相關事物、家人的悲劇/疾病、性別等其他認同議題、身體或學習障礙、遷移至某國或某地區、經濟困難(高中時期就必須兼職)、受虐等。

你的學校系統的不尋常之處

利用額外資訊區塊,解釋你覺得大學有必要知道、與你的學校系統有關的事。許多學生、特別是國際學生,會就讀另類或特殊高中(或是在家自學),並/或使用特別的評分系統。有的人則必須解釋為何要轉學,或是為何成績單的某些細節感覺有些怪異。不要假定大學已經知道這些事;就算顧問已經透過其他方式向大學解釋,仍舊建議你用自己的話再解釋一次。

不尋常或傑出學術成就

利用額外資訊區塊突顯並描述任何值得一提的學術成就。舉例而言,如果你寫了一篇你十分自豪的重要研究論文 (例如IB補充論文),而且這篇論文可以強化你的申請人故事,就應該在此提出。如果你參與了其他學術活動或競賽,甚至是你上了一門嚴格又優質、但在大學眼中可能不是那麼棒的課程,或許都該在此解釋一番。例如,如果你在高中時上了一門名為「iPhone歷史」的課,招生人員可能會覺得這是門輕鬆課程;為了釐清此事,你可以用三句話,解釋並總結它的嚴格程度、課程閱讀材料重點以及特別專案,讓它在大學眼中更具價值。

警訊

會對申請文件產生負面影響,或是讓招生人員有理由擔心的事物,都是警訊。以入學門檻極高的大學而言,有時只要出現一、兩個警訊,就能讓你那份其他地方都非常棒的申請文件,被放進「拒絕」檔案夾。因此,你得管控申請文件、預判並減輕潛在警訊的傷害。你是否國三成績不佳,得解釋其原因?成績單中是否少了一項成績?你是否花了一年的時間壯遊,得解釋原因並說明你如何有效利用這段時間?你是否幾乎沒有課外活動,得解釋原因?你是否退出了一項重要課外活動?你是否受到學校懲戒,必須解釋到底發生了什麼事?所有可能對你產生不公平負面影響、需要進一步解釋的事物,都可以在額外資訊區塊中說明。

總結來說,額外資訊區塊可能會非常有助益,因此,我們鼓勵你好好利用它,但也別忘了保持簡鍊、有組織和著重事實。確保填進此區塊的全都是重要之事;招生人員在讀到看似不重要或重覆的事物之時,會覺得相當厭煩。最後,這個區塊只能填寫650字,如果你覺得有個主題值得花費全部或大部分的字數來談,我們強烈建議你重新構思申請文件,將這個主題變為其他論文(個人或補充論文)的焦點。

What to Put in the Additional Information Sections of the Common App, Coalition, and the University of California (UC) Applications

What to Put in the Additional Information Sections of the Common App, Coalition, and the University of California (UC) Applications

What to Put in the Additional Information Sections of the Common App, Coalition, and the University of California (UC) Applications 778 483 Theo Wolf

This post is an updated version of our popular blog post originally published on Medium on September 29, 2017 by Lloyd Nimetz. The original can be found here.

Over the past year, our guide to the Additional Information section of the Common App has received a lot of attention. We found that a significant number of students who read it followed up asking us for further details on how this advice transfers to other application platforms like the Coalition App and the University of California (UC) App. Below is our advice for both those App Platforms.

Coalition Application

All open-ended questions (essays, additional questions, and additional information) are handled by each individual college in the Coalition application. Therefore, whether or not they require the essay or even offer an additional information section is at each college’s discretion. If schools do offer one, we recommend following the same guidelines outlined further down in this post. However, because of the Locker, Coalition gives ample opportunities to express sides of yourself you may not have had opportunities to showcase in your Common App (you can use SlideRoom for these, but it’s not as common). We recommend using the Locker to do much of what you would use the Common App Additional Information section for: Showing off your Spike (via photos, videos, news articles, etc), exemplar academics (you can include a copy of a research paper), and any other achievements you’re proud of. However, if you have pieces of your profile that you feel can’t be represented in the Locker (for instance, complications in your school’s grading system or explanations of potential red flags) or if a school you’re applying to doesn’t allow you to upload supplementary items from the Locker, then you should make use of the additional information section.

University of California (UC) application

The UC application does have an Additional Comments section (capped at 550 words), like the Common App. But before simply copying and pasting, try to take the first natural opportunities to express this information. First off, the Additional Comments section under Academic History gives you an obvious space to put some of this information (such as academic red flags, exemplary academic work, or unusual circumstances related to your schooling). This section allows you to include up to 550 characters (not words) so you’ll have to stick to the advice we outline in the below post and be extremely concise.

Additionally, because you have to answer four different personal insight questions for the UC application, those questions could be a great chance to get information from your Common App Additional Information section across. Your Spike, major life events, or personal qualities could easily come across in any number of these questions, or, if none of them seem to fit, then question 8 could be a good time for that (What do you believe makes you stand out as a strong candidate for admissions to the University of California).

Unlike the Common App, which gives you few opportunities to express yourself, the UC app practically gives you too many. Only use the Additional Comments section to get across information that you can’t possibly express at any other point in the application (including the Academic History Additional Comments section). And even then, keep it limited, and follow the guidelines outlined below.

— — — — — — —

There isn’t much talk about the Additional Information Section of the Common App (and of other Apps like the UC App), but it’s a very important section of your application. We find that most students don’t fill it out very well, precisely because they don’t believe it’s important or they don’t really think deeply about what to write. Hopefully this guide will help you do a better job.

The Common App gives you 650 words to explain anything that you haven’t had the space or opportunity to communicate in the rest of your application. We find that most students have a few valuable things to write in this section, but remember that it’s optional; you definitely do not want to write anything that colleges don’t perceive as valuable. You also shouldn’t fill the whole section up with another essay. If you have something that requires more than 250 words to say, then you should work it into your personal essay or your supplemental essays.

 

Before sitting down to write this section, we recommend that you first:

  • Finish writing the rest of your application. The goal of this section is to fill the gap on anything that the rest of the application didn’t cover, but you can’t really know that until the rest of the application is complete.
  • Develop a Strong Candidacy Story. You should have clarity on how you’re pitching yourself to colleges and therefore how colleges will remember you. See our blog post on this topic to learn more. When considering what to write into this Additional Info section, you should only include things that reinforces your story. If it confuses or distracts from this story, then you should leave it out. A great college application is all about smart curation: being strategic about what you don’t communicate is equally important as what you do communicate.
  • Develop a Prioritized List. Review the categories below and write a preliminary list of all the additional things that you think are important to include in this section. Then prioritize the items on the list with the most important ones at the top. Finally review them to make sure all the items are truly important.

Below are a list of the most typical things that students will include in this Additional Information section:

Your Spike.

If you have worked on a project or developed a skill that you think is quite exceptional and will help you stand out to colleges, then this section is usually the best place to expand on it! Read this blog post for a more thorough explanation of what we mean by a Spike. The Activities section of the Common App only gives you 150 characters to describe each activity. This often isn’t enough room to do your Spike justice. Furthermore personal essays tend to be more focused on creative storytelling that brings a student’s personality to life rather than the more factual elements of your Spike. So this is a great section to elaborate on (i) your achievements, (ii) your upcoming, anticipated achievements and plans, and (iii) meaningful context, like obstacles you’re proud to have overcome or your reason for doing it in the first place.

For example, if you are an accomplished Electric Violin player, then you might write something like this:

Electric Violin (4 years)

  • Recorded my first album this past summer called “The Homecoming” and have already sold 10,000+ records.
  • Donating all proceeds ($11,500 so far) to benefit victims of Hurricanes and Typhoons.
  • Numerous articles written on me and my music in local Taiwanese newspapers. Here is a link (bit.ly/examplelinkthatisnotreal) to a folder with those articles.
  • Frequently invited to perform concerts in many locations throughout Taiwan and internationally. My performance schedule and more information is on my website at www.mywebsitethatisnotreal.com.

Take note that this and all writing in the Additional Information section should be:

  • Organized — bulleted out with the most important points at the top
  • Factual — explain what happened. Don’t incorporate deep insights, tell extended stories or analyze the facts too much.
  • Concise — this is not the place to write a beautiful essay. Keep it short and to the point.
Other Activities

You shouldn’t feel limited to only expanding upon your Spike. If there are other activities in your life that you consider important to your candidacy profile to colleges, then this is also the place to provide any additional information. We don’t, however, recommend that you expand upon all your activities: just the most critical ones that are foundational to your identity and only if you haven’t already had the chance to sufficiently explain them in the Activities section of the Common App. For example, if the hypothetical student above who plays the electric violin also started a Synthetic Biology Club at school, then she might need to use the Additional Info section to explain it.

Major Life Events or A Critical Personal Attribute

Were you fighting a serious illness for much of 10th grade? Did you and your family move to the US making your transition to 10th grade very difficult? If there is anything significant that blocked your ability to achieve academically or non-academically, then you should explain it here — if you haven’t already chosen to write your personal essay about it. Unlike the personal essay, don’t tell a story here: focus on the facts of the situation. Also focus on the impact it had on you. Be specific about things like how many weeks of school you missed or how you needed to work everyday after school and therefore couldn’t participate in school clubs.

Here is a list of the most common types of things that students mention: sickness/health matters, family tragedy/sickness, gender or other identity issues, physical or learning disabilities, moving countries or regions, economic hardship (working while in HS), abuse and more.

Anything Atypical About Your Schooling System

Use this section to explain anything that colleges should know about your schooling system. Many students, especially international students, go to alternative or specialized high schools (or are homeschooled) and/or have atypical grading systems. Others need to explain why they switched schools or why a certain detail on their transcript looks strange. Don’t assume the college will already know. Even if the counselor is already explaining it to your colleges elsewhere, it’s recommended to explain again in your own words.

Atypical or Exemplar Academics

Use this section to underscore and describe any academic achievements that deserve further mention. For example, if you did a major research paper (i.e. IB Extended Essay) that you’re particularly proud of and that reinforces your candidacy story, then you should mention it here. If you are involved in other academic activities or competitions or even if you took a really high-rigor and fabulous class but that might not seem so great to colleges, then you might explain it here. For example, if you took a class in high school called “The History of the iPhone”, an admissions officer might think it sounds like an easy and silly class. To clarify, you could provide a three sentence explanation summarizing its rigor, some highlights of the readings, and any special projects that give it more credibility to colleges.

Red Flags

A red flag is anything that hurts your application or gives admissions officers reason to be concerned. For the most selective colleges, it sometimes takes only one or two red flags to get your otherwise amazing application thrown into the “reject” file. So it’s your job to manage your own application, preemptively anticipating and mitigating the damage of a potential red flag. Did you get poor grades in 9th grade and need to explain why? Were you missing a grade on your transcript? Did you take a gap year and need to explain why and how you’re making the most of the time? Were you involved in almost zero extracurriculars and need to explain why? Did you drop an important extracurricular activity? Did you get a disciplinary action at school and need to explain what really happened? This is a catch-all section for all the things that might unfairly look bad and require further explanation.

In summary, the Additional Information section can be very useful to students so we encourage you to make use of it. But remember to keep it succinct, organized, and factual. Make sure everything you include is important; it annoys admissions readers when they read things that seem unimportant or redundant. Lastly if you have a topic that you feel strongly deserves all or most of the 650 words allotted to you in this section, then we highly suggest you rework your application to make this the focus of one of your other essays (Personal or Supplemental).